Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Castle Hotel & Spa


    Castle Hotel & Spa
 in Tarrytown
    Castle Hotel & Spa
 in Tarrytown

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
244 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • What happened since our last visit to the Castle!

    by Abbcb53 on 2019-09-30 01:38 pm

    We were at the Castle in January and had an amazing experience which is why we didn't hesitate in returning, but it was so different this time. I will say that our rooms were lovely and the beds provided an amazing nights sleep. The problem was with the majority of staff who seemed distracted and/ or uninterested. Upon arrival on Sunday afternoon, the bellman took our name but did not even say "welcome." There was no offer to help us with our luggage. The host at the front desk was aloof, almost irritated and certainly not welcoming. He took our name, did not extend any kind words or a greeting. Our request for an earlier checkin, because of early dinner reservations at Blue Hill, eventually resulted in 45 minutes early in one room, but 15 min late in the other. Several people said they would bring us the key to the second room which never happened. Finally someone with a master key let our guests into their room with 15 minutes to get ready for dinner. The elevator was not working for which there was no apology. There was an air of stress throughout. It wasn't until the next morning when we were leaving that we were greeted with a genuine smile by a bellman who retrieved our car and helped with our bags. Whatever was going on at the hotel seemed to affect much of the staff and made for a less than ideal experience for us.

  • Spectacular Family Wedding

    by paulamarksnyc on 2019-09-22 04:07 pm

    The ceremony was special in part due to the beautiful outdoor setting, lucked out with great weather.
    Excellent top notch professional staff.
    Delicious plentiful hors d'oeuvres, lovely dinner in a beautiful room.
    A delightful memorable event!

  • Not âluxuryâ hospitality and kinda boring

    by SamanthaF101 on 2019-09-12 11:39 am

    Overpriced, not really "luxury", definitely not accommodating to kids. We came for our anniversary/my husband had a meeting in the area. The hotel is just not very special to be honest. It's a beautiful exterior but inside it's just kinda boring. Restaurant is fine-nothing unique and cocktails were bad. You would think being that it's kinda of out away from fun things to do, there would be things to do at hotel. Pool is rundown and bar there is only sometimes open. Bar at restaurant was not open at all. Only one restaurant at hotel , so you have to spend a lot if you're going to eat there at all. No trails on grounds at all. Oh and they charge $40 A DAY for a crib. Ludicrous. We stay in hotels a lot and not one has asked us to pay for a crib. I asked for bread for my 16 month old and they didn't have any ready. Ok, then give me something! My husband went back and was able to get some. We ended up spending 1400 for three nights (which included a $277 dinner that was good but again, nothing special and definitely not worth that money). They advertise luxury but it's unfortunately not.

    Owner Response
    Dear Samantha,

    I am very sorry to hear that you felt disappointed during your stay at The castle. Unfortunately the pool and grotto bar are open/close due to pending weather and we are not able to operate during raining and/or thunder storm. As for the extra charge for the crib, that's been the policy of the property.

    I will bring your honest comments to Equus and management. We are working on the new menus and service training to upbringing our high standard to serve our valued guests better.

    Alison P, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

  • Amazing hotel

    by Q9080GMsusang on 2019-09-03 01:03 pm

    I was able to check in early, the staff was great! My room is huge, airy and beautiful! I will definitely come back. The hotel is stunning the grounds are fabulous and they have a wonderful spa. IRS a total package to enjoy!!!

    Owner Response
    Dear valued guest, thank you very much for your fabulous review. We were so glad that you enjoyed every facility and our beautiful property. Please come visit us again soon.

    Alison P, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

  • Beautiful place-Beyond horrible service esp. what you pay

    by Peter-P-Ipswich on 2019-08-19 10:13 am

    I've stayed here twice and it is lovely and a beautiful property. It is expensive so the service should reflect it. It does not.....and it is really on every level. Used the pool a fair bit....two days no towels....ask for them....takes forever and required multiple asks. The young bartender at the pool forgot to put in my food order and scrambled when I came back asking for it like he was doing me a favor. Pool is supposed to close at 8pm and he closes the bar at 7 unable to make a drink as he tossed out the ice. He wanted to blow out early. Restaurant expensive scallop dish-TWO SCALLOPS!?!. Next night ate outside and the bartender/waiter never came out once not to even give me a check. First day room not cleaned until 6pm despite calling and they eventually did it at turn down service. Free drinks in mini bar-soda and beer-Great! But you need to restock it without being asked. On tiny shampoo in shower-Good thing I'm bald....but my wife? I called to get a copy of my folio after checkout-I had to call three and it's still not complete. Again great property but service lacking on all fronts

    Owner Response
    Dear Mr. Peter,

    Thank you for taking time to give us the feedback. I will bring your comments to F&B Department and Housekeeping Department for management to discuss, find the better way to serve our valued guests at our best.

    Please kindly give us another chance for your next visit perhaps in Fall when we update the menus. We would love to welcoming you and family to The Castle again.

    Sincerely yours,
    Alison, Ma?tre D'h?tel.

    Alison P, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.