Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Cavallo Point

    Cavallo Point
 in San Francisco
    Cavallo Point
 in San Francisco


TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1145 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Fall in love with the hotel

    by MewNisa on 2020-01-30 09:59 pm

    Very good service, front office - especially Ploy (little Thai girl). The hotel located another side of San Francisco which you could enjoy the view of golden gate. Spacious room with separate bedroom and living area... nice decoration.

    The bar/restaurant has quite variety menus for dinner and snack. Nice atmosphere and happening every nights (i stay there 6 nights)

    Best value is the shuttle to the city with luxury vehicle new Lexus. In the morning, they provide pasties, yoga class, trekking and wine hours during night.

    Can not ask for more... love every minute here.

    Owner Response
    Dear MewNisa,
    I am delighted to hear you had such a terrific time and that you enjoyed our atmosphere, service, food and were able to take advantage of our Lexus shuttles and amenities. Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback.
    Kind regards,

    CavalloPoint, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review

  • It's Not Just the Views

    by IHateCoach on 2020-01-29 05:51 am

    We spent 4 nights in an Historic King Suite. It was our second stay at Cavallo Point, and we were here to celebrate my wife's 60th birthday.

    Our experience was just about perfect. The suite was massive, with wonderful outdoor space. Of course the setting itslef is one-of-a-kind; but the service received across our entire stay was wonderful. Check-in? "Welcome, Mr. Clough and we are so happy you are celebrating your wife's birthday with us" from that front desk clerk, and that was unprompted, and only could have come from me making our dinner reservation.

    It went on from there - from the hand-written note and box of chocolates as a welcome gift, to Victor O in Farley Bar taking great care of us, to Murray Circle host Adrian personally dialing in our tables for the big b'day dinner and to everyone in housekeeping that kept things neat and clean always - our experience would be tough to beat. And I don't want to forget somm Helen's great wine suggestions!

    Thank you to all - we appreciated the wonderful hospitality and will always cherish the magical Fort Baker setting.

    Owner Response
    Dear IHateCoach,
    I appreciate your kind review and I'm very glad to hear that you and your wife had a wonderful stay and experienced excellent service while you celebrated such special occasion. We look forward to welcome you back.

    CavalloPoint, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review

  • It's about the view

    by JohnR1949 on 2020-01-07 12:13 am

    The only good expereince we had a Cavallo Point was the view of the Golden Gate Bridge and Gabriel our server at their Muray Circle Restaurant.
    I sent the following to both my travel agent and the general manager of Cavallo Point.
    "This place is a disaster.
    Cavallo Point is not about providing an excellent patron experience, anything but.
    1.. You can't drive to your room. They have to unload all of our gear including dog crates into a cart.
    2. Immediately, housekeeping shows up to do turn down service. They won't come in the room because of the dogs.Turn down service provided but no ice is provided. Called for ice, waited half an hour for the ice to arrive.
    3. They made a big deal about being dog friendly. No dog amenities are in the room on arrival. Had to call to request. Still waiting for the dog treats to arrive.
    4. My wife needed a shower cap. Not delivered after 30 minutes. Had to call again. Then delivered within ten minutes.
    5. On the 30th we returning at 4:30. We need to leave for dinner within 15 minutes. Housekeeping is just arriving to do our room. They won't enter the room despite the dogs being kenneled. They left without servicing the room.
    6. We arrive at 8pm for our 8:30pm New Year's Eve dinner reservation expecting to have a beverage in bar. The hostess...did we have a reservation for the bar? What??? I wait at the bar and then get chastised be the bartender...really???
    7. New Year's Eve Dinner at 8:30-four courses took three hours and fifteen minutes.

    Owner Response
    Dear JohnR1949
    Please forgive me, I am very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. Cavallo Point is a very special and unique property located on a former Army base that was turned over to the Nation Park Service. The property is made up of 34 buildings. We were able to convert the officers' quarters into 64 rooms and build 74 new units on the hillside above. With a historic property there are many restrictions on what we can be done. Adding roads or sidewalks in areas where they didn't previously exist is good example. We had to transfer your items to the golf cart because as incredible as those rooms and views are, you can't access them with a car. I personally believe that also enhances the special nature of those rooms. It was not our intention to make you step out in the rain, it is reality at times, in a property like ours. Had you arrived in different conditions your perception would have been drastically different, I'm sure. I'm also sorry that you were disappointed we would not service the room while you were out. I have two Golden Retrievers myself so I'm probably more dog conscious than most people. Animals are unpredictable towards people and as result we can't expect our housekeepers to enter a room without you present. Our other concern is opening a door and having your pet run out. I recognize that you had a different expectation and I'm sorry we didn't address that more succinctly. I'm happy that we were able to come up with a solution that worked for you in the end.
    Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your dining experiences. We have shared your comments with the team and are working on solutions to address your concerns. The holiday's do bring much higher demands on the operation and we're always looking for ways to make the experience great for everyone.
    To Toby Suz and Steeler, I apologize for letting you down on the dog treats, we should have given those to you upon arrival and your beds should have been set up by the time you entered the room. Please be on the lookout for a special package from Cooper and Oliver.

