Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Grand Hotel Golf Resort & Spa


    Grand Hotel Golf Resort & Spa
 in Point Clear
    Grand Hotel Golf Resort & Spa
 in Point Clear

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1413 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Beautiful property

    by As62301 on 2019-11-07 03:10 am

    The property at this hotel is absolutely serene and beautiful. So quiet on the bay! We had a balcony with rocking chairs overlooking the wharf and it was incredible to wake up in the morning and enjoy the outdoors.

  • Delightful drinks at sunset

    by october30521 on 2019-10-26 12:39 am

    We took visitors from the U.K. for drinks on the patio outside
    Bucky's Lounge. The service was friendly and attentive and the drinks and
    snacks were excellent.
    There was a spectacular sunset over Mobile Bay and our guests said this
    was one of the highlights of their visit and that they are looking forward to
    mint juleps at Bucky's next year.

  • Over rated and over priced

    by Claire O on 2019-10-16 05:01 pm

    I have had the pleasure of staying at luxury hotels and resorts all over the world, and never have been so disappointed as I was at The Grand. I booked a suite for my friend's bachelorette party weekend, with some other guests in our party staying in other rooms. Despite the confirmation email I had that very clearly showed our stay was supposed to be a Friday and Saturday night, the staff insisted that they only had my suite reservation for Saturday night. They assured me that they were sorry, mortified, and embarrassed of the situation, but did absolutely nothing to accommodate me after I explained that not having the space in the suite for all of the bachelorette trip guests to gather was extremely inconvenient. Actions speak louder than words. I'm a calm person and understand problems happen, but when a mistake on the hotel's end hinders my plans, I fully expect to be accommodated in proportion to the inconvenience. I had to start asking what they could do to for me so that we would have some space to gather since we no longer had the suite (I shouldn't have had to ask). They insisted that their facilities were also completely booked and could not even offer us a space to gather together Friday night. Frankly, I refuse to believe that there was NOTHING on that front. At that time they only offered me free valet parking for the night (because their parking availability is wildly undersized for the capacity of the resort). The charge for the valet still ended up on my bill and I had to call to have it removed. If my priority hadn't been the happiness of the bride, I would have walked away and gone home. Saturday morning once we were moved to our suite, the assistant manager called and said she would send a few bottles of champagne to our room to celebrate the bride, but that is a gesture to be expected at any luxury resort under normal circumstances.

    Had we not had the suite incident, I still wouldn't be interested in returning to The Grand. While it is a beautiful property canopied by live oaks with an impressive pool area, the value for what you get is very low. The mattresses were very soft which we all found uncomfortable. One of the other guests in our group was told she had to park off property and be driven in on a golf cart to our building because they wouldn't provide another parking pass for our room. The beach area is sad and pathetic. The check in process is the worst I have experienced with attendants insisting that I leave my car with they keys for them to move. When I went back no one was watching my car- really anyone could have hopped in even if it was just an accident. The property's signage to show where everything is located is almost nonexistent, and I was not given a map during my unpleasant check in. We got lost a few times. It's clearly set up for people who are already "in the know" and not new guests.

    For what it's worth, their incompetence did not ruin our weekend. We had a great time celebrating the bride, but The Grand was not to thank. To give credit where credit is due, the bellhops and valet staff members were extremely polite and hospitable. When we were hopelessly wondering around due to lack of signage, eventually a cheerful staff member would walk by and was able to point us in the right direction.

    If you like to just spend money because you have money, are looking for a country club experience, and find value in being able to tell others that you've been to The Grand, by all means book a room, but don't be surprised if your reservation doesn't match what you asked for. Otherwise, if you like to get value out of your resort experience, I'd look elsewhere.

    Owner Response
    Dear Claire O,

    Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at the Grand Hotel Golf Resort and Spa. We are familiar with the circumstances of your visit and truly apologize that the room expected and booked was not available upon your arrival. As discussed, we researched the situation and your reservation and determined there was a glitch causing your arrival date to be inaccurate within the booking, showing your arrival for the next day. Consequently, the suite you booked was not available for the first night of your stay. I assure you this is not the norm and we have sent the details of this to Marriott Reservations to help prevent this from occurring again.

    I am disappointed to hear that you were also not pleased with parking options, the mattresses and the beach area. However, I am pleased to hear that the bell staff and valet were helpful, cheerful and that overall you and your guests did end up enjoying the grounds as well as the pool over the weekend despite the initial room challenge.

    Once again, we value your feedback. I am so sorry that the initial room experience altered your stay and that you were not pleased with our recovery efforts. We do hope that you and your guests will provide us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

    Sincerely,

    Tiffany W, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel Golf Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

  • My happy place!

    by Jhobackatl on 2019-10-12 02:42 am

    We've been coming to the Grand Hotel for close to 10 years. This place never disappoints and is always a destination every year for our family. We had a short stay this time but like it has always been, the service was amazing. The ground are absolutely beautiful and so well taken care of. I thought the updated rooms was a great touch. The rooms are spacious and very nicely decorated in the Spa building.

    We love the staff and love the facilities at the Grand. And we would strongly encourage anyone looking for a getaway to a really cool place to look at the Grand.

  • A real let down

    by Patti P on 2019-10-09 08:48 am

    This hotel has been on my bucket list for years so I was excited to finally visit. When arriving at night it's difficult to navigate the cramped entrance drive and find the lobby. Once there I was left wanting. I couldn't reconcile the odd "1960s lodge" feel of the lobby with the hotel hype. It even smelled old. The young unfriendly woman who checked me in seemed to be in a huge hurry despite no one being in sight but she and I (and her nails were a shocking length!) Just unprofessional. The buildings spread out far and wide, like motel rooms do, and not particularly modern in my opinion. The inside of my room was attractive, large, clean. I liked that they don't use the refillable shampoos. I ordered room service breakfast, which was oddly expensive despite being the same fare all full service Marriotts offer, and I should know. I travel Marriott frequently and always order room service for breakfast. I had a 1pm checkout, a DND on the door, and STILL the housekeepers knocked on the door. Very aggravating! Opon departure the one thing I did notice is how ABSOLUTELY STUNNING the grounds are. It made me wish I'd had time for a stroll. All in all, just a disappointing stay. Old and stodgy are not my thing.

    Owner Response
    Dear ExplorerMom8,

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with your arrival experience, the interaction with the front desk agent, the d?cor in the Main Building and that you were disturbed by housekeeping upon your departure. We are excited about keeping the historical value and traditions of the Grand intact however, understand that everyone's tastes are different. Our buildings offer three different room designs to provide many options to our guests.

    I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room, amenities and of course our beautiful grounds. I do hope that you will provide us another opportunity in the future should your travels bring you back to the area.

    Tiffany W, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel Golf Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.