Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort


    Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
 in Tucson
    Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
 in Tucson

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
882 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Wonderful!

    by Jenz608 on 2018-04-18 07:32 am

    My daughter and I stayed in one of the Catalina rooms in March. This place is amazing. Gorgeous grounds, fabulous and friendly staff, great food and peaceful ambiance. We loved every minute of our stay and were sad to leave. Great location--easy access to great hiking, and anything else you want to do in the Tucson area. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Not for kids - Not for cooking

    by OldRose62 on 2018-04-16 02:38 pm

    We stayed in the 2 bedroom, 2 bath Grande Casita with 3 grandchildren and our son, daughter-in-law and grandson stayed in the Joseph Cotton room. The casita is lovely but it purports to have a kitchen facility. The refrigerator is okay. The microwave is tiny. The cook top and the oven are unacceptable and there were inadequate pots, pams & utenisils.

    We were traveling during spring vacation with 4 male grandchildren ages 7 thru 16. They used the swimming pool alot and it was clear that the noise and antics disturbed other guests. We did go horseback riding and the female who led us was a saint. There are no other kid facilities at the resort.

    The grounds are gorgeous and it would have been nicer if the patios to the casita were landscaped to capitalize on the garden instead of looking into parking.

    We also had a booking issue that could have been disastrous. We booked in Sept-Oct 2017 because we knew school vacation weeks are tough. The hotel did not ask for a credit card. Sometime in Feb, 2018, an email confirmation was sent out but it was sent to the wrong address due to a typing glitch. The recipient did call and tell the resort that she had not booked the reservation. The hotel cancelled the reservation. I did not discover this until one week before when I called to double check that the reservation was secure. I don't know what machinations were employed but the management did get the Grande Casita rebooked for us. (I assume others were moved.) Later on in the week, but before we arrived, another room became available for my son's family. The Grande Casita would not have been comfortable for 4 adults and 4 children.

    The staff was very friendly. One of the maintenance men dropped everything and helped me look for one of the 7 year olds who took off on his own back to the room. As I mentioned, the horse women deserves medals for patience, The food in the lunch place was good and not terribly pricey. And the servers were extra nice.

    Owner Response
    Dear OldRose62,

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Thank you so much for your feedback on our staff. It is truly the service culture that makes our property special and inviting. I am sorry that our Grand Casita did not meet expectations. The cook top and oven are historic pieces, but I can see were functionality might be limited for all guests. That being said, I will revisit the amenities of the Grand Casita and see what kind of enhancements we can make to appeal to all families. In the future, we can always stock the kitchen with whatever cooking implements you may need in advance. Oftentimes we stock the kitchen and dining room with enhanced table settings if our guests are looking to entertain within the casita.

    There are several options for each of our guest party needs. We can offer anything from setting the table and preparing for a dinner the guest wishes to host, to robust full table service, butler service or private chef engagements. I will make sure our reservations are clearly identifying the possibilities in the pre-arrival dialogue. With the booking issue, I am terribly sorry that you encountered reservations issues. We have shared your feedback with our team to ensure that this remains an isolated incident.

    We offer two pool experiences to appeal to the desires of our guests. While we do not have a separate facility for kids, we do offer many games and activities to keep them engaged. I will make it a point to also ensure we are being proactive with offering suggestions to keep the whole family engaged. We offer babysitting services, equestrian activities and have offered unique and personalized experiences for a diversity of ages and interests. I am glad you enjoyed our stables. We absolutely adore our wranglers and are very lucky to have such positive and energetic folks talking our guests out on adventures.

    Thank you again for staying with us for Spring Break. Please reach out to me directly if you wish to discuss your experience in more detail. I would also like to extend myself as your personal concierge for your return visit. Please reach out to me should you need absolutely anything at all. I am confident that your next stay will be memorable for the whole family. I hope the rest of your summer is a memorable adventure!

    Warm Regards,

    Geoffrey Campbell
    gcampbell@haciendadelsol.com
    (520) 901-1314 (direct)

    Geoffrey C, Assistant General Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review

  • Continues to deliver!

    by CG M on 2018-04-15 09:02 am

    This was my third visit to the Hacienda Del Sol and once again, it did not disappoint. Simon checked me in and was friendly and very accommodating. In fact most of the staff are friendly. My room was spotless during my visit and my meals were perfect. No complaints about my dining experiences. The decor is breathtaking and the desert gardens are just gorgeous. I have 3 complaints of the resort. 1. The service and rooms are top notch but are somewhat cheapened by the horrible coffee and creamer in the rooms. 2. The resort tends to cater to local residents who dine at the restaurant, or go there for weddings and other events. As a guest of the resort it is not always easy to get a reservation for dinner or access the library or other parts of the resort. 3. The gratuity/service fee for spa treatments is outlandish at 22%. I have never paid more than 15 to 20%. Otherwise, another lovely vacation!

