Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

JW Marriott Essex House New York


    JW Marriott Essex House New York
 in New York
    JW Marriott Essex House New York
 in New York

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1914 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Wonderful stay in a lovely hotel

    by bell2121 on 2018-04-17 08:24 am

    I had some trepidation about staying at Essex House b/c of reviews here, but particularly on booking.com, which had quite mixed reviews. However, I went ahead anyway (thankfully!). As many have commented, the location is incredible - it was my partner's first time in NYC and she likes walking and bike riding, so being directly opposite Central Park was amazing. We also had the nice side-benefit that it snowed for half a day one morning, so we experienced a white XMAS in Central Park in early April!

    I wondered about the value for money, as it was $AUD800 / night, but it didn't seem overly expensive for that part of NYC, and compared to $AUD600 / night places I looked at it in that part of NYC, it probably is reasonable value (we did stay over the Easter weekend / start of school holidays). I guess if you were picky you could say that for the money, the rooms could be a little more elegant (but it is picky!)

    The main positives were the beautiful historic lobby, well maintained rooms, nice restaurant / breakfast spot overlooking Central Park, and the very attentive staff - we stayed there for 5 nights, and dealt with 2 managers, as well as many staff, and we only had really positive and friendly interactions. It wasn't like we didn't have hiccups - I didn't really like the first room we were in re outlook - it was one of the internal view rooms and it honestly really is a matter of preference whether you like it or not - it was very spacious for NY, but overlooked a back alley and the air con was (in my view, not my partner's) noisy. Even though it was Easter weekend, the manager attentively allowed us to view a room with a street outlook (not CP outlook as much more pricey), which although smaller (more typical for NY), didn't have the noise or lack of privacy re other buildings (my partner probably preferred the original room though for its spaciousness) - the ease with which this move was handled was seamless and friendly.

    I noticed reviews querying the state of the rooms - I was told that the rooms were refurbished earlier this year, and certainly, I was impressed with the condition of the 2 rooms we stayed in.

    I know many have issues with the resort fee, but it was clearly stated that this fee would apply when I made the booking, so I was comfortable with that - a nice surprise was that it provided a $25 food credit per day, which is quite handy in terms of keeping high food prices more manageable when staying there (whether over breakfast or a late night drink) - it actually made the resort fee feel ok. There does appear to be a bit of confusion re the terms of the food credit for some staff, so I should also add that this resort fee includes a $30 laundry voucher per day (this wasn't well explained when we arrived, so we didn't get full use out of this). As an additional smaller bonus, there is complimentary water bottles and apples in the gym, which is a nice touch, given the long walks around central park etc.

    Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed the experience - a special thanks to Louie, one of the doorman, who was always enjoyable to interact with. A lovely hotel and well worth staying at.

    Owner Response
    Dear bell2121,

    Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are elated to hear that you enjoyed a memorable time in NYC thanks to our welcoming staff, beautifully renovated spaces, and perfect location in the heart of Manhattan. We truly value your feedback and would love to welcome you back the next time you find yourself in The Big Apple.

    Sara S, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review

  • Board meeting NY

    by GerZam on 2018-04-15 03:48 pm

    This is an excellent hotel.
    I like the location just in front of Central Park.
    The ambience is elegant, the food is great, room service always on time, nice decoration, every thing is perfect.
    If you are in NY you have to consider staying at this JW.
    The surrounding area is just the heart of NY with a lot of good restaurants at a walking distance.

    Owner Response
    Dear GerZam,

    We are so pleased to hear that you spent a wonderful New York getaway at our hotel. Thank you for choosing us and for taking a moment to leave your kind remarks. Our location in the heart of Manhattan is perfect for guests exploring nearby attractions, and we are very glad this benefited your stay. We would love to welcome you back the next time you find yourself in The Big Apple.

    Sara S, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review

  • Overall a good experience

    by Angela C on 2018-04-12 08:08 am

    My family stayed 4 nights here. Overall we were very satisfied with the stay but do have two occurrences that we are not happy with. First the positives....the hotel is very clean and staff is friendly. We are platinum members and enjoyed the lounge access. The breakfast was had a nice variety of food and a lot of fresh fruit. The staff was very attentive. The location is great! If you plan on spending time in central park, this is perfect. There's also many good places to eat nearby.

