Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center

    Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center
 in Staunton
    Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center
 in Staunton


TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1219 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • My sister and I

    by Deborah M on 2017-10-15 04:26 pm

    Had a great time staying in a suite. Her bed was a queen and my bed was a Murphy bed that was quite comfortable! I went to the bar for a drink! Yummy.This place seems nice especially for those attending the theatre next door.

    Owner Response
    I am delighted to read that you both enjoyed your time with us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel in historic downtown Staunton, VA. Thank you for the review of your experience and please join us again when your travels bring you to the area. Next time stay for dinner or perhaps an omelet to order during breakfast!

    DamonGM, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

  • We would not stay here again!!!!

    by StuartRon on 2017-10-14 00:59 am

    The central location is a great reason to stay here but, in our view, the only one.

    We enjoyed a nice welcome from the staff who gave us some history of the hotel. It may have its history and they have spent over a million dollars restoring the Wurlitzer organ but.... They should perhaps have spent the cash on modernising the guest facilities. The air conditioning appeared to work well. The rooms have no safe or refrigerator and are a little battered after years of use. The shower curtain was disgusting torn and dirty and the room not at the usual high standard for a US hotel. The beds to be fair were comfortable.

    The wifi was antique like the rest of the place. You connect but that's it. It doesn't connect to the outside world, what is the point of wifi that doesn't work?

    Breakfast was of the usual hotel standard. On tour parties get a buffet style service.

    Come on in today's world a modern hotel need to provide basis clean accommodation and facilities with connection to the outside world. You need to get a grip!! Most guest couldn't care a fig that the Wurlitzer is back in working order but do care that the hotel has good services for guests. So get the internet working and get those 1960/70's shower curtains changed for some new ones.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for being a part of a recent tour group that we hosted along with the feedback you have provided regarding your experience. I apologize that we did not live up to expectation during this visit and will look in to the wifi connectivity issue you mention. I am pleased to announce that we will soon undergo a property "refresh" that will address many of the areas showing wear throughout the hotel which also includes new shower curtains. I do hope you have an opportunity to return once the project is complete to experience a new level of southern comfort!

    DamonGM, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

  • Personalized service

    by LLL160 on 2017-10-13 02:04 pm

    My four colleagues and I spent three nights at the hotel. If you are driving be prepared to wonder how to get to the underground parking, it's a
    little intense. One way narrow streets require your full attention.

    The hotel is pretty quiet and the rooms are comfortable. The front desk is staffed with friendly and helpful people and I appreciate Allison's friendly breakfast service!

    Limited bar and food service in the evening was helpful after a long day of work. If I come back to the area I would consider another visit.

    Owner Response
    I very much enjoy reading all of the guest reviews and especially those that recognize the efforts and hospitality of our service professionals. Thank you for giving them a mention and for considering us for a return visit. If your business or leisure travels bring you to the area please stop in and stay with us again!

    DamonGM, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

  • Business Stay

    by Chris C on 2017-10-11 09:39 am

    When I heard we were staying in a hotel built in 1924, I was a little worried. However, I quickly realized that the Stonewall Jackson had been renovated in such a way as to make you feel like you are enjoying the pleasures of 1924 with the technology of today. The rooms are small because that is how they were built in the 1920s, but they are sufficient; the bed was wonderfully comfortable and the hospitality was exemplary. It is a great place to enjoy if you would like a change from "today's world" for a few days!

    Owner Response
    I very much enjoyed reading your wonderful review of a recent experience you had with us at the historic Stonewall Jackson Hotel in downtown Staunton, VA! Thank you so much for the kind words about the rooms and especially the hospitable service you received from our team. They all work so hard each and every day to ensure our guests have a one-of-a-kind experience and I'm pleased that you felt the same. Thank you for being our guest and please return again soon!

    DamonGM, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

  • Great old hotel in downtown

    by FlaEngineer on 2017-10-11 07:43 am

    The Stonewall Jackson is an old hotel in downtown Staunton. The hotel was in nice (not perfect) shape. The staff was helpful and polite. Parking was easy and free with the room. It was a nice stay. If we are up this way, we will stay here again.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for being our guest recently along with the review of your experience. I always appreciate reading comments about the helpfulness of our hospitality professionals and delighted that you enjoyed their service and politeness. Please join us again whenever your travels bring you to Staunton!

    DamonGM, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee

It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.