Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Amway Grand Plaza Hotel


    Amway Grand Plaza Hotel
 in Grand Rapids
    Amway Grand Plaza Hotel
 in Grand Rapids

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1759 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • our anniversary

    by notsogoodmotel on 2018-05-21 10:40 am

    We stayed for our anniversary and everything was perfect, it was by far the quietest room we have ever stayed in. The bedding was clean and crisp, the views were beautiful! The staff were so friendly. We loved it.

  • Not recommended especially if you are on a business trip

    by nmods on 2018-05-21 05:37 am

    An average hotel for the high price. Staff were not welcoming and reservation department is a nightmare. I told the reception about my issues with the reservation (I needed to get tax exempt -business trip) but they acted like it was my problem and like their reservation department was not their business...The room was standard. I could hear other guesses when they were in their bathrooms...

  • booked a tower luxury sweet for mothers day

    by str8scubadive on 2018-05-15 08:10 am

    room was dirty had fingernail clippings on the floor hair on the couch sheets were wrinkled the air vent in the bathroom appeared to have not been cleaned since the hotel was built the jacuzzi tub did not work and then the tub would not drain either so was unable to even shower in the am had to move rooms three times that night was our first mothers day together and was a huge disappointment and still have a $451 charge on my card from the hotel and was told in the morning when i called for a bellhop for luggage assistance that i had to go down and get my own cart

    Owner Response
    Dear str8scubadive-

    We're sorry to hear you had issues with your stay. It sounds like our staff tried to address the issues for you. Would you mind sending us a direct message with your room number and date of your stay so we can look in to the matter further? We apologize for the issues that occurred and look forward to working with you directly to find out what happened.

    At your service,
    Tracy

    Tracy356, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review

  • Small room, but awesome view

    by Tammy A on 2018-05-14 05:18 pm

    We were in the "new" tower with a corner room with river view. The room was small, but since we were only there for one night, it worked. I wouldn't have wanted to try and order room service in such a small room, but since the restaurant was awesome, it was a non issue. Comfy beds and clean room. We had 3 people and only 2 towels, but didn't bother to ask for more because we knew we would be leaving before one of us showered. All in all, it was a great stay and VERY convenient to the FifthThird runs going on. We will be back next year.

  • Chicago prices, elegant but 100 years ago

    by lakwatsera2014 on 2018-05-14 04:03 pm

    Stay at more contemporary hotels if going on business, or, taking a family along to a more upscale place.

    Amway hotel is overrated.

    Good for short-stay large events (2-3 days) like conferences, proms, weddings.

    Rooms are very dark (like 50+ years ago), not enough light if on business. Electric sockets are insufficient, not well-suited for gadgets (cell phones). Lamp shades filter our light. Carpet is too dark (Hunter green with gold brocade). But closet lights don't turn off immediately.

    Coffee maker is tucked away into a recessed part of the wall. Dangerous to have a movable plastic tray hold a 1 cup brewer. Choice of coffee was flavorful.

    Bathroom is crowded (nice but tiny) without modern countertop space.

    Ballrooms are very nice, but the old lobby is too ornate ( prefer modern clean lines)

    Elevators are tiny, one wheelchair crowds out most of the passengers.

    Parking ramp is convenient, connected to hotel, but the daily charge is too expensive for a small city.

    Owner Response
    Dear lakwatsera2014-

    Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you feel our hotel is overrated. The historic Pantlind side of the hotel is elegant, with period appropriate decor that is carried through from lobby to ballrooms to guest rooms. The guest rooms on this side will soon be undergoing a renovation to upgrade things like soft goods, and outlets and such to address some of the things you mentioned, while still in the historic aesthetic. Our tower side of the hotel has more recently been renovated in more modern decor such as the clean lines you mention and many of the rooms have breathtaking views of the river and city. Should you choose to stay with us again, may we suggest you request a room on that side of the hotel that may be more to your liking.

    At your service,
    Tracy

    Tracy356, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.