Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

John Rutledge House Inn


    John Rutledge House Inn
 in Charleston
    John Rutledge House Inn
 in Charleston

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
719 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Elegant historic inn

    by Lbridgewater68 on 2018-01-16 05:18 pm

    Stayed in one of the carriage-house rooms during a birthday trip to Charleston, SC. The inn is an immaculately kept, centuries-old building with a nice balance of historical decor and modern amenities. The staff were friendly, helpful, and thoughtful. Not to mention all the careful details designed to make our stay as delightful as possible -- coffee and bottles of water available all day, access to exercise facilities, breakfast delivered to your room (or the courtyard or study, if you prefer), afternoon tea in the second-floor study (with a balcony overlooking the street), an unexpected birthday bottle of champagne, and evening turn-down service.

    We would definitely come back!

  • Very Pleasant Stay

    by dra226 on 2018-01-16 10:52 am

    We spent 5 nights in the main building and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The location is great, facility good, and staff is excellent. We felt quite pampered to have a made to order breakfast served at our choice of locations.
    We would look forward to a return visit.

  • WONDERFUL!

    by magnet67 on 2017-12-16 12:20 am

    Sipping sherry on the balcony felt like a step back in time. Jim and Margo could not have been more accommodating and really all of the staff were magnificent! A very special, elegant inn with wonderful, interesting staff. The location was great, breakfast was great. We would easily recommend this as a first rate experience. Don't miss Orange Street....

  • Nice B&B but poor service

    by Christiane Z on 2017-12-12 06:54 am

    We spent one night at this beautiful B&B during our recent visit to Charleston. While we loved the house and our room, we were disappointed in the service. That evening we were looking forward to spending some time in their ballroom over a glass of port and a dessert, as many of the old B&B's do. We learned that the ballroom was closed for a "private event" to guests from a nearby restaurant tour who came in and out for dessert. Why not open up this event to House guests too? We were made to feel like "second class" guests.
    Also, the mediocre breakfast in the morning was disappointing. Each plate, dish, glass of juice, Sirup, etc was wrapped in cellophane. Not very classy for a hotel in that price range. We will not come back.

    Owner Response
    We are very sorry that you were disappointed in your recent stay. While we did have an event in the ballroom on the evening you stayed with us, we make our complimentary port, sherry, and brandy available to all guests throughout their stay, including during special events. We are very sorry that this event made your stay with us less special; your experience does not reflect the high value we place on Southern Hospitality. We apologize for your disappointment with the plastic wrap over your breakfast order. For food safety, we cover food when delivering breakfast from our kitchen through the house and through the garden to our outdoor carriage house rooms. We appreciate your feedback as we strive for 100% guest satisfaction.

    Sincerely,

    Richard Widman, Proprietor

    OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review

  • Hands down the best place to stay in Charleston

    by NashvilleTraveler5 on 2017-12-11 02:36 pm

    I travel often to Charleston and there is no better place to land than the John Rutledge House Inn. Not only is it a wonderful facility the staff is simply amazing. Every person we met during our stay exemplified the best in service and won us over with their smiles and enthusiasm. The concierge staff is superb. We will stay at the John Rutledge Inn every time we visit Charleston...my highest recommendation!

    Owner Response
    Thank you for your compliments to the John Rutledge House Inn. We are so pleased that our accommodations are at the top of your list for Charleston. Our staff is our biggest asset and we are pleased that their Southern Hospitality was such an added bonus to your time with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

    Sincerely,

    Richard Widman, Proprietor

    OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.