Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Seelbach Hilton Louisville


    The Seelbach Hilton Louisville
 in Louisville
    The Seelbach Hilton Louisville
 in Louisville

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1823 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Disappointing

    by Hofmannan2006 on 2018-02-24 02:32 pm

    Let me start this by saying there are MANY hotels within walking distance to this hotel so I would do your research before choosing this one. I love the old time feel but this hotel was extremely dissapointing. Other than the front desk staff being kind it really has nothing going for it. Even the lobby is dark and depressing. (The pictures look waaaay better). The first room we were given was SO tiny. The TV was on the wall beside the bed so if you wanted to watch TV in bed it was impossible. The elevators are tiny and you have to use your room key to get up to the floors. However, 2/3 of the time that system didn't work so everyone who was squeezed onto the elevators had to give their key a try until someone's finally worked each time. We stayed here an entire weekend and our room key worked ONCE on the first try. There is no option for movies in your room. Also the Oak Room restaraunt (a huge draw to stay at Seelbach) is closed for construction and we weren't notified. The bathrooms are so small only a pedestal sink can fit. The toilet paper in the bathrooms was like using thin sandpaper. Some of these things in and of themselves would be minor but stacked up together showed a lack of attention to detail and realization that we MAJORLY overpaid to stay here and won't again. This hotel should not be 4 stars!! Save your money and stay elsewhere.

  • Once in a Lifetime

    by CDarrett on 2018-02-24 10:22 am

    I stayed in this hotel for a work conference. The lobby, the historic decor and service was excellent. Our breakfast and lunch was provided daily by the hotel and it was exceptional. We also received a tour from security Patrick who was the best tour guide ever he was knowledgeable pleasent funny and helpful. At 10:30 at night he was able to give us a full tour of the entire Hotel. We saw 3 Suites, learned the history, the secret passageways throughout the hotel and even heard the story of the lady in the blue dress. Also be sure to stop at the famous bar. The only issue I had with this hotel was the bed. The mattress was horrible it had a divot in it from where everyone had slept. It's time for a new mattress.

  • Disappointing

    by J&H74 on 2018-02-17 08:58 am

    We were looking forward to staying in a historic property so we thought this fit the bill. The room we booked was a club floor queen. I think we were probably given one of the worst rooms in the building. From the website, they can't all be this bad: Shoebox tiny, dark and depressing. The bathroom is so absolutely small that from the toilet you can reach across the minute pedestal sink to turn on the tub/shower combo. I am guessing the room is about 200 sq feet.
    There is a nice lobby bar, but there is a generally tired feeling pervading the property. The staff at the seelbach was very nice, but the place is just a disappointment.
    Embassy suites are generally not our preferred brand, but having crossed the street to go to the CVS and seeing the embassy suites lobby it would definitely be a better alternative. A new Omni is under construction a couple of blocks away that looks quite nice.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for your review and letting us know of your stay. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

    November 30th of 2017 the Seelbach came under new ownership and management. Over the next few months we will be getting ideas and plans together to address the issue that you have pointed out. Due to the size of the project, it will take some time to put together, but there will be some great changes coming to the Seelbach Hotel.

    In the mean time, I hope that you will consider visting us again. Please mention that you had one of our cozier rooms during your last stay- ask if we have an upgrade availbe, if we do, we'd be happy to accommodate you.

    Verl Wilder
    General Manager

    Verl W, General Manager at Seelbach Hilton, responded to this review

  • Anniversary

    by Andy M on 2018-02-10 03:27 pm

    Spent weekend at Seelbach to celebrate 25th anniversary and could not be more pleased. When I told them it was for anniversary they did an upgrade. After checking in the hotel delivered a bottle of champagne with a note congratulating us. There is a ton of history involved the hotel. This morning one of the people working told us some of the history and he even authored a book that we purchased. If you want a great place to stay and to be treated great you need to spend some time here. We will be back.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, we're happy that you enjoyed your stays and truly appreciate your loyalty to our property. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our service. We hang our hat on being able to provide superior hospitality. Thank you also for recognizing our fantastic staff including Larry the author of the book. Additonally our front desk team are the best in the business! We pride ourselves with giving top notch customer service and hope that you feel like part of our Hilton Family. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon and congratulations on your 25th Anniversary.

    Derrick Jenkins
    Guest Night Manager

    Derrick J, Manager at Seelbach Hilton, responded to this review

  • Amazing

    by CStanton1313 on 2018-02-09 12:25 am

    Everything was great, from the staff to the room and all the history in the hotel and the breakfast on the first floor was amazing. It was very neat of them to do the desserts and bar on the 7th floor for the guest,

    Owner Response
    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We strive every day to make our guests feel welcomed and well taken care of.

    Daniel C, Front Office Supervisor at Seelbach Hilton, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.