Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Island House Hotel


    Island House Hotel
 in Mackinac Island
    Island House Hotel
 in Mackinac Island

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1511 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Great from the outside....not so great on the inside...

    by maddog73 on 2019-02-18 04:46 pm

    I stayed at the Island House Hotel with my mother and my sister in October. The hotel looks beautiful with a green lawn in front and large porch, with a charming feel. Sadly, our room was MUCH less charming. The room was very dated, with wall paper, vintage(?) flower curtains and a pretty sad bathroom. In addition, our room looked out over....the roof and A/C units. Seriously, NO view whatsoever. Probably shouldn't even have a window. It was a bit perplexing.

    I think this hotel's location cannot be beat, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms can DEFINITELY use an update, however....

    We ate at the restaurant one evening. While the food was good, my sister's mushroom risotto was so full of sand (I'm guessing they didn't wash the mushrooms thoroughly?), it was not edible. When we told the waiter he replied "I'm sorry to hear that". Done. We followed up with the manager but at that point we were finding the situation oddly humorous and didn't push it too hard. Strangely, the waiter had not told the manager about our issue and I'm sure they would have liked to know!

    So, while Mackinac Island was gorgeous, and this hotel has incredible potential, I think I'd look at other places to stay next time.

    Owner Response
    We are so glad that you enjoyed our friendly service, fantastic location, curated gardens, and historic ambiance. You'll be delighted to know that as of our opening this May all of our guest rooms have gotten a makeover with fresh paint, crisp white linens, and new furniture. Over the last four years, Island House Hotel has completed a $4 million renovation and preservation project. This is no small undertaking.

    Island House Hotel is a State of Michigan designated landmark and proud member of the Historic Hotels of America. Unlike modern hotels, each of our rooms is unique in size, view, configuration, and in some cases even amenities. This allows us to have rooms to meet a wide range of budgets. We'd love for you to see our new coastal casual look. Please give us a call directly so that we can find a room that better meets your needs.

    I've personally seen for myself the incredible care Chef Phil and his culinary team put into meal preparations, food storage, and proper handling. Our Executive Chef would like to assure you that the morels we purchase are washed a minimum of three times. It is important to us that each guest enjoy dining with us and we sincerely apologize that your server did not offer to replace your meal when you brought to their attention that you were not satisfied. We hope that you will consider dining with us again in the future to give us the opportunity to prove to you why the 1852 Grill Room is highly acclaimed.

    GuestRelations49757, Guest Relations Manager at Island House Hotel, responded to this review

  • Weekend getaway

    by donanderson43 on 2018-12-15 06:39 pm

    What a great historic hotel! On site restaurant was the best! Rooms are small, but very cute! Great location! Highly recommend ! You really need to do the bike ride around the Island and plan time for stops along the way.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for your review, the ride around the island is a must and with onsite bike rentals, you can pick up and drop off right at the hotel!

    TravisS1917, Guest Relations Manager at Island House Hotel, responded to this review

  • Beautiful, elegant building, very nice people.

    by Stan S on 2018-12-15 12:51 am

    Room was very small but I made it work. I could stand up only in the middle of the room and I'm only six feet tall. Very friendly staff, nice camp fire in the front yard, lots of interesting things to do. Spectacular setting.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for your review, we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

    TravisS1917, Guest Relations Manager at Island House Hotel, responded to this review

  • Outstanding Hotel

    by DonMichigan on 2018-12-12 09:59 am

    Outstanding hotel, 1852 Grill Room was superb, and pools/hot tubs were exceptional. Front desk staff were extremely friendly. Would definitely return. Luggage Transfer from boat docks to hotel was seamless.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for your review, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, from the restaurant, to the pools/hot tubs, and the luggage transfer, we hope to see you again soon!

    TravisS1917, Guest Relations Manager at Island House Hotel, responded to this review

  • Not bad, but I think there are better options

    by jwh7281 on 2018-11-26 03:46 pm

    I'll keep the hotel review separate from the restaurant at the hotel. The room we were in was quite small. I understand this hotel has been there for decades. However, I've had roomier standard rooms in European boutique hotels. The walls seem pretty "thin." We could easily hear the TV in the room next door. All of that said, we did enjoy the stay, the room was clean, and the service was decent. We did have a change of plans and checked out a day early. No refund for the last day we did not stay, but not surprised. I guess I am a bit spoiled by some of the corporate chains that do not charge if there is a change of plans. Would I stay there again? Probably not considering other options on the island. Now for the restaurant (1852): Great service and outstanding food! Easily the best meal we've had anywhere in a long time.

    Owner Response
    We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our historic hotel. The Callewaert family has been diligently preserving the Island House Hotel since it was saved from demolition in 1969. Providing a clean, comfortable room is important to us as well as exemplary service. The corporate chains you mention allow for early check-outs without penalty because have passerby traffic to resell the room which we do not have on a fairly remote island. You will find that all Mackinac Island hotels have similar reservation policies.

    The staff of 1852 Grill Room is delighted that you enjoyed dining there. They would very much appreciate the great review on their business page if you don't mind. We look forward to serving you during future Mackinac Island visits.

    GuestRelations49757, Guest Relations Manager at Island House Hotel, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.