The Menger Hotel
Located adjacent to the Alamo, the original Menger Hotel was constructed on the site of Menger's brewery, the first brewery in Texas. Opening on February 1, 1859, "the finest hotel west of the Mississippi River" was host to such notables as Sam Houston, Generals Lee and Grant and Presidents McKinley, Taft and Eisenhower—Teddy Roosevelt even recruited the Rough Riders in the Menger Bar.
This handsome hotel has since been enlarged from its first incarnation to incorporate 316 guest rooms and suites and copious amenities; the structure boasts original wrought-iron balconies and details, San Antonio’s largest heated swimming pool, a full-service spa and fitness room, and one of the city's most respected restaurants. Many rooms overlook the Alamo, pool or Alamo Plaza and all retain the furniture, art and accessories from the hotel's earlier days, including four-poster beds, velvet-covered Victorian sofas and chairs, marble-topped tables and period wall coverings.
And, as befits a building over 150 years old, the Menger even has a few resident ghosts—just ask at the front desk to talk to longtime employee Ernesto Malacara for a history of the hotel's ghost sightings.
Teddy Roosevelt recruited his famous Rough Riders in the Menger Bar.
Originally Opened: 1859
204 Alamo Plaza
San Antonio, TX 78205
Historic Hotels of America toll-free reservations number (800) 678-8946
Industry & Upheaval, 1849 ~ 1859
Located adjacent to the Alamo, the original Menger Hotel was constructed on the site of Menger's brewery, the first brewery in Texas.
Learn more about the History of The Menger Hotel .