Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton


    Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton
 in Saranac Lake
    Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton
 in Saranac Lake

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
236 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • great historic experience in beautiful upstate new york

    by catherinemsd on 2019-08-17 07:29 am

    This fully restored hotel is a true gem! Service is excellent and food is amazing. Some of the best in the area. Location is great with easy access to local and near by locations. We have stayed in the area many times and were pleasantly surprised by the upscale treatment we received at Hotel Saranac. Would recommend for any occation.

  • Great Staff, Overpriced

    by sarahwichtowski on 2019-08-16 10:51 am

    Other than one snobby receptionist, the Staff are what made this hotel experience positive for us. We found them to be so friendly and accommodating! However, as wonderful as the restaurant staff are, they're too busy to ask anything other than your order. The Spa is not consistently managed to the degree that we ended up cancelling our visit there. The gift shop was lovely, but it was hard to find locals who really knew all that much about the place. The Great Hall is incredible. Scrabble was fun, piano is untuned.

    Owner Response
    We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your room and will work with our maintenance team to ensure this does not happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.

    Calvin-HiltonHelp, on behalf of management at Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review

  • Needs more supervision

    by Eileen D on 2019-08-13 10:27 am

    We got one of the new suites at the Compass Pointe annex. It was quite nicely decorated, very modern and spacious, with a dining room and a digital "fireplace" that you could color program. So, one might expect more from this former "grand hotel." The Keurig was not refilled, there was no creamer, and only one decaf coffee. The soaps and shampoos were not replaced on the second day. I had to go out to a housekeeping cart left sitting in the hallway to get a shower cap that was never provided in the room. One night we went to the Campfire restaurant late in its hours to ask if we could just get a coffee/tea and dessert. There were open tables, but they said we could get take out- just ask the bartender. Then, we were told it might be 20 minutes of standing there, so could we go stand somewhere else? ( NO line, no people around) We gave up and went back to the room and called up for room service for the same items. Again, there would be a half hour wait- they were busy to capacity they said. The tray of dirty dishes from this delivery would stay in the hallway for the remainder of our stay there. The next morning, it took 40 minutes to get our breakfast served at the restaurant, because "there is only one chef." They really need to increase the staff.

    Owner Response
    We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. Your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise. guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

    Calvin-HiltonHelp, on behalf of management at Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review

  • Pleasant Stay

    by JandJatthebeach on 2019-08-11 05:33 am

    This is a cute boutique hotel. It's not a grand property and some of their advertising can set some customers up for disappointment. However if you have stayed in and are expecting boutique lodging it fits the bill just fine!

    Pros: Very clean room, super comfortable beds and linens. Love the clean smell walking in the door. Room service. Food is tasty and they try hard to please. Susan at check in is an asset to this property. Honors members treated well here.

    Cons: Small bathrooms. Tiny shower with so so water pressure and temp. Not a deal breaker for me but reminded me of Europe. Folks who are more comfortable with lots of room wouldn't like this aspect. When housekeeping starts in the morning you'll know it. Food quality (not flavor) in restaurant needs attention. Meats are tough.

    I would stay here again - mainly for a super comfortable night's rest - and just eat elsewhere.

    Owner Response
    Dear JandJatthebeach,

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and while we're so happy you were overall pleased, we are sorry for the inconveniences encountered. We will address your comments with our team as we work to improve our guest experience. Your input is genuinely helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

    John-HiltonHelp, on behalf of management at Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review

  • Paper Thin Walls

    by elizabethcady on 2019-08-10 07:30 pm

    The hotel is nicely renovated and has a handsome second floor "great room" and beautiful bar. Didn't try the restaurant so can't review. Rooms are small (bathroom tiny) but adequate--bed comfortable--except one can hear everything going on in the rooms adjoining yours. Normal conversation carries into the next room. Obviously the renovators did not soundproof walls. I have never had this experience in any other hotel. It would be hard to book again given this experience.

    Owner Response
    Dear elizabethcady,

    Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your honesty as we look for reviews to provide insight and constructive feedback regarding our hotel's service and amenities to better our guest experience. We addressed the issues you described and welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share. If you return to our area, we hope you'll stay with us again.

    John-HiltonHelp, on behalf of management at Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.