Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Green Park Inn

    Green Park Inn
 in Blowing Rock


TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
484 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Lovely inn with excellent staff

    by jensled_77 on 2017-12-09 10:46 am

    I absolutely love Green Park Inn! I had planned a trip to take my mother but plans fell through and the family came instead. My husband and I have stayed here before and loved everything about the Inn, the history, the owner(s) are super folks, the wonderful staff and excellent service provided from the moment you walk in the door. If you are looking for a place with a ton of character, staff who go above and beyond to should definitely stay at the Green Park Inn. The breakfast which is included in the price is not your ordinary "hotel" breakfast, it is prepared by their chef and the food is absolutely delicious!!! I noticed some of negative reviews and am quite baffled by them as we have never had anything but positive experiences during our time at Green Park. I will be coming back in a few weeks to enjoy this lovely place again. Highly recommend!!

  • Lovingly restored historic inn

    by Marcy N on 2017-11-30 02:37 pm

    The Green Park Inn is a fine example of an historic Inn, with old fashioned service to match. Lovely people, inviting public spaces and beautiful surroundings. Our room was comfortable and quiet, with a king bed and sitting area. The bathroom has been remodeled, with a pedestal sink and modern shower, but my husband found it a bit cramped. The bed was on the firm side, which did not sit well with our backs. We thought we could walk into the historic old town, but while a sidewalk runs along the mile or so route, the road is pitch dark at night. We opted to drive. The staff and surroundings made our stay enjoyable, but my husband would opt for a more modern hotel next time.

  • The Old Girl is Fading Fast!

    by Patricia T on 2017-11-27 10:15 am

    Booked and verbally confirmed in Sept. for a Nov. weekend stay, a superior double queen suite w/balcony overlooking the golf course, in newer section of Inn - $20 extra for the same. Was told at the front desk that the Inn was full and the only room available was a standard double suite, and there would be an extra $30 for breakfast - not optional, mandatory whether one eats breakfast or not. Counter clerk was blunt and curt advising there were no negotiations because the Inn was full. Reviewer's Note: Inn was not fully booked but guests were being corralled into the oldest part of the Inn. Room was subpar, falling to pieces. Bathroom commode did not work (ball & cock mechanism broken) and a tube of caulk would have gone a LONG way esthetically. TV was not HD so everything viewed on the same was distorted. The Divide Bar was having issues with the bar staff and kitchen and the bartender was only too happy to regale us with every excuse imaginable as to why the coffee machine did not work to having to straighten out kitchen orders for bar guests stating that the manager has been on leave for over a week (when the cat's away?). Apparently the kitchen had run out of the basics of food products and no one had the forethought to hit up the local Publix or Food Lion to replenish. We asked about breakfast the next morning and the bartender just shrugged his shoulders stating he couldn't guarantee anything. We were reduced to purchasing snacks from the vending machine. Breakfast the next morning was COLD! A cold waffle deserves hot syrup and warm butter at the very least. When we checked out, I handed the room key to what appeared to be teenaged college student who barely looked up from her phone to acknowledge me. Because we had been told very matter-of-factly at check-in that there would be a $50 charge for lost room keys, I asked her to make a note on our hotel bill that I had returned the key to her. She stated she could not do that, nor would she give me her name. So, in true millennial form, I snapped a picture of her on my phone, jotted a note on my bill and left, NEVER TO RETURN. What a shame ...the Inn used to be such a warm, nice, clean and friendly place to visit. From the responses I've seen to some of the constructive criticism left by travelers below, its obvious the Inn's management isn't in tune with their guests. What a shame.

