Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The American Club


    The American Club
 in Kohler
    The American Club
 in Kohler

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
956 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • B players in charge at Carriage House

    by Mary J on 2018-02-13 10:47 am

    I've stayed at the American Club several times, even for my honeymoon, and have truly enjoyed each stay. Unfortunately, this time I stayed at the Carriage House (part of the American Club) and was truly disappointed. The staff at the front desk was incredibly unhelpful. I had to track down my own luggage and gift bags, which were supposed to have been delivered to the room. They totally misinformed us in regards to transportation and then lied about it later, making us very late for our dinner reservation. Lunch and Breakfast tables were not cleared, making it difficult to find a place to sit. The "B" team was definitely in charge. Hopefully this isn't a sign of a decline in Kohler.

    Owner Response
    Dear Mary J,

    I am terribly disappointed to hear that your most recent experience was so far removed from all your previous ones. This is so uncharacteristic of our team. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Please give us a call at 920-457-8000, so we can make this right for you. We hope to have the opportunity to earn back your trust.

    Best wishes,
    David B

    David B, Rooms Manager at The American Club, responded to this review

  • Nice but doesnât live up to the hype

    by Anne W on 2018-02-11 03:02 am

    We spent the weekend at The American Clib. We wanted a weekend getaway with good meals, comfortable accommodations, and the opportunity to see the Kohler products at the design center.
    The room at The American Club was clean and comfortable. Meets expectations for the price point. We were surprised to find that the lotion left for us on the bathroom counter was nearly empty. The toilet didn't flush well, taking 2 flushes just to clear a small amount of TP. Also shower control valve didn't work well. If we didn't already own Kohler fixtures that work well we might really avoid buying their products.
    We had lunch at Cucina which was excellent. Dinner at Ploughman's was okay but not memorable. Breakfast and dinner meals in the Wisconsin Room were disappointing. Food was over salted and was inconsistent in temperature with breakfast being so cool as to not be enjoyable.
    We didn't try the spa services but are assuming that they are the main draw. We will look for other places to spend the weekend in the future.

    Owner Response
    Dear Anne W,

    Thank you for your candid comments. I am sorry to hear that we didn't meet or exceed your expectations. I will certainly be sharing your comments with our Housekeeping and Food & Beverage departments so they can look into these instances further. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future.

    Best wishes,
    David B

    David B, Rooms Manager at The American Club, responded to this review

  • Perfect Weekend Escape!

    by Momof3fish on 2018-01-29 00:25 am

    My husband & I recently stayed 2 nights at the Carriage House at the American Club. It was an amazing experience! The Carriage House is located directly above the Kohler Waters Spa. Every guest has complimentary access to the Spa with their stay. The Spa has a stunning plunge pool, gorgeous locker rooms that have a sauna, steam room, hot tub & cold pool in both the men & women's locker rooms.

    There is also a rooftop lounge area with a gorgeous fireplace, hot tub & lounge chairs to relax & read in the complimentary bathrobes & slippers they place in your room. To all Carriage House guests, they offer a delightful continental breakfast, afternoon tea & evening hors d oeuvres. Each guest room & bathroom features luxurious amenities such as a Kohler walk in shower with double heads & a Kohler bathtub with jets. If you want a weekend to remember, this is the place!

    Owner Response
    Dear Momof3fish,

    I am so happy to hear what a perfect weekend you and your husband experienced with us. This is exactly the type of escape we are looking to provide at the spa and Carriage House. We very much appreciate your recommendation and hope to be able to welcome you both back in the future.

    Best wishes,
    David B

    David B, Rooms Manager at The American Club, responded to this review

  • Clean and Stately but dark and cramped

    by SusieandMike57 on 2018-01-17 05:39 pm

    We stayed here for 5 days in the main hotel and played 3 rounds of golf on a company trip. The hotel was clean and well cared for. This is a beautiful hotel but very dark. Our room was an odd shaped room with very small windows with wooden shutters over them that were very hard to open. The room also has a tiny closet about the size of my coat closet at home. It was the smallest closet I have ever seen in a hotel. We ate at the pub and honestly were not impressed. They had a great program where we got the free use of a BMW(different models to choose from) for 4 hours. Arrange ahead of time. Great car and fun to drive. The Straits and The Irish were great and our caddie Oscar was a blast. I loved the golf but for us a different hotel would be in order. We prefer a more modern spacious room, but for people that like this style I am sure it is a great hotel.

    Owner Response
    Dear SusieandMike57,

    Thank you for staying with us and sharing your candid feedback here. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the golf and BMW experience. I'm sorry the historic and quaint nature of our property wasn't quite your preferred style. I would recommend you try an Immersion Suite at the Carriage House during your next visit for a brighter, airier feel.

    Best wishes,
    David B

    David B, Rooms Manager at The American Club, responded to this review

  • Gorgeous, historical takes you back in time

    by Kimberley29Chandler on 2018-01-17 11:23 am

    Arrived in a light snow at dusk- it was breathtaking! White lights on the property and the feel of elegance from the old days. It felt like a huge mansion, rather than a hotel. Things are older (rooms could use updating) and the rooms are small but it was definitely a great experience. I gave it 5 stars because it is an unusual property and the spa is the best I've ever been to. Totally First Class!

    Owner Response
    Dear Kimberley29Chandler,

    Thank you for sharing your experience. The property can truly be magical in the winter. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our historic property and world-class spa. We hope you will be able to come back and enjoy the resort in summer while all the flowers are in full bloom.

    Best wishes,
    David B

    David B, Rooms Manager at The American Club, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.