Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Hotel Northampton


    The Hotel Northampton
 in Northampton
    The Hotel Northampton
 in Northampton

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
454 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Great experience

    by a7xf5fdp on 2018-01-22 06:57 am

    Honestly I am surprised at some of the negative reviews on this hotel. I've stayed here twice and never came close to experiencing any of the issues described. Beautiful historic building, clean, comfortable rooms, good on-site dining. Walking distance from Academy of Music Theater and Smith College campus.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for your positive feedback! We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stays with us. We have many guests who return often to stay with us and enjoy downtown Northampton and all it has to offer. We hope to see you again soon!

    Lorraine S, other at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review

  • Beware

    by bsilver42 on 2018-01-21 09:14 am

    Decent hotel. Exceptional location. Hotel includes complimentary continental breakfast but can't sustain the crowds. No available tables, no clean coffee mugs or juice glasses, etc. Also, HUGE problem...there was an event in the ballroom so we were forced to valet park (no open spots in lot). Came back to a car (one month old mind you) with huge scratches on the passenger windows. Not saying that is necessarily the hotels fault, BUT...

    Owner Response
    Dear Valued Guest;

    We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. While we are pleased that you like our location and hotel, we cannot be more disappointed that we were not able to provide you with a favorable breakfast experience. While seating for our Continental Breakfast is based upon availability, we absolutely should be able to accommodate all of our guests with mugs and glassware.
    Often on our busy weekends we do have Valet Parking available for our guests for their convenience, it is unfortunate that your car came back with scratches.
    We sincerely hope that you will return for another stay so that we can better meet you expectations.

    Sincerely,

    Lorraine S.
    Social Sales Catering Manager

    Lorraine S, other at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review

  • Disappointing

    by Alper C on 2018-01-13 10:22 am

    We stayed at Hotel Northampton because of the location. One of the worst check-in experiences we encountered for some time. We had to initial at check in that we will not consume drinks outside! The hotel was built in the Prohibition Era. I guess its effects are still in force.

    Reception staff clearly has never taken any training on customer service. It must be a culture of this hotel that staff goes on and on what you can't do in the hotel like where you can't park. Even the complimentary breakfast voucher comes with a set of needless rules like no substitution, not to be used lunch, dinner or room service, etc.

    The exercise room was clean and every machine was working fine. The fireplace at the entrance sitting area was charming.

    The rooms are small, and bathroom is cramped. The continental breakfast was processed food without the cereal box. Coffee was acidic. The shovel and fork ornaments on the hallway entrance to the restaurant was bolted! to the wall.

  • So many missed opportunities...

    by Daisy782 on 2018-01-08 01:42 pm

    We've been driving by the Hotel Northampton for years, and their bar visible from the street always looked so welcoming. I could see people seated there as we arrived at the hotel. After we checked in we mentioned to the front desk person that we were heading to the bar for a nightcap before retiring to our room. The front desk informed us that the bar had just closed. No offer of a drink to take to our room or a simple, 'I'm sorry'. And that's the way our 3 night stay went.
    The hotel seemed quite understaffed and couldn't keep up with the breakfast crowd, quickly running out of food on the buffet and leaving tables uncleared. Getting a check for an a la carte item was difficult. Happily, the breakfast room is cheerful and sun-filled, very welcome on a cold, cold day.
    Our dinner in Wiggins Tavern one night was adequate but not memorable food-wise. The waiter seemed overburdened, resulting in slow service and items such as bread that we requested never appearing. We did snag a table directly in front of fireplace, which was charming.
    We tried the bar another night, and made a point to go earlier. The bar tender was just closing up early since he had so few customers. He was kind enough to give us drinks to take to our room.
    I agree with another reviewer that the beds were exceptionally hard and the bathroom small and lacking heat. The rooms could use a refresh.
    As we waited at the back elevator to depart with our bags someone walking by mentioned that the elevator was out of order. Unfortunately, the broken elevator seemed par for the course and we dragged our bags down the steps into the sub-zero weather.
    We've stayed at many hotels and have a fondness for charming, historic hotels. The Hotel Northampton looks lovely and I'm sure it could deliver a much better experience.

    Owner Response
    Dear Daisy;
    We are truly troubled that your experience at our Hotel did not meet your expectations. We do strive to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable stay. We appreciate that you took the time to let us know of our shortcomings.
    In winter months, we do on occasion close one of our two bars early if the weather forecast is unfavorable. We apologize that you were not able to enjoy the nightcap after checking in.
    We do apologize that our elevator from the parking log was not operating correctly, with the extremely cold temperatures that persisted below zero for over a week, it caused it the malfunction.
    Our guest room renovations have started and is scheduled to be completed by April.
    We do hope that you will return. We would welcome an opportunity to deliver a better experience that you should expect from us.

    Warmest regards,

    Lorraine S

    Lorraine S, Social Sales Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review

  • beautiful hotel, great staff, hard beds, tiny bathroom

    by terri866 on 2018-01-02 05:40 am

    this hotel is a gorgeous historic place. All the rooms on the first floor lobby area are beautifully done. It is centrally located to everything in downtown. Parking is easy and free. We stayed one night and the staff were very accommodating. however, we can't give it 5 stars because the bed was so hard, not even a foam topper. Slept miserably and therefore have to give it only 3 stars. At 260/per night probably would elect to stay at a bed and breakfast next time, since they usually have upgraded beds.


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.