Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Gettysburg Hotel, Est.1797


    Gettysburg Hotel, Est.1797
 in Gettysburg

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1161 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Location is great but NEEDS A FACELIFT

    by Ashley C on 2018-02-20 05:11 am

    I graduated from Gettysburg College and stay at the Gettysburg Hotel each time I visit because it is centrally located to campus and there are so many stores and restaurants in walking distance. The staff is always very friendly, parking is easy and reasonably priced. The rates are usually reasonable but after this last stay I would say that I may reconsider where I stay in Gettysburg. All of my above comments were true about this stay but the room was really lacking. The paint was peeling, the windowsills were filthy and the room was really outdated. The bathroom sink was in a carpeted portion of the room and the toilet hardly flushed. The heater also didn't work which wasn't too much of an issue because I don't like heat to sleep but it would have been nice to turn it on upon waking. There is only so much that they can do about street noise, I was right on the street 2 stories up. New windows at the very least would help. It sounded like the semis were in the room with me. I hate to be negative about this hotel but they desperately need to update this property. The elevator is rickety and the whole place needs to be freshened up.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about the recent experience at our property. We're appreciative of the kind words towards our staff, and we're glad that our service could meet your expectations. I hope for you to reach out to me at astevenson@hotelgettysburg.com, so we can determine your room location and address those concerns you shared. This past winter/fall we were able to replace all of the windows in the main building, and we are looking forward to doing so in the Historic Scharf wing in the future, which should address the noise concerns. We are also planning for a full refresh of the property in the coming years, and we hope that the updates are looked at favorably from our guests. Thank you again for taking the time to share, and we hope to have you back with us again in the future.

    Warm Regards,
    Andrew Stevenson
    Rooms Division Manager

    GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review

  • Not what we were promised

    by oakhem on 2018-02-19 08:33 am

    We booked our stay at the Gettysburg Hotel a few weeks prior to our arrival (2/17/18(. We chose a room with a fireplace and a jacuzzi tub, which we thought would be perfect for a cold, February night. Upon our arrival, we were given our keys and told that we would have a room with a jacuzzi tub. They didn't mention the fireplace, but we didn't think anything of it. When we got up to our room, we found that our room DID NOT, in fact, have a fireplace. When we called down to the front desk, we were told that the rooms were "oversold" and that they were not able to give us a room with a fireplace. When my husband questioned if we could switch rooms, they said that was not possible, but that we would have our rate reduced from $189 to $99. While this was nice, we were very disappointed, as this was the feature we had most been looking forward to. IN addition to that, we thought that we should've been informed of this upon our arrival, NOT having to discover it ourselves when we got to our room.
    In addition to that disappointment, the fan in the bathroom sounded like a JET AIRPLANE taking off and would most definitely NOT be a quiet, relaxing or romantic atmosphere in which to enjoy a jacuzzi tub.
    And finally - there was no fridge in the room (pretty standard in nicer hotels) and NO bottles of water either. If we had had to pay the normal rate on this room, I would've been more angry than I already was. For our first stay at this hotel, we were very displeased.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for taking the time to provide the candid feedback on your recent experience. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts about your visit, and we will be sharing with our team in hopes of preventing future displeasure with our guests. We do our best to make sure that our guests are provided the accommodations that they reserve, and when things happen that make that not possible, we try our hardest to ensure the accommodations can meet their needs, in hopes of avoiding any dissatisfaction. It was our fault that we did not have an open dialogue with you at check-in regarding your room type, and for that, we sincerely apologize for. We hoped that a similar room on the top floor at a discounted rate would be enough to ease your displeasure. We hope to have all our guests leave our property with a positive experience, and its unfortunate that you did not, but we wish to see you again in the future, to truly provide the experience in Gettysburg worth sharing.

    Warm Regards,
    Andrew Stevenson
    Rooms Division Manager

    GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review

  • Excellent stop for our group, 22 strong!

    by byost17 on 2018-02-19 07:52 am

    For 28 years, a group of friends has gathered over Presidents week end. The Gettysburg Hotel filled the bill perfectly. The staff could not have been more accommodating or friendly. Any request was answered promptly. And the location was ideal, especially in bad weather. We didn't have to budge if we didn't want to. All 22 of us agree, our stay was memorable and excellent!

    Owner Response
    Thank you so much for taking the time to share on your experience at our property. We're glad that we could accommodate your 22 guests, and that this past Presidents Weekend was an enjoyable one for you and your party at our hotel. We appreciate you sharing, and look forward to hosting your group in the future.

    Kind Regards,
    Andrew Stevenson
    Rooms Division Manager

    GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review

  • Romantic Getaway

    by Diane P on 2018-02-12 010:21 pm

    My husband and I spent the weekend at the hotel. The beds were amazingly comfortable, and the blackout drapes enabled us to sleep late, which is a luxury we never have at home. We loved the fireplace and a jacuzzi, and our room was so quiet, that we were unaware of any other guests on our floor. We'll be back, but we probably won't dine at One Lincoln, since vegan options are not available, and since the quality of the breakfast left much to be desired.

    Owner Response
    Thank you so much for taking the time to share the great feedback on your recent stay. We're appreciative of the fact that your romantic getaway could meet all your expectations, and that we have earned a return visitor. We thank you again for sharing and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

    Kind Regards,
    Andrew Stevenson
    Rooms Division Manager

    GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review

  • Comfortable stay. Ideal location.

    by Michael B on 2018-02-08 10:32 am

    We were in town attending a presentation by Steven B Wiley at Lincoln Leadership Institute, located at the Will's House Museum across the square. The GH hotel room was clean and comfortable, but I wasn't a fan of all the tiny bed pillows. 2 full size regular pillows would've been better. We stayed on the 4th floor and had no traffic noise issues at all. We used the online-purchased 2-day parking pass for the parking garage. All worked out well. We'd love to stay at the Gettysburg Hotel again. I wish the little street shops would stay open longer near evening (after my biz conference needs are covered). Maybe due to offseason visit, they don't have enough traffic to support it.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for the kind and informative feedback from your recent stay. We're happy to hear the accommodations suited your needs, and we will take your thoughts into consideration for future measures to keep our guests happy. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share, and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

    Kind Regards,
    Andrew Stevenson
    Rooms Division Manager

    GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.