Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

La Valencia Hotel


    La Valencia Hotel
 in La Jolla/San Diego
    La Valencia Hotel
 in La Jolla/San Diego

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1221 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Very variable

    by Nevermissameal on 2018-01-09 12:50 am

    La Valencia's biggest selling point is its location. And I am sure in it's heyday, this was the place to stay. Certainly the public areas are charming and quite the scene at night. BUT, firstly the bedrooms: we had to switch rooms. The first one was so small (we chose poorly when making our room reservations) and noisy. We asked to switch to another room - we paid for the "upgraded" extra space. Much larger but tired. Needs some renovations. Probably could have overlooked a lot of that if it weren't for the general indifference of the staff/team members. Really felt they couldn't have cared less. We have written a detailed note to the GM. We'll see.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience, and for sending a note to the Managing Director. We hope we can exceed your expectations on your next visit.
    Kindly,
    Melissa King, Marketing Manager

    Melissa K, Marketing Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review

  • A lovely, charming Hotel in a great locale

    by cdubb518 on 2018-01-09 06:21 am

    La Valencia Hotel is very gracious, gorgeous Spanish architecture - a really lovely place to relax. The food is very good and it's expensive. Breakfast for two is over $100 with a couple of bloody Mary's. Not unlike a Ritz Carlton for food and beverage prices. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Not quite to the level of a Ritz Carlton but close. Rooms are spacious and have been updated. Bathrooms not at Ritz Carlton level but fine. We paid $400 a night for a fully pre- paid, non refundable standard king. It was very nice. I do think I would spring for an ocean view next time as the view is so lovely. Overall a fine hotel. Nice location. La Jolla is quiet so just know most attractions are a $40 or $50 uber ride away. Worth it for us to return to this charming retreat.

    Owner Response
    Dear Splendor,
    Your review and generous comments are extremely appreciated - thank you so very much! We're so glad you enjoyed your breakfast with our unique Bloody Mary's, and you received excellent service from our staff.
    We thank you from the bottom (and top) of our hearts and do hope to welcome you back very soon.
    Kindly,
    Melissa King, Marketing Manager

    Melissa K, Marketing Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review

  • A pink paradise!

    by julesb176 on 2018-01-07 10:56 am

    We stayed in La Jolla as part of a Californian holiday and chose La Valencia hotel based on other reviews. We were not disappointed and enjoyed our stay. Our room was very large, with good air conditioning and a tiny balcony looking out over the ocean. We thoroughly enjoyed relaxing by the hotel pool and it was never too busy.

    The location in La Jolla was perfect - with easy access to the shops and restaurants and the ocean - as well as an easy drive to San Diego and the Old Town.

    The only minor negatives were the noise from the restaurant, as our room was the floor above and overlooking it, and the cost of the valet parking. The valet parking was very efficient but as with anywhere in this area, it is frustrating to have to pay an additional $30 (from memory!) to park the car!

    Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and loved the ambience of the hotel and most of the staff were extremely helpful. We would recommend La Jolla - and this hotel specifically - as a great alternative place to stay to San Diego as it is close enough to visit but feels like a real holiday destination to relax away from the city.

    Owner Response
    Dear Pink,
    We're delighted to know that La V fit your expectations and your research - thank you. Our 1926 gem does indeed provide a great holiday destination retreat 365 days a year so don't wait - come back soon!
    Cheers,
    Mark Dibella,
    Managing Director

    SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review

  • Winter getaway

    by Flag9103 on 2018-01-03 08:16 am

    We are trying to get away for a week or so out west going forward in our lives and we decided to use our Marriott points for time share in Palm Springs/Palm Desert. Before we went there, we decided to go to LaJolla and we were so glad we did. This hotel is charming and full of history and great views and restaurants. Great location.

    Owner Response
    Flag9103,
    Thank you for such a wonderful review! We're glad we helped you to escape for your winter getaway. We hope we get to welcome you back again someday.
    Cheers!
    Melissa King, Marketing Manager

    Melissa K, Marketing Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review

  • Like stepping back in time,,a Classic Time.

    by Tom w on 2018-01-03 08:02 am

    Great hotel centrally located,with beautiful restaurants and bars within.The suite we stayed in with ocean views and sunsets was amazing.The food was always top's and served quickly. The valets were always anxious to serve.We had a meeting room and catered breakfast and lunch for the meeting,and that was flawless. The only complaint was on check out and the days-weeks after it was difficult to get a final itemized bill out of the hotel.It took several calls and a request for a manager to get action. If they could get better back office managing the hotel would have a rave %100 percent review from me.Still would return to this gem and recommend it to others as well.

    Owner Response
    Tom,
    We're very glad you enjoyed your stay and holding your meeting with us! We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding the billing process, and we hope we can exceed your expectations in the future. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon!
    Cheers!
    Melissa King, Marketing Manager

    Melissa K, Marketing Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.