Williamsburg Lodge and Colonial Houses
Williamsburg began as Middle Plantation, an outpost of Jamestown, in 1633. The city served as Virginia's capital from 1699 to 1780, and today the portion of town protected as the Colonial Williamsburg Historic Area is recognized as one of the finest and most complete community restorations in the world, featuring some 500 buildings including 88 structures original to the 18th century.
The Williamsburg Lodge was opened in 1939. With its warm woods, colorful fabrics, and beautiful folk art furnishings, the Lodge is decorated in classic Virginia style. The expansive property is made up of the historic main building, South Hall, and Tazwell Hall, which were renovated in 2006; and the four guesthouses and conference center, which were constructed that same year. The entire Lodge facility is connected by a series of covered walkways for convenient access in any weather.
The Colonial Houses are original 18th-century buildings that are scattered throughout the Historic Area. Each of the 77 rooms among the 26 guesthouses is furnished with period reproductions and antiques. Some offer wood-burning fireplaces and canopy beds; others include sitting rooms. Each guesthouse has a unique history and appeal of its own, with some as small as one room with a tavern, and others as large as 16 rooms. All include modern amenities.