Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

St. James Hotel MN


    St. James Hotel MN
 in Red Wing
    St. James Hotel MN
 in Red Wing

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
357 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Tired and worn

    by Bormimern on 2018-02-23 07:43 pm

    Spent one night here as we were seeing a production at the Sheldon Theater. I selected one of the more expensive rooms looking for something very nice for my one night stay. It was nothing special. The decor needs to be refreshed. I understand it's an old historic hotel but that doesn't preclude having bedside lampshades that aren't disintegrating. The bathroom was tiny with a very low sink in a corner. It is a noisy location with traffic and trains but the reservationist forewarned me of that. We did enjoy a nice dinner in the restaurant and the location was very convenient for the theater. However if I come to Red Wing again I won't stay here unless I hear that it's had a makeover. I would probably also look for a quieter location.

  • Quaint hotel, great location, subpar housekeeping

    by JPBuddy on 2018-02-12 11:14 am

    The St James is in a wonderful location, quaint & historical. Our room was in the newer part of the hotel and was spacious & tastefully decorated. We were there 2 nights. Housekeeping made bed, replenished the towels but didn't clean. Our paper cups for the coffee maker were not replenished (we reused what we had on day 2 since we hadn't thrown them away) the glassware we used for wine were still sitting on the bathroom sink uncleaned. It was obvious that the sink/tub hadn't been cleaned either. While we appreciate the beds made up and towels rehung etc, we were surprised the disposable cups weren't replaced, glasses washed and counter/sink cleaned. Actually with such a fine hotel, we thought real coffee cups to use with the coffee maker would have been classier.

    Owner Response
    Hello,

    We sincerely appreciate your feedback in regards to your recent stay. We do hope you mentioned the over-sites upon checking out. We take your comments seriously and will pass them along to our rooms manager and housekeeping.

    Thanks for sharing,

    Jackie

    Jackie F, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, Est. 1875, responded to this review

  • The Room Not Worth the Money

    by Letsgoalready55 on 2018-01-21 08:02 pm

    Sorry but for over $250 I expected better room. It was cold (no, I'm not calling someone up to my room after 11:00 on a Saturday night to fix it!) and I have worked a K-Cup machine before (if it doesn't work, it doesn't work). The wallpaper has to go. This was a birthday present for my spouse; it was not a good present. I felt I over paid.

    Owner Response
    Hello,

    We sincerely appreciate your feedback in regards to your recent stay. We do hope you mentioned the heating or Keurig issue upon checkout for the next guest. We are a unique historic hotel and with that comes a historical appeal and antique design. One step at a time, but we are disappointed we were not able to meet your expectations.

    Take care,

    Jackie

    Jackie F, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, Est. 1875, responded to this review

  • Great Christmas Hotel

    by Aaron W on 2017-12-30 04:45 am

    Family and I stayed here over Christmas and the hotel was beautifully decorated. Check-in was easy, parking is attached to the hotel, there is free wifi, and you're centrally located to downtown shopping, restaurants, and the world's largest boot.

    Turn down service is a nice feature and they even turned down our kids' makeshift beds in the window boxes for the dolls.

    Parking could be tricky if you have a large truck, because the height is restricting, but there's plenty of street parking or a lot across the street if needed.

    Definitely a place to stay over the holidays and will be there with the family again soon.

    Owner Response
    Hi Aaron,

    Thank you guys for visiting us. Much time and preperation goes into Christmas decorating. We also have to get it up before the Holiday Stroll, which would be an awesome event to come see and celebrate.

    Glad to hear you will be visiting us again in the future!

    Take care,

    Jackie

    Jackie F, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, Est. 1875, responded to this review

  • Great place for a reunion!

    by Hammie595 on 2017-12-10 12:46 am

    I took this vacation to spend time with my siblings, so can't say as I would rate this autism friendly. That being said this place is absolutely gorgeous! We had rooms ranging from suite, to double and single. I saw them all and they each had their own beauty. You can hear the trains from some rooms, like mine, and I feel like it just adds to the feel that this place is a real working river town. It is right on the Mississippi. There are tons of shops within walking distance as well as some right inside. A full service spa is available and my nieces had no trouble getting in a few different times for things. The restaurants on site are very good...be sure to hit all three! The pub in the basement is not to be missed.

    Owner Response
    Hello Traveler,

    So glad to hear we were your destination for a family reunion. We really do have everything under one roof as well.

    Please come back in the future again!

    Thanks for you kind comments and Cheers!

    Jackie

    Jackie F, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, Est. 1875, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.