Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Graduate Berkeley


    Graduate Berkeley
 in Berkeley
    Graduate Berkeley
 in Berkeley

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
791 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Location is the main feature...

    by SacAnnie on 2017-10-21 010:56 pm

    ... not guest comfort.

    This very old, un-renovated, stripped- down hotel is directly across the street from the Cal campus and next door to the Unit 1 dorm complex. Thus it is very easy to visit your college freshman from this homebase. Yet for this same reason, the management appears to be totally unconcerned about the near total lack of creature comforts here. The investors in the Graduate Hotel chain appear to believe that their "cute concept"- go back to your college glory days, kids!- combined with a great location equals value for the traveler. For the rates you will pay on a football game weekend, I beg to differ. This place is a tarted-up ripoff.

    Where do I start? On football weekends there's zero parking offered here. Also, there's the loudest, biggest pregame party in town in the lobby, through which you must fight to even get to the front desk. You need a wristband just to enter to check in! This is irritating, to say the least.

    My biggest gripe with the room itself is the complete lack of space in the teensy bathroom to place anything wider than a bar of soap. It is very hard to put your makeup on or access assorted toiletries because you can't put your bag down anywhere. (Even the lip of the bathtub is too narrow!) Until they remodel these bathrooms, the hotel should install a wide pull-down shelf. The sink is roughly the same size as that in an airplane-- truly! The door almost grazes the edge of the toilet.

    There's no folding rack on which to put your suitcase, either --probably because there's no real floor space for same. The lighting is poor and the walls are very thin. You can hear your neighbors' tv's, conversations, footsteps, and plumbing.

    The beds are very comfy and the front desk staff nice. It's not their fault that the owners are flogging this tired property for all it's worth.

    I dearly hope that, some day, the Hotel's investor group will be forced by market conditions to invest the money necessary to make this place acceptable by modern (versus 1930's) standards. Until then, caveat emptor... and keep your stay short and expectations modest.

  • A pleasant and positive experience!

    by Jennifer P on 2017-10-04 09:12 pm

    This was our 2nd stay at the Graduate Berkeley, however, it was known as the Durant during our previous stay. Upon our arrival we were excited to see the change in name brought with it a different look and feel. The rooms were updated and comfortable and the feel of the hotel was very welcoming. Very friendly and accommodating staff that made us feel we belonged. They are a pet friendly hotel and they even had a welcome aboard note for my husband and I along with a nice gift for our small dog. Very nice touch.

    Our stay was without incident and drama free. We enjoyed all of our staff interactions and were impressed with the 10,000 +/- National Geographic magazines that lined the back wall of the front desk area and the story behind collecting them....

    The room was clean and well appointed. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Just Average So Far

    by SanDiego_CaHelmuth on 2017-10-03 12:59 am

    We really wanted to love this hotel. My wife and I stayed there several times when it was The Durant and enjoyed almost every stay. When we heard it was under new ownership, we had mixed feelings. Yes, it was in need of "updating", but the new ownership entity also owns a historic hotel in Vermont, The Essex, where we experienced horrible service earlier this Summer. Seems like the service is consistent across their platform.

    There are some positives. Location is excellent if you want to be near campus and student housing. They do have a parking lot which is huge if you came in a car (we always use Bart).

    The negatives involve the front desk staff (I could swear we were invisible). The dark lobby that resembles a voodoo lounge, the fact that the restaurant and bar was mysteriously closed the entire weekend, the cheap A/C unit inside right above the bed, and the fact that they replaced the free morning coffee in the lobby with bad coffee from a pump thermos for $4.25. Also, the towel rack in the bathroom was falling off the wall and the soap dish in the shower was just gross.

    Hope they can get their act together, we still have a student at Cal that we like to visit!

  • Disappointing

    by larsthorwald on 2017-10-01 05:23 pm

    We considered staying here last May (2017) but were told the (historic) restaurant and bar were not yet open as they were finishing up a refurbishment of the property.
    When we arrive this weekend, still no bar or restaurant despite the fact that we'd received emails inviting us to enjoy those amenities! The person at check in seemed baffled that we'd expected a bar and restaurant. Emails to the manager on this topic went unanswered all weekend.

    A modicum of updates has taken place on this property. The bathroom is old and there is no place to set anything down. (Stick a table in there; there's room.) Paint is peeling off the walls and toiletries are a bare minimum.

    A/C is a unit on the wall, works OK. Windows open two inches, only.

    If you book a bay view room, as we did, but sure it's on a high floor, above 4th, otherwise you'll see roof tops, not the bay.

    The bed was comfy, but the sheets had pilling. Felt like sand was in the bed. Some of the "vintage" furnishings were a little shabby-that wasn't too bad, they're going for vibe.

    The absolute worst thing was that the laminate floors were filthy. Had to wash my feet after walking on them before I could put on clean socks.

    There is a vent in the bathroom wall that lets you hear conversations in the next room very clearly. Kind of creepy.

    Also, the pizza place across the street says open until 2 or 3 in the morning on weekends and draws a lively college crowd. That was not a problem for us at all- we like college towns, but some would be put off for sure.

    All in all I would not stay here again. It is not AT ALL worth the price.

    Owner Response
    Dear larsthorwald,

    Thank you for visiting and leaving your feedback pertaining to your stay. We understand your disappointment when it comes to our restaurant not being fully open. We were still wrapping up renovations and making sure everything was perfect for the reopening. I am pleased to inform you that the restaurant is indeed open again for all 3 meal periods as of today. As for your guestroom, the HSKP team and I pride ourselves on our cleanliness scores which are about 90% according to all of our historical guests for 2017. We plan on taking your concerns and seeing where we can polish our craft even further. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope you decide to give us another chance in the future.

    GraduateTeam, Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this review

  • Oldfashioned

    by jippi j on 2017-09-28 12:28 am

    The staff in The lobby was very friendly,and the service man helped is opening the window in our room. Clean room every day. Two nice bikes for free rent in The hotel. Fantastic! I recommend breakfast at cafe Durant 100 m down the street.

    Owner Response
    Dear jippi j,

    We are pleased to hear that your experience at Graduate Berkeley was a memorable one. The team is greatly appreciative of your comments and we look forward to servicing you in the future. We will ensure our blue bikes are still around for guests like yourself. Thanks again for the review!

    GraduateTeam, Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.