Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Fairfax at Embassy Row


    The Fairfax at Embassy Row
 in Washington

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1995 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Nice location

    by Lynne A on 2018-06-24 06:13 pm

    We chose this hotel due to its proximity to a conference we were attending down the street(didn't want to stay at the conference hotel past the conference dates), and the hotels proximity to P Street restaurant options within half a block. The hotel was under construction and the service was lacking, but we don't really care to have anyone at our snapping fingertips when we are here to explore Washington DC. The rooms were very large with spacious bathroom. We had 3 windows in our bedroom and 1 in the bathroom. The area is quiet and we didn't hear any noise from other guests. It's an older hotel with Historical Charm. We found it clean and comfortable. We loved returning from a day out to take a short walk around the corner for dinner with numerous restaurant ethnicities and price points for whatever we were in the mood for.

  • Dated & Dirty

    by Kellie S on 2018-06-24 01:40 pm

    Stayed at this hotel I June with my 2 kids and husband. The hotel is dated and dirty. The room furniture was about 25 years only and the carpet in the room the same (imagine how dirty). The fridge wasn't cold and hardly large enough to hold my baby's milk. There wasn't even room service. I would not stay here again.

  • Deja vu all over again

    by TravelGal41 on 2018-06-23 04:50 pm

    I stayed at the Fairfax two years ago for a professional conference and found their service quite poor--computers that were always down, staff who were non-responsive, on-going construction and noise. This year, when I made my reservation for another professional conference, I hoped that the hotel would have improved. When I arrived, however, almost everything was just the same. The computers were down. I had called the evening before to request an early check-in and knew that I was taking a chance. When I tried to check in, I was not greeted by the reservation agents--they were turned away to face the computer. There was no organized line, no formal greeting of customers. When I mentioned the early check-in, I was told that the only way to ensure it was to pay for an extra night. Given the poor quality of the service on first contact, that was not an effective way to address me as a customer. I felt sorry for the reservation agent, but I communicated to her much of what I'm saying right now.

    I understand crowds, outdated equipment or flawed computer systems, and understaffing--all of these are tough on staff who I'm sure are underpaid. But there is a great deal of competition in DC--there were many other places nearby where I could have stayed, many of them cheaper, and many, I believe, more efficient and customer-friendly. It isn't clear to me that the Fairfax Hotel wants my business, and if given the choice, I certainly wouldn't stay there again.

  • Loved our stay!

    by Linzc85 on 2018-06-13 11:25 am

    My son and I stayed there Meorial Day weekend and absolutely loved our stay!!! Everyone was so friendly! The room was clean and nicely decorated. The bed and pillows were so comfortable. We did not experience any issues with the construction. The location of the hotel was in perfect walking distance to lots of great attractions and restaurants. We will definitely stay there the next time we are in DC!

    Owner Response
    We are very happy that you loved your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row and that you found our staff to be friendly, your room to be clean and nicely decorated, and the bed and pillows to be comfortable. It is important to us that our guests have an amazing stay at our hotel and we thank you for letting us know that this, was in fact, your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.

    FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review

  • Never again

    by Marino_napoli on 2018-06-13 02:59 am

    I was in this hotel for a meeting nearby. Never again.
    The rooms are noisy, because they have a centralized air conditioning system. In every room there is a cabin inside which the ventilation pipes pass, and even if you turn off the air, you still hear the noise of the central engine. I changed rooms 3 times before understanding that the system was like this in every room! Even the wifi is bad. Honestly, such a poor service in Washington had never happened to me.

    Owner Response
    We are very disappointed that your visit to our hotel was not the great experience we strive to give our guests. Please know, your stay was not reflective of our usual high standards and we'd appreciate the chance to better impress you. We hope you'll reconsider and stay with us again.

    FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.