Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa


    Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa
 in Point Clear
    Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa
 in Point Clear

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1224 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Great Crab breakfast

    by 80beachguy on 2018-04-08 06:46 pm

    I was stunned at how good the breakfast was at the Grand even with all the renovations. I tried the lump crab on scrambled eggs instead of the buffet. What a treat. Lots of big lump crab meat and an excellent dish. I really liked that they did not put too much seasoning and one could enjoy the crab and egg blend. Just perfect.

  • No longer "The Grand"

    by leostevens on 2018-04-08 11:24 am

    As a guest at the grand for the past 30+ years, I hate to say that this hotel is not longer "The Grand" that my family loved for generations. After multiple ownership changes and managers, the hotel has been ruined in a quest for profit at all costs. This was historically a family resort... a place where the kids could ride bikes to the beach, play croquet of the lawn, feed ducks at the Lagoon, and run back to their rooms with sandy feet. Sadly, the quaint charm of years past is gone. The rooms are shabby and smell of mildew, the antique lobby furniture was ditched for things that look like they came from a Fairfield Inn, posters and banners are everywhere you look trying to pitch a subpar meal or condo opportunity. It would be easier to excuse these issues if it weren't for the fact that the management has chosen a price point that rivals the Ritz in Paris. Paying thousands of dollars for a summer vacation would be understandable if the quality of service and standards were there, but they are not. If you want to charge world-class prices, you must offer a world-class experience. Period. The Grand has been on a slow decline for the past 10 years and, sadly, we will not be returning. Perhaps management will come to their senses and realize the strength of what The Grand was and what, perhaps, it could be once more.

    Owner Response
    leostevens,

    I apologize you are not pleased with the enhancements that are taking place at the Grand Hotel and appreciate your feedback. Our records show that your last visit with us was in July, 2017 at the beginning of our renovations. Since this time, every guestroom currently available is renovated as well as our outdoor pool facility and Spa and Salon. We have also enhanced our daily and holiday activities available to our guests and once complete will have new dining options as well. The ownership has continued to be the same since 2000, as well as many of our managers that have continued to support the Grand Hotel. I assure you our goal is to enhance the amenities available to a variety of travelers. Should your travels bring you back to the area once our renovations are complete, I hope that you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with an excellent experience.

    Tiffany W, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, responded to this review

  • Easter weekend

    by teresabS3506VC on 2018-04-01 10:42 am

    We LOVED out stay here and are already discussing to book Easter 2019 to stay again. All staff was very nice. We enjoyed fishing from the pier, all the games set up on lawn, the pool, and simply walking the property. The restaurant was priced quite high. There were several off site restaurants within 5 mins. You could even rent a bike and ride several places. Beautiful views of the Bay and a great sand area to relax.

  • Lunch

    by tracy1nole on 2018-03-31 12:40 am

    We've been coming to this property for 20 years and multiple times per year. Today it took 50 minutes for a simple cheeseburger to arrive. The under cooked, tasteless burger was not even warm. Very disappointed

    Owner Response
    Thank you for your comments and we would like to apologize for the delay in your food service just recently at our Jubilee Poolside Grill over Easter Weekend. Unfortunately we experienced major equipment failures in our poolside kitchen which caused several delays in our food production during lunch on that date. We thank you for your continued support and we assure you that this was an isolated incident. We look forward to serving you again soon!

    Tiffany W, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, responded to this review

  • Three nights at Grand Hotel Marriott

    by Brian G on 2018-03-29 02:51 pm

    I stayed three nights at the hotel. The hotel was/is in the middle of a refurbishment. It's in a bit of disarray.

    The restaurants have been whittled down to only one. I ate breakfast there and had the buffet. It wasn't anything special. The service was mediocre. The food didn't match the price.

    The room was very good. Aside from the shower not working properly for a few minutes after I got in it, the room served all of my purposes. It was clean and the furniture was great.

    The location is nice, especially if your activity revolves around Point Clear and Fairhope. If it doesn't, I'd go elsewhere as you're a bit secluded.

    The security at the gate doesn't do their job very well. I saw cars get in that had no business being in the resort.

    I was hoping for better. I probably paid for a hotel resort that is up and running but it wasn't quite ready.

    Owner Response
    Brain G,

    Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent visit. I apologize this stay did not meet expectations and you were not pleased with the dinning options available. There is never a great time for renovations however, the property and our staff has done everything to ensure guests are aware of what is available prior to arrival. I am pleased to hear that the renovated room itself was satisfactory and apologize for the difficulty you experienced with the shower. Please feel free to contact our At Your Service staff anytime during your visits for assistance.

    Our front gate is staffed with gracious Hosts to greet our Grand guests as we welcome them and provide directions depending on the reason for their visit.

    Once again, we thank you for you feedback and suggestions and hope that you will provide us an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

    Sincerely,

    Tiffany W, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.