Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Hilton President Kansas City


    Hilton President Kansas City
 in Kansas City
    Hilton President Kansas City
 in Kansas City

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1371 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • KC

    by 801matthewc227 on 2019-10-09 03:09 pm

    I travel to KC often to watch sports and just enjoy the city. First time I've ever stayed at Hilton President and I can say without a doubt it is the best hotel in KC. Staff, rooms, food, location - all amazing.

  • Terrific family wedding weekend stay

    by PackedReady on 2019-10-09 12:24 am

    Spent Friday and Saturday night here for a family wedding. The place is historic, lovely and well-maintained. Service was excellent at front desk, in room and in the restaurants and the Drum Room bar (a very lively place!). It was a perfect location for us to walk to the wedding venue. I did not hear any complaints from any members of my extended family who stayed here. I had no problem with the key card at any time. I had a lovely corner room with views of the city. The big windows have blackout curtains, so there is no issue with darkening the room to sleep. The halls were quiet. Nice updated bathroom, with good lotions, shampoo, conditioner, plenty of hot water and lovely towels. Comfortable bed and an extra blanket and pillow in the closet. Easy in room safe and in room coffee maker. Good closet space and plenty of hangers. I thought it was great!

  • typo costs $250...

    by chad e on 2019-10-04 11:28 am

    I tried to book 4 rooms for what i though was nov 2nd. I accidentally grabbed oct 2nd by mistake on the online calendar at Hilton. As I hit book I realized the error. It was too late rooms weren't booked and they were for that same day as the day I booked, so inside the cancellation timeframe. So immediately called and tried to change to correct dates. They were full on the dates I wanted so the Hilton reservation people found me another Hilton, as I am an honors member and prefer Hilton's, and then connected me to the Hilton President. Well the desk person didn't have the authority to cancel since it was inside the window to cancel even though it was a mistake booking them 10 minutes earlier. I left a message. Heard back today, they did not charge for 3 rooms but are going to for the 4th one. Those rooms were booked for 10 minutes so they did not lose the chance the sell then to someone else. They obviously still had openings as well. If this had been a longer time period between booking and realizing my mistake, I would have not fought it whatsoever and taken my lumps for costing them a room reservation chance. I will not be recommending anyone stay here for that utterly poor choice of a business policy. I hope the $250 is going to be worth the future business you don't get after this from me or anyone I know. All travelers beware, there is no room for error!!! It will cost you no matter what.

    Owner Response
    Good morning Chad. I am told that the fourth room that was booked in error has been refunded. Sounds like a communication error that has now been resolved. Apologies for the confusion. I am pleased we were able to resolve this issue for you.

    philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review

  • Nothing Presidential here

    by 611donnie on 2019-09-30 12:10 am

    From the night we checked up until we checked out a total disappointment. Still waiting for the manger to call us. The card in the room says we will make it right....still waiting for that to happen!!

    Owner Response
    Thanks for taking a moment to share your thought about your visit. We are attempting to get in touch with you to see if we can resolve whatever issues you had during your visit.

    philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review

  • Customer Service is #1,000,000

    by Nikki W on 2019-09-26 06:36 am

    Service is terrible at the Hilton President. Cards didn't work in doors or parking garage. Had to have them redone many times over a 2 night stay. We should have had a group rate...front desk said it applied and they would correct it. It didn't happen and I was not able to get it resolved. Housekeeping didn't happen until very late in the day when we were ready to be back in our rooms.


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.