Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Cavallo Point


    Cavallo Point
 in San Francisco
    Cavallo Point
 in San Francisco

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1015 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Favorite San Francisco Hideaway

    by W J on 2017-12-01 010:11 pm

    Our favorite family location when visiting SF. Also my preferred location when I'm in SF for business. Easy access without being in the City.

    First this gem hidden under the Golden Gate offers a unique historical charm that is attractive even when not perfect. It reminds me of quaint villages along the shoreline of New England.

    We enjoy the peaceful and safe environment provides by CP with great dining on property and in Sausalito.

    You will love the property, especially if you don't want the hustlers, vagrants, odors, and general lawlessness that has become SF while visiting the Bay Area.

    Tips:
    > I like the converted officers quarters, however, the newer condo type properties have great views and are more contemporary.
    > Lexus loaner vehicle test drives are a nice perk. Hopefully Cavallo Point and Lexus continue the relationship!

  • Excellent, but not as fabulous as my last stay....

    by Junebughiker on 2017-11-26 01:59 pm

    My sister and I stayed at Cavallo Point in early October. The hotel remains excellent, but the extras have been slimmed since my last visit. Both times I stayed in one of the new, eco-friendly rooms with Golden Gate views. The furnishings are still wonderful and our terrace and room had great views of the bridge. What was missing was the complimentary (as I remember it) snacks in the room. This time there was not much of anything, last time there were great, free (as I remember it) really cool snacks. At the price you pay for the rooms, that seems like something that should still be there.

    We had dinner twice at the hotel's fine dining restaurant and breakfast at the outside dining area. The food was delicious in both places.

    The best part of Cavallo Point is access to hiking trails on property, to the Marin Headlands and the ability to walk over the Golden Gate Bridge from the resort.

    The resort gets a lot of yuppy type San Franciscans which takes away a bit from the charm, but it is a calm place to stay with a great view of the city. And it is an easy walk to Sausalito if that is your thing. However Sausalito has become very touristy and there is not much there but shopping. The hotel does provide free shuttles to Sausalito though which is nice if shopping is your thing (not mine).

    I would definitely stay there again for the hiking and calm view of a very high octane city.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for your kind review. What we have in place regarding snacks is we offer wine, cheese and crackers in all of our suites. I hope you and your sister were able to enjoy the complimentary wine we offer to our guests every day in our Lobby.
    We look forward to having you back.
    Sincerely,
    Brendan Carlin

    CavalloPointGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review

  • $250 for a phone with a speaker and mic?!?!?!

    by Aggkiteboarder on 2017-11-13 09:05 am

    Maybe in a 3rd world country but not when one rents a suite and orders $150 breakfast. I needed a place to meet with 2 colleagues and dial in a 3rd. This was a 7am 3 hour meeting. Cell service is terrible or we would have used our smart phones. The Hotel operator clearly thought we have a phone in the room with conference call capabilities as she told me how to use it. All we wanted was for our colleague from Europe to call us. The gentlemen who delivered breakfast offered to get us a phone no charge. He was surprised we did not have one. Once he went back to the office they called and offered me a $250 Polycom rental. Clearly this is a case of the poorest customer service as their solution was offering a $250 Polycom (it was not the cost - rather the principle) for a 3 hour meeting or moving to one of the managers offices to use their phone. I have not stayed at Cavallo Point in a couple years but it is reminiscent of past experience. Rather than charge a rate and resort fee that allows their staff to deliver 5 star service, they try and up-sell you everything.

    I wish the management and vision matched the location...

    Owner Response
    I apologize for the way your request was processed. It appears to be that you were directed to our third party AV company (PSAV) as opposed to simply be provided with a phone that had the capability you were looking for which we can absolutely accommodate. We have reviewed this information with our staff. If you were at all charged for the $250 I will be more than happy to refund that expense. Thank you for sharing your feedback.
    Sincerely,
    Brendan Carlin

    CavalloPointGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review

  • Historic, charming, great location and view from the Marin side of SF

    by N4140WNchristinac on 2017-11-09 02:54 pm

    Cavallo Point Lodge is located on the grounds of Fort Baker, a former Army post, Cavallo Point Lodge has taken great pains to preserve its historic roots. You can stay in a room or renovated officer's quarters for a historic experience or opt for a more contemporary room near the main building with the restaurant. Drivers available to SF which is a huge plus! Outdoor dining at the restaurant is great for breakfast, husband said eggs benedict best he ever had.

    Owner Response
    Dear Christina,
    I would like to thank you for your kind review. I am very glad to hear that you and your husband had a wonderful time an enjoyed dining at our restaurant as well as appreciate our efforts to preserve this beautiful historic gem.
    Kind regards,
    Brendan Carlin

    CavalloPointGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review

  • Beautiful Historic Hotel

    by Krissystar123 on 2017-11-07 11:53 am

    This hotel is soo beautiful. We had a tour around the property with a Historian which we found to be very knowledgeable and interesting. The rooms are beautiful, large and have fireplaces in each room. We got to see a suite which was very large. Please go to this property you wont regret it

    Owner Response
    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm glad to know you enjoyed our historic tour and that you appreciated the unique style of our rooms.
    Warm regards,
    Brendan Carlin

    CavalloPointGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.