    CavalloPoint, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review

  • A Gem Hidden in Plain Sight

    by Chris B on 2020-01-04 10:58 am

    Cavallo Point sits with some of the best views in the world. The Golden Gate Bridge towers above the property. San Francisco is spread out on the opposing shore. In fact, you've probably seen this property in the background of aerial shots of the bridge or San Francisco. It's a perfect balance between escaping the city and never leaving the city.

    The staff was warm and seemed capable. Sarah at the front desk set the tone at check-in. Whether at the restaurant, the shops, or elsewhere, the staff always seemed available and ready to help without being intrusive.

    The campus is a historic military base. Many of the accommodations are in refurbished military housing. We ended up with a modern room with a spectacular view. The bed was very comfortable and the room was pleasant overall. We enjoyed sitting on the deck drinking coffee or wine. We were blessed with excellent weather, but it seemed that the geography and the buildings did a good job of protecting us from the winds you can experience in other parts of the Bay Area.

    We had a couples massage at the spa. The massage itself was excellent. The facilities at the spa were very good overall. Some of the details were just slightly off: a shower door wouldn't stay closed, they ran out of towels at the hot tub, etc. The general vibe, however, was more comfortable than any other high-end spa I can remember visiting. There were many couples there and the design of the building and grounds was welcoming.

    There was just enough room for improvement that I can only justify 4/5 for the review.

    The roads and paths are poorly illuminated, especially at night. To the point of bordering on a safety issue. If you have poor night vision, speak to the staff about it. Some of the historic buildings may be a better choice.

    Parking was also confusing and limited. This is one area where I did feel let down by the staff. I would have liked someone to tell me, "There's no good parking near your building. Just use the valet parking and let them deliver your bags." Valet parking was presented as an option, but we were lead to believe that self-parking made sense. It really didn't make sense. The parking areas were poorly marked or just completely unmarked.

    My wife ordered a chocolate/champagne combo for the room. First, it didn't make it at all. After asking about it, we ended up with e cheese/wine service. I'm sure the front desk would have corrected the issue, but for a 5/5 review, I shouldn't have to ask for a correction twice on the same item.

    If you want to explore the San Francisco area, but don't want to stay in an urban setting, Cavallo Point cannot be surpassed. You'll give up the easy transit access you have in San Francisco itself, but San Francisco is close enough to Cavallo Point to drive, ride-share, or bicycle. Other parts of the Bay Area will require that you drive.

    Owner Response
    Dear Chris,
    First of all I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. I'm glad to hear that both you and your wife enjoyed your stay as well as our location and hospitality. I will definitely share your comments regarding your in room dining issue with our Director of Food and Beverage. I would also like to let you know that we are in the process of implementing a $1.3M site improvement plan that will improve lighting as well as signage and public areas for the hotel, this will be completed in 2020.
    Thanks again,

    CavalloPoint, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review

  • Golden Gate Views

    by DTKCREESE on 2020-01-01 09:53 am

    Spent one night at Cavallo Point as an alternative to San Francisco and loved it. We stayed in a contemporary room with balcony views of the Golden Gate Bridge. We were celebrating an anniversary and the hotel provided us with a complimentary bottle of excellent French Champagne and gourmet chocolates. The room was perfectly appointed, the bed very comfortable and we enjoyed the fireplace on the chilly December evening. The resort property is very charming and we would have loved to have stayed longer, but the wine country was calling. We enjoyed excellent food in the hotel restaurant for both the evening meal and breakfast the following morning. The wine list is impressive.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for your wonderful review. I am very glad to hear you had such a lovely time during your special occasion and that you enjoyed the amenities, the food and our wine selection.
    Kind regards,

    CavalloPoint, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review

Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee

It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.