Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Wentworth by the Sea


    Wentworth by the Sea
 in New Castle
    Wentworth by the Sea
 in New Castle

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1537 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Beautiful Setting

    by carollhuntington on 2018-02-15 03:51 am

    The physical property is beautiful - the hotel staff is very professional. Food/menu good. Spa was VERY overpriced and could be improved with staff training and increased professionalism.
    Booking the hotel reservation was problematic and took several phone calls to correct errors. Attempted to reach the hotel manager unsuccessfully with several attempts also.

  • Fantastic place with staff to match!!!

    by Benjamin H on 2018-02-08 05:30 pm

    My family and I come here pretty often. Always a incredible stay. The rooms are beautiful, the views are gorgeous, and the service is impeccable. Starting from when we checked in the gentleman this time was swamped and seemed to be so at ease with a
    Crazy situ all the while keeping a inviting demeanor. The kids and I got room service 3 times in our one night visit! We had a gentleman Conor who brought our room service each time. First time he came he and a nice young lady in training with him. Now I'm super picky unfortunately about those situations and they executed it to perfection. She was very quite and smiled and Conor went off my lead as I am a talker and was amazing in his responses. Even engaging with my children with a smile and a hello without being awkward and over doing it. I always love staying here and the service is a 10. But this gentleman is special and has a bright future. I almost wanted to test him. Almost meant that I did hahaha. I ask the young lady whom you where with earlier showing the ropes, how do you think she will do here. The answer was quick and correct. "She will be an amazing addition to our team, so excited to have her join us" booom got it!!! A+ guys now the kids and I are off to stay at Portsmouth Sheraton tomorrow wishing it was Wentworth for another night. Thanks

    Owner Response
    Thank you for staying with us at Wentworth by the Sea. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time, and found service to be impeccable from check-in to check-out. We love to hear Connor highlighted, and will be sure to thank him for delivering great service, and for mentoring his trainee on what we strive to deliver with every guest interaction. Thank you again for visiting, and for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

    Sincerely,
    Jason Bartlett
    General Manager

    WentworthByTheSea, General Manager at Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

  • Beautiful

    by dugsage on 2018-02-07 04:33 am

    We had never had the chance to make it here, but finally did for a function. We didn't get a chance to sample the entire property, but what we did was very nice. The room was quality, pretty large (which seeing some others we may have had an outlier), and comfortable. Nice views of the harbor as well.

    We need to make time to come back soon.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to review your experience. We are happy to hear you finally made it to us. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again, at a time you can enjoy all aspects of our property.

    Sincerely,
    Jason Bartlett
    General Manager

    WentworthByTheSea, General Manager at Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

  • Winter business trip

    by Ziran_Paigu on 2018-02-05 09:27 am

    I stayed here in January for a business event, the hotel was good but not stellar.

    Two odd notes about the room: I stayed in a room that had daylight showing around the edges of the door as I walked up to it, so the air gap meant I could hear everything in the hall all night long and I presume the sound from the room would leak into the hall as well. Not ideal. Also, this is the only hotel I have stayed at in decades that didn't have an iron and ironing board in the room.

    Restaurant was great, had dinner and breakfast there and both were tasty and attractively served. Business facilities were good, catered food for our meetings was good.

    Overall, I wuld do a business trip here again, it was pleasant but unremarkable.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for staying with us at Wentworth by the Sea, during your recent business event. We thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. We will be sure to share your comments with our teams, and look for solutions regarding better sealing the entry door air gap, and ensure an iron/board is available in all guest rooms. We are happy to hear that your meals, and event were all good. We thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.

    Sincerely
    Jason Bartlett
    General Manager

    WentworthByTheSea, General Manager at Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

  • As Close to Perfect As You Can Get

    by Matt N on 2018-02-05 03:44 am

    I have written what some consider more than my fair share of negative reviews and mostly understand when people have bad things to say about a property.

    At the same time, my two previous stays at the Wentworth and an upcoming spa visit that promises to be spectacular in every sense of that word are prompting me to speak up in response to the bad reviews of this property. The fact that I unreasonably see these posts as an attack on a friend speaks volumes.

    First, I strongly disagree with folks who assert that the Wentworth does not meet the Marriott standards. I never considered Marriott to be a luxury brand and had a horrific week-long experience with the corporation this August. The Wentworth went well above and beyond in response to my request for advocacy. (Marriott never did ANYTHING!) I hope to visit the Wentworth once a year and almost would spend the night on a park bench before I would stay at another Marriott-affiliated property.

    Further, my room and view have always been spectacular. I never found noise to be an issue in the evening and have taken the same precaution of running a white noise app on iPad overnight as I do even at home. I have never heard so much as a mouse stirring overnight or in the morning. Leaving the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door knob avoids an 8:00 a.m. knock.

    I will acknowledge minor issues regarding the availability of front desk staff and even more minor "coaching" issues. The current general manager has taken care of that. This is on top of having a highly qualified director of operations.

    Folks further should do the basic math that having three people behind the desk and four or more guests requiring assistance results in waiting a few minutes for your turn. Please remember as well that the cost of every employee affects the bill.

    I will add that I have had wonderful stays at fellow landmark hotels The Gramercy Park in New York and The Hollywood Roosevelt and have ALWAYS found the service at the Wentworth to be comparable.

    Owner Response
    Dear Matt,

    Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted to hear that your past stays have been spectacular! We continually strive to improve our guest experience, and deliver an experience that is "as close to perfect as you can get." We appreciate you highlighting the improvements you have seen throughout your times here. We look forward to welcoming you on your upcoming stay, and will ensure that your, room, view, dining and spa experience are memorable, and wonderful. You have placed us in great company within your review, and we will ensure all aspects of your stay live up to the faith that you have bestowed. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you soon.

    Sincerely,
    Jason Bartlett
    General Manager

    WentworthByTheSea, General Manager at Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.