Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Mimslyn Inn


    The Mimslyn Inn
 in Luray

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1005 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Mixed feelings

    by Chris10662015 on 2017-10-18 10:49 am

    This hotel is stunning from the outside so we had great expectations when we checked in ,having arrived from the uk and a long drive to get to Luray we were a little disappointed with the greeting as it seemed quite cold and like the lady had had a long day,we had booked one of the blue ridge suites which was very nice the bed was huge but very high the downside was the view from the windows,unfortunately it was a flat roof which housed all the air conditioners,we wasn't too bothered as we were out most of the time but when we tried to go to sleep we had permanent noise from outside ,so didn't get much sleep.
    Breakfast was very nice with excellent friendly staff nothing was too much trouble but unfortunately this didn't run through some other parts of the hotel ,in the evening we sat on the porch hoping to get a drink we waited forty minutes still no service ,my husband had to go to the bar and get served ,when he got the drinks a group of people arrived looked liked they were going to a wedding and immediately they were served it just didn't seem right ,it's such a shame that a beautiful hotel lets its self down on the service side,we were almost invisible,on the up side we did meet a lovely lady who was putting Halloween things up on the porch ,perhaps it was just our experience of the few days we were there and I wouldn't want to put anyone off staying at the Mimslyn Hotel ,every body has bad day .

  • Great cottages and get away weekend!

    by Soporifics on 2017-10-16 05:45 pm

    We were looking for a relaxing place to go for our anniversary and the Mimslyn Inn did not disappoint. We stayed in the Bridal Cottage, and it was perfect. Jeff the cottage concierge showed us our cottage and how to work everything. He also got our reservations for Circa 31 all set up. The cottage had a full kitchen (two burner stove, full size refrigerator, sink, kitchen table for two, toaster, plates, pans, etc.), four pollster bed, huge bathroom and a door from the bathroom that led to the outdoor private full size Jacuzzi (see pictures)! The Jacuzzi was completely surrounded by a tall privacy fence and dense evergreens. The view of the stars was perfect. The cottage is only two years old as are all of the amenities inside. There was also a bed pull out love seat facing a TV mounted above the fireplace (electric).

    The Mimslyn has two restaurants: the Speak Easy downstairs and the Circa 31 upstairs. We ate at both and enjoyed the meals. We loved the live music at the Speak Easy during dinner and the piano being played in the lobby which could be heard in Circa 31. There is also a bar area in the Speak Easy and a sitting area on the front porch of the Inn to relax with a glass of wine. The restaurants were about 50 yards from the restaurants. Outside of our cottage was a sitting area with hammocks and a fire pit with Adirondack Chairs.

    We also took advantage of the Spa and had great massages for the same (or less) cost as other local spas! we are not new to massages, and they were great! Rich will ensure you have the right therapist, and there is a couples massage room.

    If you want, you can take a walk (or short drive) down Main street to other restaurants, bars and shops. Luray Caverns are also just down the road 2-3 minutes.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for trusting us for your recent anniversary getaway and thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with fellow travelers. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our ideal location, great amenities, and convenient on-site restaurants and spa. Our Luxury Cottages are indeed a recent addition to the property and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in the Bridal Cottage. Please consider yourselves officially welcomed back and we hope to have the pleasure of being of service again soon.

    Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

  • Lovely location in the Shenandoah Valley

    by ncat2016 on 2017-10-16 11:04 am

    My companion and I stayed at the Mimslynn for five nights. We arrived late in the evening and received a great reception - luggage brought to our suite. We spent the next day out of the room, and when we returned in the afternoon the temperature of the living area was at least five degrees warmer than the bedroom - the air conditioning didn't seem to work properly so we asked to get it checked. We decided that the location of the room and the older air conditioning unit was the root cause and could not be fixed. The next days we kept the room temperature lower in order to make it comfortable. In the future would ask for an odd numbered room that doesn't get the sun. The days we were staying the outside temperatures were close to 80 degrees. The second day when we returned to the room, it had not been made up. We were able to get the room service to fix it. Although there were some glitches in our stay, the management was attentive in getting things fixed quickly. Our room was spacious, lots of closets and the jacuzzi was a nice added feature to the room.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for choosing the Mimslyn Inn for your overnight accommodations and thank you for providing us with feedback on your experience. We apologize for the glitches you encountered and appreciate that you brought the issues that you encountered to our staff's attention so that they could be addressed for you right away. It is always our goal to ensure that our guests enjoy the best possible stay. We hope we will have the opportunity to be of service again in the future and we hope your next stay will be even more pleasant than the last.

    Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

  • Stay Disappointing This Time

    by Sarge1996 on 2017-10-15 01:55 pm

    We stayed at the Mimslyn Inn enroute from North Carolina to meet some friends in Shenandoah National Park because we have always had a comfortable and relaxing room. I made the reservation online a few months ago and reserved a Historic Room King. When I received my confirmation a few days from our trip, the reservation had Historic Room King Handicapped. Since I wasn't handicapped and didn't request that room, I called and asked for the room I requested. I was told that the Handicapped room was automatically assigned and it couldn't be changed. We arrived on Wednesday Oct 11th, checked in and went to our assigned room. While it was spacious, the shower was very small with a hand-held shower arm and seat. The sink vanity was extremely small even for a wheel-chaired person. The bed was not very comfortable and there was no clock in the room. We have stayed here many times and it is one of our favorite inns to stay at, however, this trip was very disappointing to us.

    Owner Response
    It has always been a pleasure having you stay with us when your travels bring you to our area and we are sorry to hear that the comfort of your guest room did not meet the high standards to which you have become accustomed to over the years. We apologize for the disappointments you encountered with the room you were assigned. We hope that you will allow us to continue to be of service and we hope your next visit will exceed your expectations.

    Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

  • Hotel was good overall, but was kept up all night by phone calls

    by BazHokie on 2017-10-13 12:46 am

    We had one of the Blueridge suites, and it was overall pretty good. We didn't have any issues with cleanliness or service.

    It would have been a very good stay if not for one thing that had us leaving with a bad taste in our mouth. During our last night, someone kept calling our room phone every 2-3 hours...ALL night long. Everytime you picked up, no one was there. None of us got any sleep that night.

    When I notified the manager, they did apologize for the inconvenience...but essentially said there was nothing more that can be done. Said it probably could be some kids that might be staying at the hotel. Oh well. As I said, put a damper on an otherwise good trip.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for being our guest and thank you for providing us with feedback on your experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issue you encountered with calls during the night. Every attempt is made to ensure that all guests have a quiet, relaxing visit with us and we were disappointed to learn the next morning that this was not your experience. We are pleased to know that all other aspects of your stay were enjoyable and we hope your next stay will exceed your expectations.

    Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.