Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Inn at Willow Grove


    Inn at Willow Grove
 in Orange
    Inn at Willow Grove
 in Orange

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
370 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Uncomfortable wedding

    by 355se2017 on 2017-10-18 07:40 am

    Choosing this place for wedding ceremony is inconvenient for the guests. Guests should walk and stand on grass or stones with high heels. Outside ceremony was not comfortable.In sept 16 hummidity and hot weather killed us.Wedding organizer was very rude and unorganized.The dinner was not good at all. Cake was outside for many hours. The place for dance was uncomfortable.There was no seat for resting .

    Owner Response
    WOW! In the many years we have been hosting weddings, only once have we received negative feedback from a wedding guest. We wonder why a wedding guest or family member would say anything disparaging about a Bride and Groom's wedding, but Hey...

    We cannot control the weather, humid days in mid-September are not out of the ordinary in Virginia. If a bride and groom would like to have an outdoor ceremony in our gardens, then we are going to do just that.

    Additionally, we find it quite interesting to find a poor review posted shortly after three 5-star reviews were posted by other guests in the wedding party. We have also received rave reviews from the bride and groom themselves, who to be quite honest, are the most important.

    The Bride and Groom are an absolutely wonderful couple and we wish them nothing but the best! We cannot wait to see them when they come back to visit, they are always welcome!

    InnatWillowGrove, Owner at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this review

  • Beautiful Wedding Backdrop. Excellent Service

    by Andrea A on 2017-10-17 01:23 pm

    In mid-september I stayed at the inn for a wedding and my experience was nothing short of phenomenal. Upon arrival the staff greeted us with Prosecco and Voss, assisted us in unloading 3 cars worth of fragile decor, and a butler was waiting to escort everyone to their rooms. In addition to the warm welcome, they dealt with my dietary restrictions all weekend. Replacing my coffee with espresso, my morning pastry with fruit, going to the store specifically to buy me almond milk, and preparing me a special plate during the wedding to exclude my allergens. I've never had anyone be so courteous and accommodating!

    The excellent service is only part of it. The grounds are spectacular! The barn, the historic main house, the multiple firepits spread across the property, & all the little unique touches you'll find throughout. It is to die for! I couldn't imagine a more perfect setting to enjoy with friends in the evening and then watch them wed the next day.
    It was a wee bit warmer weather than expected, but that's one of the risks of having an outdoor wedding and I can't blame them for the weather.

    I could keep going on about all the things they did that weekend, but I think you get the picture. They're great.

    Overall, it was one of the best experiences I've had. Now, I'm a sucker for historic places already, so the staff is what took it over the edge for me. They seemed genuinely friendly instead of that forced happy you see so often in the hospitality industry, & I worked in hospitality for years. They were so enthusiastic and willing to do whatever they could to make every last detail perfect and everyone feel so welcomed. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Wedding Wonderland

    by Sahar N on 2017-10-17 10:12 am

    I was part of a wedding at The Inn at Willow Grove the weekend of September 15th! The bride and groom reserved rooms for us, as well as many other guests of the wedding, on the property for the entirety of the weekend. From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out, we were constantly waited on hand and foot and had everything we needed within 5 minutes of a phone call to the concierge. Waking up every morning to fresh coffee and beignets was an absolute delight! The property itself is vast and stunning, with plenty of space for everyone to stay and each room had a better view than the next!! Gabrielle, the Director of Events, exhibited the UTMOST patient with our LARGE, opinionated family throughout the entire weekend! The ceremony set up, the timeliness, the hor dourves (DELICIOUS!), the cocktail hour, the dinner, the reception, the after party with yummy in my tummy pizza, I could go on and on and on. It was truly an incredibly experience for us! My husband and I are even contemplating renewing our vows here! Haha, if that's not a testament to the superb service, friendly staff, and the beauty of the wedding venue, than I don't know what is! Thank you Inn at Willow Grove for a truly unforgettable weekend! We hope to come back soon...for that scrumptious Truffle Mac n Cheese ;)

  • Got a Wedding? Plan it here!

    by kiddg55 on 2017-10-17 10:00 am

    Wow, is the first word I exclaimed when I first drove up to the reception area. The Inn at Willow Grove is gorgeous, very clean and tidy, and gives that great country in the mountains feel. To me, it was the perfect backdrop for a wedding, which was the reason for my stay.

