Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Kings Courtyard Inn


    Kings Courtyard Inn
 in Charleston
    Kings Courtyard Inn
 in Charleston

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
599 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • 2nd Stay at KCI

    by Debbie R on 2017-10-20 01:30 am

    We visited in May of 2017 with another couple and enjoyed our stay. We decided to return to do more sightseeing in October. We booked a 3 night stay in a room on the 3rd floor and found it full of new furniture! Very lovely, with a wardrobe, desk, chest of drawers all attached. Table with 2 chairs, plenty of lighting, also. We enjoyed a good nights sleep as mattress was comfortable.
    We love the breakfast with hot oatmeal, warm hard boiled eggs, cold cereal, pastries, yogurt, bagels, toast and English muffins, coffee, tea and juices & fresh fruit. There's a wine an cheese hour at 5 pm with assorted cheeses, crackers, hummus/salsa and white or red wine choices. Great courtyard area for seating. Coffee is available in lobby in the morning and sherry in the evening. Cold water, too- just as at front desk.
    Bathrooms are small, but there is a refrigerator under vanity. My complaints are the shower area could be cleaner or grout can be added along bottom edge of shower floor. One day housekeeping forgot to clean our room, but we received clean towels after reporting to front desk and made the best of it. If hallway floor/ carpeting could be updated it would make for a much nicer appearance. Very drab and takes away from historical feel of the Inn.
    We love the location and easy access to many sites.
    Staff is always friendly and helpful.
    They were hiring additional staff as we saw people in lobby applying for positions &/ or starting work. Hopefully they will choose hardworking friendly staff to keep with good reputation we have witnessed.
    Due to location, amenities & the fact that we love Charleston, we will return.

  • Nice alternative to large chain hotels

    by Bill A on 2017-10-18 03:32 am

    Some years back my wife and I stayed at the Kings Courtyard Inn and enjoyed our stays there. Over the last 10-15 years, our Charleston stays have mostly been tied in with my business trips so we stayed at various larger hotels that could provide meeting facilities for a larger group. Now retired, we decided to try the Kings Courtyard Inn again, staying for four nights. What we found was that all the things we liked when last there are still there while the facility has been through a renovation making it even nicer.

    The location is ideal, being centrally located on King Street just south of Market Street. That put us in the heart of the shopping area and less than two blocks from the much more crowded, main tourist area. Restaurants, bars, art shops, the old mansions and Battery Park were all within easy walking distance.

    There is a parking lot located directly behind the Inn. When we arrived, there was a sign that said the lot was full but as instructed when we made reservations at the Inn, we told the attendant we were staying in the Inn and were immediately admitted. We parked about 15 feet from the entrance to the Inn. The parking lot ins and outs, and the proximity parking for the rest of our stay were the same.

    Check-in was simple and fast. We stayed in a suite on the 3rd floor. The bedroom and the sitting room were both quite large and had been recently renovated. The rooms retained the older charm of the wood floors, larger moldings and a functional fireplace. The windows are extensive, so the lighting is nice. The furnishings were new. All-in-all, the suite provided a nice balance between old Charleston and modern conveniences.

    The bathroom had also recently been remodeled. It was nice.

    The room was comfortable with a great A/C. It was spotlessly clean and with a few exceptions, it was quiet. The only issue we had was what I think was a street sweeper that went down King Street in the mornings.

    The Inn has a complimentary wine and cheese get together for guests each afternoon. It is not extensive but was good.

    They also have sherry around 6:30 but we did not try this.

    Their complimentary breakfast is continental - bagels, pastries, boiled eggs, cereals, fruit, oatmeal, coffee, orange juice, etc. It was good.

    We had excellent service throughout our stay with the folks at the front desk being particularly helpful with information on local attractions. This included both Charleston specific attractions as well as some in the local area such as plantation visits.

    I recommend the Inn for those who enjoy smaller, charming lodging more so than the larger, busier business hotels.

  • Great Getaway

    by Joy B on 2017-10-08 07:24 pm

    Kings Courtyard is a good place to stay! The rooms are very nice and the complimentary breakfast is yummy and they will deliver it to your room. Be sure to order the pastries, the cinnamon rolls are delicious! Stay here and you are within walking distance to most of Charleston Must Do's!

  • BFF's Get-a-way

    by TAH5977 on 2017-10-08 02:15 pm

    Kings Courtyard Inn, perfect!! The room was bright and cheerful. The 5 PM Wine & Cheese...wonderful! The staff was very accommodating. Centrally located and we walked everywhere. I would definitely stay at King's Courtyard Inn again, very charming historical Inn.

  • Ugh!

    by poleinahole1 on 2017-10-02 04:20 am

    From the reviews we were hoping to have booked a central charming historical inn. Our hearts sank as we walked in as the outside wasn't properly painted and the building looked very down at heal. Imagine our surprise when the receptionist told us they were just finishing an extensive remodeling. No plans to fix outside better or the terrible looking corridors. (Ugly rubber mat covering pine floors that makes you think you are in a building site.)

    Thank goodness the rooms are decent. They are spacious and clean but for over $200-300 a night, not having a lamp shade on main light and cheap Chinese decorative curtains with dragon motifs (nothing related to Charleston's history).

    Service okay. Free WIFI. They provide free coffee during the day but only because there are no coffee making facilities in room. Free sherry at cocktail hour. Breakfast in either a tiny little room in a dusty courtyard with a scaffolding machine. Or in your room at no additional charge. We didn't bother as breakfast consists of continental stodgy danish. They have a coupon deal with a fast food place around the corner if you want a hot breakfast. Okay but again not great.

    We were disappointed in our stay and wouldn't come back or recommend this place unless new management took it over.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for sharing feedback about your experience at the Kings Courtyard Inn. We are very sorry that you were displeased with your stay. We constantly receive compliments on our property's charm and historic architecture, so we are surprised to read your comments. While our recent renovation focused on our rooms, we do regular maintenance on the exterior of the building and courtyards. We are very sorry that you were displeased with the decor which includes new furniture, lighting, and window treatments. We sincerely apologize for your disappointment and appreciate your feedback as we strive to 100% guest satisfaction.

    Sincerely,

    Richard Widman, Proprietor

    OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.