  • OUTSTANDING TUCSON RESORT

    by Daryl H on 2018-04-13 04:19 pm

    Excellent Tucson resort and spa with luxury service and upscale desert style. Accommodations are understated Arizona desert chic with comfortable beds and spacious rooms. The entire resort is peaceful and quiet. Stunning setting in the beautiful Catalina foothills. The Grill Restaurant and Lounge are the perfect place to spend an enjoyable evening. Chef inspired menu that is locally sourced. We just spent 5 days at the Hacienda Del Sol and only left the property once the entire time. The entire staff is well trained, friendly and helpful in every way possible. Simon on the reception desk was welcoming and eager to please all guests. Two nice swimming pools and hot tubs with majestic mountain and desert views. Lots of lovely sitting areas throughout the property. Valet, housekeeping, restaurant, and cocktail lounge staff all did their best to make our stay a memorable one. My wife thoroughly enjoyed her afternoon massage at the spa.
    The resort has all the amenities that you expect at a full service luxury resort. If you are looking for a pleasant and peaceful desert resort that is beautifully maintained and has an exceptional staff, then the Hacienda Del Sol in sunny Tucson is definitely the place for you.
    Very highly recommended!!!

  • Beautiful Resort with Personalized Service

    by LisaBivens on 2018-04-10 05:57 am

    We spent 4 nights at Hacienda del Sol for our honeymoon, and I don't think we could've found a better spot. We felt the old-world charm and beauty of this resort from the second we arrived at the valet, and it continued throughout our entire stay. The staff could not have been more warm and welcoming, and they all seem truly happy to make sure you enjoy your time at this historic place.

    We arrived a bit before check-in time, and our room was not quite ready, but Simon graciously gave us a resort credit to enjoy some cocktails at the bar while we waited. Our room (Suite #4) was clean and inviting, with gorgeous sunset views. If you prefer hotels with very sleek, modern decor, this might not be what you're looking for...but for us, the terra cotta floors, beautiful glazed wall tiles, and wood furniture only added to the charm of this ranch-style resort. Our room was cleaned daily, with turn-down service, and we always had plenty of toiletries and fresh towels.

    Patrick offered some fantastic recommendations for things to do outside of the resort, and was always happy to hear how we spent our day. Mr. Bing is a joy to talk to, and chatted with us every time we visited the restaurant. We had one minor hiccup with our room while we were there, but it was addressed while we were at dinner, and Guest Services left us a lovely bottle of wine for the inconvenience. Personal and helpful service like this is such a rare find, and makes a special occasion like ours even more special.

    The restaurants can be reviewed separately, so I won't go into detail here, except to say that we enjoyed the food and service provided at each. The fine dining experience we received at the Grille both for dinner, and for the brunch buffet, was impeccable from the food, to the service, to the amazing views.

    We enjoyed time at both pools on the property, although ultimately settled in at the Sunset pool (only due to the fact that there is a metal fish sculpture/windchime? at the Catalina pool that creates an awful clanging with each breeze, and was the only non-relaxing feature at the whole resort- this is probably something no one else would even notice, but I have an annoying sensitivity to noise). The Sunset Pool, as the name suggests, offered the absolute best spot to watch the sunset, so we would grab a drink and head down near the jacuzzi for a cozy little cocktail hour.

    We truly enjoyed our time at Hacienda del Sol, thanks to the staff, and the beautiful accommodations, and we will always remember this special time. Can't wait to return for our anniversary!

    Owner Response
    Dear LisaBivens,

    Thank you so much for your review! I am delighted you found Simon, Patrick, and Mr. Bing helpful. All three are great examples of Southwestern Hospitality. I am sorry there was a hiccup with your room, but I am pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations. I will take a look at the fish and see if there is a way to soften the noise. I am glad we have two pools to account for windy days!

    Thank you again for staying with us. We can't wait for you to return for your anniversary either! May the rest of your Spring be an exceptional adventure!

    Warm Regards,

    Geoffrey Campbell

    Geoffrey C, Assistant General Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.