    The front desk manager/receptionist was incredible. She was very easy going, informative, and was able to answer any and all questions. They gave us complementary champagne as we checked in, and they made us feel like we truly were guests of honor; even though the wedding wasn't mine! The accommodations were excellent. We stayed in cottages on the property, and they were so cute and familiar. The butlers were always available for any needs we might have, and always greeted us with smiles and a helpful demeanor. The cottages themselves were perfect, clean, and comfortable. The bathrooms were AMAZING! The cottages just added to the overall experience.

    For the actual wedding ceremony and reception, it was a pretty tricky wedding because of intricate ceremony that was going to be put in place, logistics of things, and the timing of when certain people would arrive (officiant and some wedding party members weren't able to make the rehearsal). As such, the wedding planner did an EXCELLENT job trying to accommodate the bride and groom's needs; while it wasn't an impossible task, it definitely wasn't a cake walk of a ceremony and I believe the wedding planner was able to really help us pull it off without too many hiccups. kudos to her!

    The reception was awesome. We were all seated in an old barn, and the decor was phenomenal. For a wedding that had over 100 people, it almost didn't feel like there were so many because while the barn seemed small, it wasn't clustered or cluttered. It just worked and it was extremely elegant. The food was very good as well. I had the steak and the flavors were excellent. Considering the sheer amount of people that had to be served, I'm shocked it came out so tasty and fresh! After dinner, we moved to the dance floor/venue which was right next to the barn. There was PLENTY of space for moving, dancing, and just having a great time. The open bar was great, and bar tenders were awesome! One of them even joined the dancing fun towards the end of the night/his shift. It was truly a wonderful time.

    If you're in the market for a top notch, beautiful venue, where you will be treated with respect and catered to your every need, you MUST look at The Inn at Willow Grove. Trust me, you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Beautiful place -- miseable experience and customer service!

    by MCMtraveler on 2017-10-15 12:53 am

    Checked in as part of a group on Friday, October 6 for a two night stay - couldn't wait to stay here as the pictures and reviews are amazing.

    We checked into the well appointed and comfortable weaver's cottage -- but it was a warm weekend for October and we called the front desk to ask them to check the air conditioning.

    I should have known we had a problem then, but didn't think at the rates we were paying it would be a problem -- but one of the attendants commented that he had replaced all the parts to this a/c unit, so it should work! When we showered and left for dinner at the hotel restaurant (delicious!) we asked them to again check the a/c because the room was not cooling. When we returned from dinner it was cool and working, but then in the middle of the night it stopped again -- it wasn't as warm that evening, so the room was at 73 degrees but we managed. (they had also told us if it stopped again, turn it off, wait 10 minutes and start it again! ....but that didn't work).

    On Saturday morning we asked them to check the a/c again -- we left at 730 for the day and returned at 10 p.m. -- and when we walked in the room it was unbearably hot -- the temperature was at 77 in the room! We called the front desk - the attendant said he couldn't help us. He brought us a fan, which barely cooled and by the morning the room was at 81 degrees -- a VERY uncomfortable night!

    And, we couldn't open the windows as the windows did not have screens and the bugs would have devoured us!

    and, clearly they knew the a/c wasn't working!

    When I checked out -- the same woman (manager/owner?) who checked us in was working - she asked how our stay was -- I told her the a/c didn't work and that the room was unbearable by the morning. She didn't flinch, as I think she knew. Her response was NOT 'I'm sorry' -- rather she said "that must have been awful."

    Really?! at those prices, why did they put anyone in a room where they knew the a/c wasn't working, on a very warm weekend in Virginia.

    We didn't ask for a refund -- which we should have offered given the experience.

    Also, we felt, probably for our first time traveling, that it might have been because we were two men in the same room -- maybe they didn't care we had a bad experience because we weren't the clientele they want!

    Either way -- unacceptable for a place of that price and quality. Has so much potential

    We were so disappointed!

    Owner Response
    We failed...period.
    We had no control over the AC failing, even with many unsuccessful attempts to fix it. Unfortunately, The Inn was sold out that weekend so we were not able to move you to another room. There are so many things we could have done differently, and for that, we apologize! Management has taken steps to ensure that this type of situation never occurs again in the future.

    We reached out to you and asked that you call me personally, I wanted to discuss your last comment. Since you have not called back, I felt it best to respond here. Nothing can be further from the truth...period. We have hosted numerous LGBT weddings and events and hope to host even more in the future. We sincerely apologize that you may have felt that way, but please know that is in no way a representation of us.

    We want only the very best experience for ALL of our guests. If you are ever in the area, we promise to make it up to you, you have my word.

    InnatWillowGrove, Owner at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.