Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection, and Colonial Houses


    Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection, and Colonial Houses
 in Williamsburg

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
2196 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Ugghh, where do I start?

    by Cara R on 2018-06-22 06:43 pm

    Bad experience from the minute I pulled in. Pouring rain and thundering and not a valet in sight. Unloaded all my luggage myself in the rain and lugged it in. Front desk could have cared less. Room was not clean and I hate hotels that don't use fitted sheets so you wake up in the middle of the night on a nasty mattress because the sheets didn't stay in place. And don't be looking for dinner after 9 because there is nothing. No room service. The god awful restaurant in the lobby stops serving at 9. On a Friday night. No wonder Colonial Williamsburg is in bankruptcy.

    Owner Response
    Dear Cara R.,

    We sincerely apologize for your disappointing experience. We did not perform up to our ability and we are truly sorry for not providing you with an enjoyable visit. The arrival does set the tone and we were not welcoming, therefore I understand your disappointment. We are reviewing our dining options within the hotel and we will be making enhancements soon. I am confident this was an isolated experience and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

    Sincerely,

    Cole Wallace
    General Manager

    Coleman W, General Manager at Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

  • Relaxing

    by ooftie1 on 2018-06-22 05:18 pm

    Room not ready at 4pm check in. Location of assigned room, was over the bar/live band ( Thur, Fri, Sat) Informed check in staff of our previous noise issue and they reassigned us to a very nice, very quiet room. Had a few minor issues that were attended to very quickly by housekeeping staff. Room was spotless. All of the staff were friendly, and personable. Many we recognized from previous stays. Not as swanky as the Williamsburg Inn, albeit much more affordable, but equally welcoming, with the feeling that they appreciate you being here.

    Owner Response
    Dear Ooftie1,

    Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. We do sincerely appreciated you choosing our hotel while traveling to Williamsburg. We apologize for not having your room ready by 4pm and for your initial room assignment. I am pleased to read that we reacted quickly to resolve your concerns. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

    Sincerely,

    Cole Wallace
    General Manager

    Coleman W, General Manager at Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

  • Still has some hiccups but an excellent experience

    by sglbgg23 on 2018-06-21 05:16 am

    While I had some issues with billing, the hotel was quick to resolve the issues. It is very well appointed and the staff is welcoming. They were accommodative of our conference and eager to assist. The turndown service was a very nice touch. Would certainly stay again.

    Owner Response
    Dear sglbgg23,

    Thank you for your mentioning our staff as welcoming. Each team member works very hard to provide extraordinary service for our guests. We apologize for the billing error, however, I am happy we resolved it quickly. Once again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

    Sincerely,

    Cole Wallace
    General Manager

    Coleman W, General Manager at Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

  • Another Great Visit

    by Shev61 on 2018-06-18 05:21 pm

    This is the place to stay in Williamsburg. We have been coming here since 1984. It has always been excellent and remains so today. If you want to splurge go to their sister hotel, The Inn, which is directly across the street. However, for the price you get the same amenities at the Lodge --- spa, pool, fitness center, restaurants and proximity to the historic district in Williamsburg which is an easy walk. The rooms at the Lodge are both decent sized and super comfortable. It is a quiet hotel. Beds are super comfortable and bathroom is also a good size. This is akin to staying "on property" at Disney due to proximity to historic area. However, for this price you get a great room, great service and a unique experience. We will keep coming back here each time we visit Williamsburg. Again, it's not as nice as The Inn which is the gold standard in Williamsburg but for the price, the service and the amenities it is a great hotel.

    Owner Response
    Dear Shev61,

    We are happy to read that you had a great visit to Williamsburg and the Williamsburg Lodge. We truly appreciate your continued loyalty to our hotel and Colonial Williamsburg. We are pleased to read that the amenities that we provide allowed you to fully enjoy your experience. We look forward to continuing your tradition and being of service to you upon your next visit to Williamsburg.

    Sincerely,

    Cole Wallace
    General Manager

    Coleman W, General Manager at Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

  • A messy Marriott transition

    by Jimathome on 2018-06-18 04:30 pm

    I know that in previous reviews I swore off this hotel until they restored room service, but we had booked our room well in advance in order ensure lodging while attending my son's graduation. To be clear, it's a nice hotel. We again stayed in the Tazewell wing, which appeared to have been recently renovated (although the bathroom door was improperly installed and did not close), and the rooms are spacious and gorgeous. The beds are comfortable, and the room was impeccably clean. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    However, there *is* a great deal of renovation going on. A healthy percentage of the parking garage beneath the Tazewell wing (and all of the lot to the west) was filled with construction material and furniture. The two elevators always seemed to have cleaning staff waiting to enter with large linen bins, and one of the two stairwells was locked and under construction. Marriott's reservation system has been in place for some time, but our stay was not credited to our Marriott Rewards account. As other reviewers have noted, they seem to have difficulty tying the systems together properly. There is a coffeemaker in the room, or you can take a long walk down 2 flights of stairs and half a city block to the lobby to pay over $2 for a weak cup of coffee and purchase pre-packaged breakfast foods if a) there is no line, and b) there is someone there to take your money. Over the course of 3 days, a or b may have been true, but never both. There continues to be no room service, even though this is supposed to be an Autograph Collection property, and a random search of at least 10 other Autograph properties failed to find another without room service. I do not recall ever paying $300/night (after taxes and fees) in a hotel anywhere in the world that did not provide room service.

    I can make allowances for construction, and I can even tolerate some glitches when transitioning to a new reservation system. But there has been enough time for those to be ironed out, and honestly, the lovely room does not adequately offset the inconveniences that the hotel inflicts on its guests. Next time I'll go next door to the Inn, or the neighboring Griffin property -- and this time I mean it ;)

    Owner Response
    Dear Jimathome,

    I appreciate your candid feedback related to your recent stay at the Williamsburg Lodge. We are disappointed that we did not provide a seamless experience for you during your visit. We are working hard to address all of your concerns and we are hopeful that we can offer solutions to not having room service in the hotel in the near future. Over the next several weeks the footprint from the construction will diminish and any we are committed to investigate the problems during your booking process more intensively. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we are confident that we can eliminate the issues that made your experience a disappointment.

    Sincerely,

    Cole Wallace
    General Manager

    Coleman W, General Manager at Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.