Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Castle Hotel & Spa


    Castle Hotel & Spa
 in Tarrytown
    Castle Hotel & Spa
 in Tarrytown

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
228 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Engaged at the Castle

    by Jenn S on 2019-02-16 12:28 am

    My boyfriend, now fianc?, just proposed to me here at the Castle Hotel & Spa this past Valentines Day and he couldn't have picked a more romantic and beautiful spot to do it! The property was spectacular with exceptional views of the Hudson Valley. The entire staff was so friendly and extremely helpful in making this day perfect. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a large luxury suite and I was greeted with a large bouquet of roses. The room was so clean, had a fireplace in the bedroom and the bed was so comfortable like sleeping on a cloud! We had both dinner & brunch here, the food was amazing and we were surrounded by scenic views of the castle which overlooked the river. We also got to participate in a personal wine & dessert pairing!

    Again I cannot overstate how friendly and personable the staff was and give a very special thanks to Pearl and Allison for making this day so special and memorable. I truly felt like a princess! This place will forever hold a special place in our hearts and we will be definitely be back!

    Owner Response
    My dearest J&J,

    Upon your arrival, our staffs tried to think of "how can we make this beautiful couple feel like true royalty and let's create their fairytale memories to last for a life time"

    Thanks to Mr. J, he gave me such amazing ideas and gave all his true love to display and represent the room setup for his Princess.

    We were so happy to see your both beautiful smiles, your happiness and made one of your most special days completed.

    Please visit us again, I promise when you're back for your "Afternoon Tea for My Bridesmaids To Be" in May or June...we will make the magic happen again.

    Sending our love to you both,
    Alison Pearl Yassky.
    Maitre D'Hotel

    Alison P, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

  • Too much belief in its own publicity

    by jaggertravel on 2019-01-23 03:36 pm

    The hotel itself is fine enough - a grand building and lots of good history. The room is also fine, so why only three stars?

    I found it unnecessarily pretentious. Beyond the bricks and mortar the hotel had little atmosphere, I found it quite sterile. The staff were courteous and mildly friendly, but in a Downton Abbey kind of way. Relax folks... The bar was priced according to a clientele it probably more frequently caters to - business guests on expenses. You cannot self park. But perhaps the most irksome of all was the spa, which boasts a hot tub, actually doesn't have a tub that is at all coed, instead they are situated within the male and female changing facilities respectively, an utter waste of time if traveling as a couple.

    This hotel needs to get over itself

    Owner Response
    Dear jaggertravel,

    Thank you for taking your time and shared your experience with us.
    From my understanding, our ground and hotel was delightful and I'm glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere.

    It's correct that we don't recommend self park because of the steep hill and far walk parking lot.
    But we have complimentary valet that will carefully take your car and bring back to you at the front entrance.

    At Sankara Spa, we do have separate male and female bathtubs for guests' privacy but we do have a join specious Relaxation Lounge for male and female guests to enjoy in our sanctuary spa.

    Best regards,
    Alison, Maitre D'Hotel.

    ebbonie2, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

  • Felt at home in a castle!

    by Abbcb53 on 2019-01-13 02:44 am

    Everyone was so nice and friendly that we felt very comfortable. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite. What nice surprise!Though the windows were small we had an incredible view of the Hudson River with Manhattan in the distance. The amenities were generous, the staff helpful, the bed comfortable. What more could we ask! Next time we will make sure to stay longer and enjoy the restaurant which looked lovely.

    Owner Response
    Dear Abbcb53,

    Thank you from all of us for your kind words and shared your wonderful experience. At Castle Hotel and Spa, guests will be treated as Royalty always. We're very excited to introduce many promotions, in-house events and venues for any occasions. Please follow us on Facebook, Instagram and our website or email Alison, Maitre D'Hotel at maitred@castlehotelandspa.com for most update events and promotions. Wishing you the very best in 2019!!!!

    Best regards,
    Alison Yassky
    Maitred Hotel
    Castle Hotel and Spa

    ebbonie2, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

  • Lovely lunch, brilliant dinner and a memorable wedding

    by jessicalZ2411EN on 2019-01-01 04:30 am

    My husband and I have dined at the Castle for breakfast, lunch and dinner on several occasions. All experiences were excellent and we will be going back for years to come. We've also stayed in the tower suites and have enjoyed every minute of our 'Castle Experience'.

    The food and menu are dynamic and change seasonally--and well, being in and around a historic Castle outside of NYC is very cool. We met the Chef and enjoyed his passion for his craft.

    The hotel room was wonderful, very clean and room service was impeccable.

    We had our wedding here in October and can not speak more highly of the staff. We hosted a continuous cocktail wedding with around 90 guests. From what we were told, the Castle had not ever done this style wedding before us and they were great to work with!

    If you enjoy good service, unique environments/venues, history and awesome food, this place is worth a visit.

    Owner Response
    Good evening jessicalZ2411EN,

    We are thrilled to hear that you were able to visit our property several times before choosing us as a wedding venue. Many of our guests love to visit for each season for a completely view.

    Our staff remembers your wedding! This is the 1st time we have had that request and I am so happy to hear that you & your guests enjoyed the 'continuous cocktail' experience.

    We are looking forward to welcoming you and your husband back for your 1st anniversary!

    Thank you,
    Christianna

    CastleSupervisor, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

  • Christmas brunch - big mistake and terrible service

    by Maya-fin on 2018-12-28 11:31 am

    Visited the advertised Christmas brunch with two families, group of 7.
    First available slot was at 5:30 - not a problem for us, but noone told at the time of making the reservation that brunch options were going to be limited (not full menu available and food in fact left overs from earlier (and cold) - price still the same.

    Had drinks in the Bar, ordered cheese plates, never arrived until it was time to move.
    We were seated in an empty hall - isolated from other guests (because we were europeans and foreigners ?), we learned later - tables around us were not cleaned from previous guests.
    Terrible service - we were not greeted, plates were not taken away (had to ask several times), dessert table was being cleaned until we had finished the main courses, noone was there to tell us what was available.

    During the stay, we complained 3 times - after last time the final bill as adjusted some (overpriced to start with, but expected nice pleasant surraundings, and the price to be worth it).

    Was very sorry to see when we left, that in fact there was another serving setting, which looked nicer (and there were staff to show the food to customers, unlike where we were seated, where food was cold and we needs to look into boxes ourselves), and guests were seated in nicer surraundings (that did not seem to be full).

    My friend (who is local) attempted to contact General manager afterwards, but no interest talking to us obviously, since calls have not been returned.

    Very disappointing - place is advertising itself for special occasions (like our family gathering was) - cannot be recommended.

    Owner Response
    Good evening Maya-fin,

    I would like to apologize for the negative experience you had on Christmas Day. We are thankful for your honesty and we have shared your comments with our team. We will learn from this to ensure that Christmas Day will be a memorable visit for all of our guests.

    Please pass along our general manager's email to your local friend. Ken Utsumi can be reached at kutsumi@castlehotelandspa.com. He will respond directly and as soon as possible. We would love for you to give us another chance as this is not a typical Equus experience.

    Wishing you a happy & healthy 2019,
    Christianna

    CastleSupervisor, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.