Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Cincinnatian Hotel

    The Cincinnatian Hotel
 in Cincinnati
    The Cincinnatian Hotel
 in Cincinnati


TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
882 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Nice period hotel but little effort

    by Gorilla65 on 2017-09-11 03:53 am

    Stayed for business and thought the place looked historic when entering. Once to the room it was a typical hotel room. Nothing great but most things covered.
    The service is friendly but staff just don't seem to want to put any effort into service.
    Would I stay again "yes" but think I would try somewhere else if I had the chance

    Owner Response
    Dear Gorilla65,
    Thank you for staying with us. We apologies that the effort of the staff was anything less than exceptional. We strive to go the extra mile and it appears in your case we missed the mark. We would like to address your concerns in an effort to improve our service. If you have the opportunity to expand on your comments it would be greatly appreciated. Please contact me at

    Ted V, General Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review

  • Probably best to avoid

    by SWVa_Traveler90 on 2017-08-30 12:08 am

    My 1-star rating reflects my experience on my second stay here. My first stay was worthy of a 5-star rating (warm welcome, clean and large room/bathroom, nice amenities, good location). My second--and last--stay was worth of 1-star rating (and the reason for the title of this review). Upon checking into my room on my second stay, I noticed right away that the room had been hastily cleaned. There were several pieces of trash on the floor and in the wastebasket. One lamp and one ceiling light bulb were burned out. What made this a 1-star stay was that my ceiling started leaking around 3 AM. Actually, it wasn't just leaking. Water was POURING into my bathroom. I frantically called the front desk, as the water was making its way into the bedroom. The woman at the front desk was not nice, but agreed to send the valet (who I gathered was the only other staff member there at 3 AM) to look at the problem. They realized the person above me had let his bath water run even though the drainage was clogged. The lady at the front desk did not offer to move me, and when I asked about that she developed a major attitude, told me they were "sold out" and said if I "would just give her a minute" she would look to see if they had anything else available. Long story short, they did move me to a different room, but double charged me (for staying in two rooms - I had to call a manager to fix this) and did not originally agree to take care of the cleaning costs associated with my belongings that got soaked by another guest's soiled bathwater (again, I had to speak with a manager about this).

    My recommendation? Avoid.

    Owner Response
    Dear SWVa_Traveler90,

    Please accept our apologies for this happening to you. We are very sorry this wasn't handled better by our staff. I was unaware of the incident. Please reach out to me at so I can get a better understanding of the situation and hopefully make things right with you.

    Ted V, General Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review

  • Locked in bathroom - not the romantic getaway we planned.

    by Af2004rn on 2017-08-26 12:13 am

    We decided to spend an anniversary at this hotel. We arrived at our room late in the evening, and decided to turn on the gas fireplace but it was broken. My husband called maintenance who promptly came and fixed the issue. However, since I was no longer properly dressed, I decided to go into the bathroom and close the door. That was a big mistake! After the repairman left, I tried to leave the bathroom and the door WOULD NOT OPEN! My husband couldn't push it open either. We called maintenance again, and they had to dismantle the door to get me out. Total romance buster! All we received was an "I'm sorry" and stories about how marriage is highly over-rated.

    We celebrated our honeymoon 10 years ago at this hotel. Even then, we had an issue with a non-stop running toilet in the honeymoon suite that required us to leave for several hours since there was no other room for us to move to.

    I don't know how this hotel is a 4-star place. It feels vacant since nobody is in the lobby or the hotel restaurant. Valet offers different rates for different people.

    Owner Response
    Dear Af2004m,
    We are very sorry you were locked in the bathroom. Can only imagine how frustrating that must have been. We feel very badly your evening went that way and would like to make it up to you. Please contact me at so we might be able to make it up to you.

    Ted V, General Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review

  • Terrible Stay at the Cincinnatian Hotel

    by ncoop2000 on 2017-08-24 06:13 am

    I was looking forward to staying at this property as its one of two historical hotels, and frankly its supposed to be one of the nicer ones in Cincinnati. The hotel must have been renovated in the early 2000s and since then they've put zero dollars into upgrades. The lobby, room, and the workout room all looked dated (really dated). The workout room looked like it belonged in a Rocky movie from the 80s.

    The real problem, I had a large yet dated room that had a balcony into the interior of the hotel. From 11 to past 2 am there were people talking somewhere in the lobby or on a lower floor and I could hear every word they said until I passed out from exhaustion. I called down to the desk a number of times and they said they would have security take care of it. Nothing changed and they seemed to hardly care. When I complained about my stay at checkout it was the most lukewarm apology every. I shall not return.

    Owner Response
    Dear ncoop2000,
    Please accept our apologies for the noise. We are sorry this was such a poor stay. Please contact me so we may make things right with you.

    Ted V, General Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review

  • Worst welcome ever

    by Esra M on 2017-08-21 07:54 am

    Although we had a confirmed reservation, the lady at the front desk did not accomadate or based on our reservation. Argued that we didn't have a reservation although I showed to her several times. For some reason she did not or chose not to understand us! We were literally turned back from the front desk without checking in. First time ever for this globetrotter.

    Owner Response
    Dear Esra M,
    So sorry that happened. We would love to be able to follow up on this and make things right with you. Please contact me at or 513-865-7101. Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of the occurrence. We look forward to hearing from.

    Ted V, General Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review

Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee

It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.