Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Graduate Berkeley


    Graduate Berkeley
 in Berkeley
    Graduate Berkeley
 in Berkeley

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
862 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Probably the best hotel close to UC Berkeley

    by arnonk on 2019-04-13 08:55 am

    Pros: convenient location, comfortable bed, good quality towels, sheets and bath products. Friendly staff. Food at restaurant is decent. Fast wifi.
    Cons: My first room had no hot water faucet in sink. Staff moved me to better room. Cleaning is slow (even when I asked cleaners to service room), maintenance issues both in rooms and public areas (broken elevator, missing a TV remote, refrigerator not plugged, loose shower head).
    Overall: reasonable place at a reasonable price considering the alternatives in Berkeley.

    Owner Response
    Arnonk,
    Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our staff and amenities. We also take your criticisms to heart and we rely on them to become better hoteliers. I will be sure to follow up with maintenance to fix the problems which you mentioned, as well as our housekeeping staff. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time that you're in the area!

    Departure44514800024, Front Office Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this review

  • This hotel begs to be recommended but I just canât.

    by simonthe1tenor on 2019-04-06 11:22 am

    I've been visiting this hotel for years. It became something of a favourite a while back but despite great efforts of renovation and restyling (many and various times) its the very infrastructure of this old building that lets it down. My main complaint is noise. Many times I have heard full conversations in surrounding rooms, especially in the bathrooms which are interconnected by ventilation conduits. If you are close to an elevator you'll hear it trundling up and down the shaft and beeping each floor. You'll hear people coming and going, though the excellent staff know to be quiet. Every effort is made to surmount this clunky old ship; lovely beds and linen; excellent bathroom products; great textiles and superb styling. Often the check-in has been friendly and helpful but very slow.

    The nail in the coffin as far as I'm concerned is that the new management has decided to close the infamous bar/restaurant 'Henry's' at 10pm. This is a real disappointment.

    Owner Response
    We are deeply sorry for the experience you had. We want our guests to be as comfortable as all possible, and I realize that being in a noisy location can inhibit that. We acknowledge our challenges with noise and would be more than happy to place you in a quieter location if you were to stay with us again, perhaps away from the elevators or in an area without neighbors!

    Of course, thank you for taking the time to tell us your thoughts.

    Departure44514800024, Front Office Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this review

  • Enjoyable

    by thegraciouslady on 2019-04-04 011:41 pm

    Good:
    -5-10 mins walk to UC Berkeley(if your main aim is to stay near to the campus, good choice)
    -Clean and Comfortable room for my 17 nights stay
    -Housekeeping lady who cleaned #609 (was very good)she made up the room well.
    -Front Office team and service staff in restaurant was friendly and helpful
    -Had a good view room (direct view of the Tower)

    Rooms for Improvement:
    -As it is an old building, the pipe noise at night can be quite annoying,i was woken up 2-3 times for my entire 17 nights stay
    -WIFI set up can be improved, being a long stayer, i had to login the password every 2 nights for both my laptop and mobile.
    -Had my breakfast over a few weekends, choices are limited, i usually had either avocado toast or egg salad toast(which are both delicious) but good if there are more choices especially for weekend.

    Hope to be back soon:)

    Owner Response
    We are so thankful for not only your kind words, but also your ideas for improvement! Please know that we take your words seriously and will work diligently to execute your recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you back to Berkeley!

    Departure44514800024, Front Office Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this review

  • Dissapointing

    by Dac22903 on 2019-03-29 09:43 am

    While the graduate is in an excellent location, it has several negatives.. the breakfast service is annoying and inefficient... there is one person who takes orders and serves, menu is very limited ( w eggs cooked the night before) and coffee thermos was always empty.. it was challenging to find other places b/c us Berkeley was in spring break so many spots r closed..
    The bathroom is tiny and the sink is miniscule.hard to was your face without getting wet!
    Room and bed are nice enough but the above 2 issues would probably make me find someplace else next time we r in Berkeley...

    Owner Response
    Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at our hotel. I'm sorry that your visit was anything less than exceptional. While we can't do much about the design from our historic building, I will however be sure to review your comments regarding breakfast with our culinary team. We always appreciate feedback on how we can improve.
    I hope that we have another opportunity to host your next visit to Berkeley.

    Kind regards,
    Nik

    GraduateNik, General Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this review

  • Great Location, Very Cute-And that's about it

    by Chicago52 on 2019-03-26 03:41 pm

    Walking into the hotel we were immediately charmed by the hotel's clever theme and decor. The hotel was also a 5-minute walk from campus and about a 15-minute walk away from some great restaurants in the gourmet ghetto. The building was pretty old, and despite some remodeling, was still obviously not in good shape. The bathroom fixtures have not been significantly updated, form the old, dirty tiles on the floor to the scratched up tub. It was also very poorly ventilated. The workout room had a practical capacity of about 3 people. The breakfast offered in the adjacent restaurant basically offered what would be standard continental breakfast fare(hard boiled eggs, fruit salad etc.) for a very high price. The staff were very friendly, and they had good parking. Overall, this hotel had a good location, staff, and decor, but poor facilities and food.


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.