Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Dewberry Charleston


    The Dewberry Charleston
 in Charleston
    The Dewberry Charleston
 in Charleston

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
443 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Pleasant Stay.. for the Most Part

    by JJD82 on 2017-10-15 04:25 pm

    I initially booked the Dewberry Charleston based on the rave reviews here on TripAdvisor. While I had a pleasant stay overall, but there were a few details that have left some not-so-great notes on my stay.

    Located on Meeting Street, just a quick 5 minutes walk from the Charleston Visitor Center (where you can find bus tours of the city and all sorts of visitor information) and directly across from Calhoun Park, the Dewberry Charleston is a (1.5 year old) new hotel with semi mid-century furnishings. The address is on Meeting Street, but the entrance to the hotel is actually on Charlotte Street. Valet is $36 overnight or you can park anywhere that is available. Most parkings in the area are metered so it can get expensive if you are parking for a long period of time.

    We were greeted right away by both the valet and hotel staff, they were friendly and courteous. Check-in process was flawless and the staff walked us up to our room. We booked a Grand Queen room, the pictures looked beautiful but I am a little disappointed to say the real thing is a little less so because the way it's furnished was a bit weird: instead of night stands, there were two tiny side tables that aren't exactly functional as it doesn't hold much; a small "dining" table that can only hold meal for one (I think a desk there instead would probably work better); the bathroom, while very gorgeous and huge, took up a lot room where if we opened the drawers in the wardrobe, it almost touches the end of the bed. Being from New York, 385 is a premium amount of space for a hotel room but unfortunately it was not reflected in the Grand Queen room design.

    There is a beautiful rooftop terrace that overlooks the immediate areas. I recommend taking a glass of wine up there and relax at the end of the time; we did not get a chance to try the bar but did have two wonderful breakfasts at Henrietta's, the hotel's residence restaurant. The food was wonderfully prepared, fresh and reasonably priced.

    Unfortunately, while I always wish I never have to write about the negatives, but it is what it is: for the first two mornings I've left tip for the housekeeping staff, but the third morning I did not have cash and I came back to a room where our water was not replenished (they were the first two nights), our trash was not picked up, and our sheets were not changed. I'd like to think it was not because I didn't leave a tip that morning but either way it was poor service.

    The biggest drawback for me was the AC situation. I've been told my guest services that there is a set temperature range for each rooms therefore the guests cannot go out of that, in fact, you cannot even turn off the AC. Guest service had to call engineer to "unlock" my room so I can have full control over the AC panel. Never once have I stayed at a hotel (not to mention a five star) where the guests don't have control over the temperatures in our rooms. It was really strange for me. Even with the room "unlocked', the temperature never went below 75 despite me trying to set it at 70; Goes without saying it was uncomfortable when it's 88 and super humid outside. We mentioned it to guest services but issue was never resolved.

    Overall I had a pleasant stay. The hotel staff (minus housekeeping) were very courteous and friendly; our meal at Henrietta was wonderful and the location is perfect: away from the noise but just a quick 5 minutes walk away from all the action.

  • New Dewberry

    by AZGram04 on 2017-10-14 06:15 am

    Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Dewberry. We were somewhat disappointed with the size of the room. We were unable to unpack, because there were only two very small drawers and NO hangers in the closet. When we called for hangers, we were informed that there were no additional hangers in the hotel. Word to the wise: when you arrive, call for hangers. The Valets were outstanding, and it was an easy hotel to negotiate coming & going. We had breakfast and lunch in the hotel and the food was good. We thought the location was OK for walking, and we found that the area was nicer and cleaner as we walked toward the water and the market.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for staying at The Dewberry. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and the valet, however, I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room. Maybe we could interest you in the one bedroom suite for your next stay?

    -Scott Dawson, General Manager

    TheDewberrySC, General Manager at The Dewberry Charleston, responded to this review

  • Great Service

    by drosietiger on 2017-10-13 06:38 am

    Great experience from the Valet Motor Court, to the reception desk, to the room. The Bar and Living Room area were great... we had a drink in the Bar before and after dinner. The room was excellent and the bathroom was incredible.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for choosing The Dewberry. I am so glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Please keep us in mind the next time you are in Charleston.

    -Scott Dawson, General Manager

    TheDewberrySC, General Manager at The Dewberry Charleston, responded to this review

  • Fun!

    by ChristineEspen on 2017-10-11 11:55 am

    Here for business-but such pleasure. Awesome rooms-beautiful. Stephanie at the spa is incredible for a manicure/pedicure and the drinks are unique. Convenient to airport and walkable to everything. Love the location and will be back!

    Owner Response
    Thank you for staying at The Dewberry. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that Stephanie at the spa made such an impression. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again soon.

    -Scott Dawson, General Manager

    TheDewberrySC, General Manager at The Dewberry Charleston, responded to this review

  • The perfect Charleston Stay

    by Stillthorn on 2017-10-10 04:06 am

    My husband and I spent last weekend at The Dewberry. We had a Charleston Flat and it was fabulous! (SO worth the upgrade)! It is so spaciously swanky and that TUB! wow. It also has a beautiful rooftop lounge area just for the hotel guests!
    The service was first class and very friendly. Our new favorite!

    Owner Response
    Thank you for choosing to stay at The Dewberry. I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us in the Charleston Flat. Please keep us in mind the next time you are visiting Charleston.

    -Scott Dawson, General Manager

    TheDewberrySC, General Manager at The Dewberry Charleston, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.