    Our room was a nice size for New York. The bathroom was very spacious. My biggest complaint about the room, we booked a King size bed for a party of 3. We assumed there's a pull out sofa or something that made this room for an accommodation of 3. We get there and there is no such thing. There is a small couch next the the bed. I called the front desk to ask about this and they told me maybe someone can sleep on that couch....it was small like less than four feet long. They offered me a roll-away bed for $75 per night. I didn't agree with the extra charges as I booked a room for 3. I was then transferred twice before I got to someone who made it sound like they were doing me a great favor by waiving the charge. Also, on the reservation it did say that roll-away beds are not permitted in this room type. This was frustrating as I felt like the booking information was misleading and our room size so much tighter with the roll-away bed there.

    My second issue, on our last day there, we stepped out to get some breakfast in the lounge. When we came back, we saw the housekeeping staff coming out of our room. There was no reason for her to be in our room at that time. We did not request anything, it was too early for clean up and we had not yet checked out. It didn't looks like anything was moved. Just left an uncomfortable feeling that someone was in our room. I let the front desk staff know and they said they would look into it as it was strange.

    Owner Response
    Dear Angela C,

    Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking a moment to share your review. We want to sincerely apologize for the miscommunication you encountered. Accommodating our guests well is our greatest priority, and we would value the opportunity to further discuss any of your concerns. Please feel free to contact us directly in order to do so. We would love to offer you the JW Treatment you deserve and welcome you back for another memorable stay in the heart of Manhattan.

    Sara S, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review

  • Destination Fee

    by Michael K on 2018-04-11 04:38 pm

    My wife and I stayed at the Essex house for 4 days last week. We had a suite called a family suite. When we checked out, I noticed that there was an item on the bill called a destination fee for $25 each night plus the various New York City taxes. When I asked the clerk about it she said it was something new and that it covered a various number of things that I had little or no interest in other than a $25 credit for food if you ate in the hotel. This is a rip off. A fine hotel like the Essex house should not engage in this deception.

    Owner Response
    Dear Michael K,

    Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for taking the time to share your review with us. Your feedback truly means a lot to us. We regret to hear that you encountered this situation when you checked out, and we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss it with you further. Please feel free to contact us directly, as we would love to restore your faith in our hotel.

    Sara S, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review

  • Canât ask for a better midtown location

    by TheSecretVagabond on 2018-04-11 12:07 am

    My husband had to work, so the kids (15 and 12) and I came into the City for a night to see Mean Girls. We stayed here because we had Marriott rewards points. We'll definitely return.

    The location, directly across from Central Park, cannot be beat if you choose to stay in midtown. You can walk to literally hundreds of shops and restaurants. Try the Plaza Food Hall down the street for a quick bite. It's worth it! Fifth Ave is a minute walk. Columbus Circle a minute walk in the opposite direction. It's a 10-minute walk to Times Square/Broadway. There are multiple subway stations nearby. If you've never been to NYC and you want to be smack-dab in the middle of it all, stay here. If you're driving in, use the SpotHero app to park. I parked in an Icon garage a block down and across from Carnegie Hall. $65 to park from 9 a.m. one day until 3 p.m. the next day.

    Aside from the prime location, the hotel is beautiful. It's what one would expect a fine, historic NY hotel to look like. I disagree with other reviewers that say it's showing its age. Our room, 1735, was spacious, comfortable, and spectacularly clean. My kids loved that they could watch tv from our Netflix and Hulu accounts. The beds, doubles, were small but comfortable, with plenty of pillows. We had zero view (see picture), which we expected with a reward room. The plus side- no traffic noise. We didn't hear neighbors above or to the sides so we slept soundly.

    The bathroom was large and very clean. The towels were nice quality. The bath products were ok. My only remark: there was zero air circulation, no matter how I adjusted the thermostat. Luckily it was cool out, so I cracked the windows for fresh air.

    If you're staying for several days, there's little drawer space. The fridge has sensors so you can't store your own drinks. No coffee maker. There are plenty of outlets to charge. There's a pretty little clock on the nightstand. Put it in the closet if you're a light sleeper, as it ticks loudly in a quiet room. The hall area of the room begs for a table under which you can store your luggage; that space is not maximized.

    The closet has an iron/board, slippers, and two umbrellas for your use.

    Everyone from the front desk staff to the bellman were professional and personable. We'd return and recommend.

    Owner Response
    Dear TheSecretVagabond,

    We are so pleased you chose to stay with us and had a wonderful experience with your family. Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Feedback like yours is incredibly valuable to us, and we will certainly pass any of your concerns along to our respective departments. Our ideal location in the heart of Manhattan is perfect for NYC visitors, and we would love to welcome you back for another stay soon.

    Sara S, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.