Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Castle Hotel & Spa


    Castle Hotel & Spa
 in Tarrytown
    Castle Hotel & Spa
 in Tarrytown

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
222 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • DO NOT STAY OR EAT HERE

    by ndaniel2015 on 2018-10-05 05:24 pm

    I have to admit - the front desk staff were very friendly. THE BUCK STOPS THERE. The hallway leading to our room had plate and glassware from other guests everywhere. Super unattractive for such a pricey hotel. It was 2 pm. The carpet and paint/wallpaper needs serious cleaning. The furniture looks dirty and outdated. ( I don't mean Victorian- think 1970's grandparents style) We put out luggage in the room and decided to walk around the grounds- there is nothing to see which is super misleading from their website. Equus is a JOKE. We were sat at a table that faced the beautiful Hudson River Valley. Multiple flies were swarming around the table. We waited 20 minutes to be given menus- and not even greeted.(what the ?) 30 minutes after being sat we finally got the drinks and ordered our food. THIRTY minutes after we ordered I waived the waiter down to let him know we had to leave in 30 minutes because we had plans. He VERY rudely yelled "It's coming!" Five minutes later the starters arrived. (So far it's been roughly an hour and 20 minutes) After about 15 more minutes- I waived the waiter down. I explained to him we had to go. AGAIN he rudely yelled at me "It's coming!" I should also mention there were only THREE tables sat at this point. I finally flagged another waiter down- who thank goodness was kind-and told him we could no longer wait for the food and had to leave. He graciously took our valet ticket and had the car come round for us. We didn't have to pay for our starters (which were not very good) or drinks.If you think 2 hours is adequate time for dinner then you may be ok here. There was no rhyme or reason on when the food comes out. The table who sat awhile after us had their dinner served to them while we were still waiting for the starters. The staff all knew we were staying in the hotel and did not leave an apology note or a cookie or anything. Matter of fact- the room still had not been cleaned. Overpriced and some very rude staff. Someone needs to do something here and fast.

    Owner Response
    Dear ndaniel2015,
    I am truly sorry to hear such unpleasant experience you had with us.

    Firstly, thank you so very much for taking your precious time to write us the very helpful and sincere review.
    Secondly, I am taking this matter very seriously to executive management and NOT going to let valuable guests felt unhappy, disappointed and do not have the best experience with our hotel.
    Please kindly reach out to kutsumi@castlehotelandspa.com directly and I will do my best to make the right thing for you as best as I can.
    Sincerely Yours,

    Alison Yassky,
    Maitre D'Hotel

    ebbonie2, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

  • Bad Service for the Price Point

    by JasonWBowman on 2018-09-30 11:31 am

    It started at check-in...We were given a list of things we can't do, for liability purposes understandably, but not exactly how you want to start your "luxurious" evening at the castle. On to our room...Maybe we were the first gay couple celebrating their wedding anniversary, so I kind of chuckled at the note in our room that said "Happy Anniversary Mr. and Mrs. Bowman" and made a joke to my husband about getting micro-aggressed in Westchester. On to the bar...The bartender was insisting we have one of his homemade margaritas and we think it's because that's the only drink he knew how to make since he had to call for backup when I ordered an old fashioned. On to an evening stroll around the beautiful grounds...nope. Not while there is a wedding on the premises! Dinner was good, but all the waiter could do well was put dishes down and pick them back up...and look at me blankly when I asked a question about the food or wine list. Now I probably sound like a spoiled New Yorker and I am, but when you pay $500 a night and the valet brings you the wrong car and doesn't apologize, I'm sorry...this is just an overpriced castle with terrible service.

    Owner Response
    Dear JasonWBowman,

    Please accept my sincere apologies to such poor manner and under trained staffs that made you uncomfortable. I do respect your opinion and tried to help us out of what not to do and there was the way to make it better.

    Being Brand Ambassador of Sankara Group, we cherish our valued guests' satisfaction and we will do it right to serve you at our best. Please contact kutsumi@castlehotelandspa.com and I hope you will give us a chance to improve our service and bring the best experience for you and your wonderful partner again.
    Sincerely Yours,

    Alison Yassky
    Maitre D'Hotel

    ebbonie2, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

  • JUST AN AMAZING PLACE WITH HISTORY

    by BATMANCATWOMAN on 2018-09-28 04:45 am

    If you travel to Tarrytown New York, plan a stay at the Castle Hotel and Spa. The Castle, the grounds, the experience is just beautiful. The rooms are all impeccable done with the finest of bedding. The spa is a major plus.

    Owner Response
    Dear Rosario C,

    Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience with us and such lovely pictures of you two.

    I hope to meet you in person and keep providing royal treatment to our valued guests.
    I hope you and family having great Fall and please come visit us again.
    Best regards,

    Alison Yassky
    Maitre D'Hotel

    ebbonie2, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

  • Great Anniversary Dinner & Stay

    by Christina C on 2018-09-09 10:04 am

    My husband and I had dinner and stayed at the Castle Hotel & Spa for our 3rd wedding anniversary. The restaurant was superb and we watched a beautiful sunset over the Hudson Valley. If you are staying at the hotel, do not miss dinner here! The hotel is an "old school luxury hotel." The rooms are nice and everything you would expect in a upscale hotel. The beds are so comfortable. You basically melt into them. The grounds are lovely, as is the outdoor pool. It's a gem of a place in Westchester. Perfect for a special occasion.

    Owner Response
    Dear Christina C,

    Happy 3rd Anniversary!! What a great way to enjoy your wonderful celebration and I am so glad to hear that you both had a memorable and magical time at The Castle. Please feel like this Castle is your second home.

    From all staffs, we would love to welcome you back again in the near future and pamper yourselves as our King and Queen.

    Cheers,
    Alison Yassky
    Maitre D'Hotel

    ebbonie2, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

  • lying management, terrible place for vacation ...

    by JohnJKelly on 2018-08-31 11:16 am

    we went there for the pool and it was closed and they did nothing but lie to us . it looks like it may be good for conventions but it is not a hotel or resort that caters to guests. we will never go back.

    Owner Response
    Dear JohnJKelly,

    I am terribly sorry to hear the malfunction of communication among our staffs to valuable guests like you.

    Please allow me to investigate of what went wrong and happened during your stay. Please feel comfortable to reach out to kutsumi@castlehotelandspa.com for next time you kindly come visit us and give us a chance to make it up for you.

    Sincerely Yours,
    Alison Yassky
    Maitre D'Hotel

    ebbonie2, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.