    Owner Response
    This review was written by the person who stayed in the same room as "Wish I could give 0", so we encourage readers to see our reply to that previous reviewer (note MickeyT and Patricia T). While we will be reaching out to this reviewer, as well, we must state that we think it's unfair to "stack the deck" by posting multiple reviews in this way. It's a bit of gaming the Trip Advisor system for two people to review the same room for the same stay. That said, we will make some additional comments, here. We have determined who this reviewer is, and that the room was reserved (via online) for 2 adults, yet 4 adults arrived to check in. First, as with every other hotel, everywhere, our room rates are "double occupancy" and yes, we do charge an additional $15 per additional adult. This covers not only breakfast but all additional amenities such as additional in room coffee, individual bottled shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soaps, additional towels, additional linens (the reviewer requested 4 additional pillows), etc. And, yes, breakfast. We apologize that the desk attendant would not provide you with a receipt for your key, as these are available, and we will be reviewing this procedure with all desk staff. We are inquiring of our executive chef as to whether the kitchen had run out of items on the night of your stay. We will note that of two bartenders on staff the evening of your stay one is brand new (and may require additional training) and one was terminated on Saturday, the day that you checked out, due to performance and a failure to provide courteous service. Finally, we have no rooms "superior double queen suite with balcony". We also have no rooms "standard double suite". All of our suites, every single one of them, are furnished with king beds. The room that you reserved online, and the room type that you were placed into was a Superior 2 Queen Room, with balcony. The only change we made was that we added 2 additional adults. We do recall that, upon check-in, you asked if you would be "in this building", apparently mistaking the condominiums behind us for part of the hotel. You were told that, yes, you were in this building so we can only guess that you felt you were being "pushed to" the old part because of this. Again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

    GPIOwners, General Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review

  • Wish I Could Give 0

    by mikeyt62 on 2017-11-26 04:08 am

    We booked a superior room in the newer section. We were put in a deluxe room, in the old section. We booked our room in September. The room needed upkeep, caulking, and the toilet did not flush. The girl at the front desk looked 16. We were 2 years ago and it has gone way down since then. $200 For our room was a rip off. We were told the general manager was away from 2 weeks. The breakfast had very limited selection, and was served warm, not hot. Stay away from this place, stay elsewhere.

    Owner Response
    We're very sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay and we will be reaching out to you, directly, to ask a few specifics so that we can correct any shortcomings going forward. You have raised a number of issues so clearly there are several staff members and departments that we need to reach out to so we do hope that you will be responsive when we contact you, as 100% guest satisfaction is always our goal. In the interim please let us address a couple of your comments. If you were in a deluxe room, even on a weekend, the rate with all taxes would only be $168, not $200. We think a difference of almost 25% is significant enough to point out, however, at any rate, your room should not have been sub-par in any way. I am the GM and was, in fact, recently on vacation, but not for two weeks and, again, I hope that you will respond to my inquiry as I'd like to know which staff person told you that, as I imagine that you requested the attention of a manager. Our operations manager was here throughout my vacation and your concerns should have been forwarded to her. You state that the breakfast had a very limited selection, but the menu is exactly the same as it was when you were last here (and gave our breakfast a very good review at that time). I am aware that on a recent morning we did have some server issues that resulted in some meals not being piping hot, so we do apologize if that was the case in your case. The desk associate that you are referring to is not 16, but she is a recent (May '17) Appalachian State graduate. Everyone has to get a career start somewhere, no matter how young they may appear. Again, we strive for 100% guest satisfaction and do hope that you will respond to us when we reach out to you directly. Thank you for your comments.

    GPIOwners, General Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review

  • Nice place and staff....but

    by AlexArgwald_89 on 2017-11-25 01:02 pm

    I came out for a weekend with my friend for a weekend getaway to do some hiking and site seeing. My friend found this place and it looked really cool. We got there and the aesthetics were everything we hoped for. The staff was great. The manager mingled and helped the staff because it was busy, and at first impression she was nice. But as the night progressed, my friend and I observed how she treated her employees. She was irritatble and abrasive towards her employees and actually has a bit of a hygiene issue that's quite pungent and she likes get close. Great hotel, but as a hotel manager myself in South Carolina, I personally don't want to support a business that is, what appears to be, hostile towards its employees.

    Owner Response
    This review is written by an employee that was recently terminated and we are in the process of reporting it to Trip Advisor. It was posted on the very day that the employee was terminated. It is by a first time reviewer who supposedly stayed in September (the month the employee was hired), but who then waited until November to open a TA account, only to then post just one review, and a review attacking the manager? The terminated employee was a bartender. Note that this review says nothing about the hotel, not about the room, or the lobby, or the breakfast. Nothing. He remarks, only, that "as the night progressed". Well, as the night progressed where? There's no mention of even being anywhere in the hotel, only that somehow "the night progressed". Clearly this is written from the perspective of this bartender, and Trip Advisor should have an algorithm that would pick up this type of "displaced" commentary. I will not respond to the repulsive comments made about me, personally. Hopefully this review will be removed before this reply is even posted.

    GPIOwners, General Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review

Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee

It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.