Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Hotel San Carlos


    Hotel San Carlos
 in Phoenix
    Hotel San Carlos
 in Phoenix

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
344 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • AVOID!!!

    by Jolanta F on 2017-12-04 04:59 am

    The hotel is old and not kept in order. There is no internet, bathrooms are tiny, and the service is terrible. When you enter the lobby, you can smell the old stinky floors and carpet. The hotel is overpriced for what it has to offer (they charge you $2 for a bottle of water). There is no room service, no restaurant, and no breakfast buffet in it, so you have to go for every meal outside. Remeber, you are in the downtown so you will encounter many homeless on every street corner asking you for money. STAY AWAY!!!!

    Owner Response
    Dear Jolanta,

    Myself and the Entire Staff are very sorry for not meeting your expectations and disappointing you.
    Please understand it was not our intention as we try very hard to welcome and treat our guests very special!
    Because the hotel was built in 1928 we tried to preserve the History for generations to experience. We refurbish and very little replace for our guests to see what hotel looked like back then in 1928 now this days steps away from us modern and new hotels such as Polomar, Hilton Garden, Hyatt Regency, Westin, Marriot and etc.c
    The Hotel San Carlos was built first and the rumors are "People Like San Carlos So much that the built the city around it" While we preserve the History we blend the modern amenities such as internet connection. We provide a complimentary WiFi in the rooms and lobby and we wish we knew that you had a difficulties with the signals, we are very sorry about that. The hotel have multiple refreshing filtered water stations complimentary besides in room water bottles. The Downtown is very vibrant with a lot of attractions as well as the restaurants in every steps including famous Irish Bar in our own building to your right from the South entrance door.
    We are very sad for your poor experience and we hope in the future you will give another chance to Downtown Phoenix.
    Warm Wishes!
    Angela Hentz and the Staff
    General Manager

    Angela H, General Manager at Hotel San Carlos, responded to this review

  • Convenient location, thin walls

    by Shannon33_13 on 2017-11-27 06:23 pm

    This hotel is conveniently located near a number of conference venues and near many good restaurants. The room was fairly comfortable, but the walls/floors are paper thin, and you can hear everything!

  • Historically quirky

    by ToniMatt on 2017-11-12 04:22 pm

    "Historic boutique hotel" means this isn't a cookie-cutter Marriott. It is a very well maintained/ restored classic building in the heart of downtown. My room had a fridge, coffee maker and a big flat-panel TV. It also had slightly wonky AC, "shared" water pressure, and I could hear hallway conversations as if they were in my room. It just depends on what's important to you.

  • Historic disappointment

    by kim Z on 2017-10-24 08:02 am

    When you pull up the outside is drab and unkept. Walking into the lobby there was an air conditioner unit propping the door open. Our room was the size of our close closet and that's probably why they don't put any room pictures on the site. Their web site mentions a Vietnamese restaurant on site but when we arrived we were told it closed in may, The pool area was littered with cigarette butts, all the planted boxes were full of butts, no plants. It is an old hotel with history but in need of some cleaning and upkeep.

  • Beautiful historic hotel at a great price

    by MarinaVmusic on 2017-09-19 09:10 am

    Hotel San Carlos is my favorite place to stay in Phoenix. My husband and I have recently stayed there again, and loved it even more this time around. It is so beautiful, and there is a lot of history. It is like an amazing trip in time. And it is perfectly located in the heart of Phoenix, close to great restaurants (Cornish Pasty Co across the street) and concert venues (the Van Buren!) The beds/pillows/bathrobes/the decor - everything is great. The gym too. It was too hot to swim in the pool, but hopefully next time. We got upgraded to the beautiful Mae West suite, it was incredible! Special thanks to Angela, Noah and David at the front desk for such a warm welcome! Highly recommend this gem!

    Owner Response
    Dearest Marina,

    Thank you for taking time from your busy schedule and sharing your wonderful experience with other travelers. We are so Happy to hear that both you and Nick had a wonderful time and enjoyed your stay!
    Myself and the entire staff, as well as Noah and David had a pleasure meeting you both!
    We are looking forward for your next arrival!
    Warm Wishes and Best Success!

    Angela and staff

    Angela H, General Manager at Hotel San Carlos, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.