Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Graduate Berkeley


    Graduate Berkeley
 in Berkeley
    Graduate Berkeley
 in Berkeley

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
836 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • No hot water in 2 out of 4 days

    by hold80 on 2018-09-14 06:01 am

    I stayed here for 4 nights. On 2 of these 4 days there was no hot water. I came back in the evening the first day there was no water and there was no apology. They said that they found someone had switched the main heater by mistake. I asked to have a supervisor call me. No one called. The steel accessories in the bath are rusted and overall the feeling of staying is quite bad. The fitness room is a joke with one poor quality elliptical and treadmill in a stuffy room. Customer service leaves a lot to be desired as well.

    Owner Response
    Dear hold80,

    Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit.
    We greatly apologize for the experience you received during your time here. Our hot water is now in service and our maintenance department is diligently working to prevent this from happening again.
    It is very important to us that each of our guests are well taken care of. It seems we missed the mark in providing you with the excellent customer service we want all of our guests to receive, and we greatly apologize. Please do not hesitate to reach out to myself or our general manager. We would like to speak with you more about your recent visit.

    LizzyS236, Front Office Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this review

  • Eclectic, Funky and Cool

    by H971LItimb on 2018-09-11 05:51 am

    I spent a night here on a business trip and got in late. This place is very cool and has a great vibe. You can feel history here in the design and decor.

    The beds are ridiculously comfortable with triple sheeting and pillow toppers and plenty of comfortable pillows.

    Everything here screams 'vintage cool!'

    Owner Response
    Dear H971LItimb,

    Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit at Graduate Berkeley!

    We are so excited you enjoyed your time here! Are you familiar with the Graduate Hotel collection? There are several locations throughout the United States and each one is located near a university. Each hotel is designed to represent the city it is located in and also celebrates the school it is next to. We are pleased you enjoyed the design and noticed the history throughout the building.

    Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to have you again!

    LizzyS236, Front Office Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this review

  • Cute, great location, but beware!

    by Nancy F on 2018-09-04 02:04 pm

    Can't beat the location or the history of the place. New owners spent a lot of money making it cute as can be but FAILED to address some basics. The walls are wafer thin. You hear every word of a conversation (or more!) in the next room. If your neighbor is an early riser or late to arrive: you are doomed. The street noise can be considerable but that is not the hotel's fault -- and a closed window mostly takes care of that. However: very little remodel money was spent on upgrading and modernizing the bathrooms. The trickle of water in the cramped tub shower (no non-slip mat) goes from burning hot to freezing cold in seconds with no warning. And the air vent shaft brings you all sorts of conversation bits and various sounds from the bathrooms above and below. And the drain in the bathroom sink took forever to drain out. I've stayed twice in the last 18 months with the hope that things would have improved by the second stay. No such luck. Also: bar and restaurant have very odd hours for a hotel. And game days mean all sorts of activities (some fun, some not) that they don't bother to tell you about when your make a reservation. Soooo much potential but it is not inexpensive and without some infrastructure upgrades (soundproofing, bathroom) and a little work on customer communications, can't say I'll be back. Too bad as the location is great.

    Owner Response
    Dear Nancy,

    Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay this month.

    We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time here and appreciate all the feedback you shared about your visit. It is very important to us that our guests enjoy their time here and it seems you did not receive the experience that we hope for all of our guests.

    We greatly apologize for not informing you of the football game day activities that we had planned for the property during your visit. We will be informing our team to make sure to properly inform each of our guests during their time of booking whenever we have game day events on site.

    Please do not hesitate to contact me by calling the hotel if you would like to discuss your recent visit. My name is Lizzy and I am the front office manager. I will be happy to speak with you.

    Lizzy S, Front Office Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this review

  • Vintage hotel in great location

    by Paul A on 2018-08-31 010:00 pm

    Travelling for business at Cal Berkeley, this hotel is in a choice location. An old hotel with all the things that go with that. smaller rooms, hard floors (a bit more noisy) and restrooms without a lot of space for your toiletries. But the updating has been nice, the bed was very comfortable and the space was adequate. The staff was very helpful at all times (kudos!). Close to many restaurants and the campus. Parking was an extra $35 a day, which is high in my book.

    Owner Response
    Dear Paul,

    Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us last month. We greatly appreciate your feedback.

    Our hotel has a lot of special history and this year we are celebrating our 90th anniversary! We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our property's update and the bed in your room. Our beds are known to be quite comfortable. So much so that we have info cards at our front desk for any guest that inquires about where to purchase one for their own home!

    We are also pleased that our staff was always helpful during your visit. It is very important to us that we provide excellent customer service and that our guests are well taken care of.

    Thank you for choosing to stay at Graduate Berkeley. We hope to have you again!

    Lizzy S, Front Office Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this review

  • Odleif

    by Odleif on 2018-08-26 04:06 pm

    Hotel Durant changed name to The Graduate Hotel recently. Unfortunately, not a very successful change. The previous intimate and somewhat cosy atmosphere has now turned into a place that reminds me of a fraternity, with a lot of noise. The rooms are still poorly insulated so I could clearly hear my nabor taking a bath. I find the room price on the high side. The breakfast menu in Henry is very limited.

    Owner Response
    Dear Odleif,

    Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us last month. We always value guest feedback because it helps us to improve our property.
    We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time here because it is important to us that each of our guests have a positive and memorable experience. Please do not hesitate to call the hotel and reach out to me if you would like to discuss your visit more. My name is Lizzy and I am the front office manager. I will be happy to speak with you.

    Lizzy S, Front Office Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.