Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

JW Marriott Essex House New York


    JW Marriott Essex House New York
 in New York
    JW Marriott Essex House New York
 in New York

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
2263 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Great hotel, hard to get to

    by Casse S on 2020-01-20 08:05 am

    We had a wonderful time at this hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly. The lobby was beautiful. The room was clean, spacious and comfy. Didn't have a great view (we were on the back side of the hotel and could only see an alley) but it was still a nice room. The only issue was that the road was closed at random times for the majority of our stay and it was extremely difficult to get Uber's to pick us up. When we checked out we had to drag all our luggage about half a mile through crowds in the freezing cold to get to a car. This is just something to keep in mind. For this reason alone I probably wouldn't stay here again in Winter. Other than that, we had a great time.

    Owner Response
    Dear Casse S,

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your recent stay. While we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your well-appointed room and excellent service while staying with us, we are sorry to had trouble accessing transportation due to road closings. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope your next visit to the Big Apple runs quickly and efficiently. We thank you for choosing us to host your New York City adventures and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.

    Jennifer April A, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review

  • Couples Weekend

    by Ari G on 2020-01-16 08:03 am

    My wife and I routinely go to this hotel for weekend getaways to the city. We are always very satisfied with the service, check-in etc...Our room was ready on time (@ 12:00 PM) as per my on line check-in via the Bonvoy app. The room is always very clean and the beds are remarkably comfortable. The bar this time of year was rather busy but the service was excellent. We did have one glitch. The parking garage could not fin my car so it did take an extra 30 min to find and bring my car around. Yamira at the front desk waived my parking fee, which we though was so gracious. I will say that Yamira has checked us in several times and she is one of the best, most attentive front desk people I have seen and I travel quite a bit. I hope she checks us in next time. Hats off to her.

    Owner Response
    Dear Ari G,

    Thank you for leaving us this exceptional review of your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us, including quick and easy check-in and friendly and efficient service. Thank you for mentioning Yamira by name--we will be sure to share your kind words with her, as we are sure she would be thrilled to know she made such a positive impression during your stay with us. We thank you for your wonderful review and look forward to providing you with another incredible experience in the near future.

    Jennifer April A, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review

  • JW Marriott brand diluted - not really a 5-star hotel IMO

    by TravelgalCathy on 2020-01-07 01:07 pm

    My husband and I stayed 5 nights here from Dec. 9-14. We were here on business and pleasure. Our room was on the 5th floor and faced 58th street. We've stayed at other JW Marriott hotels, but lately, we've noticed a drop in the level of service/quality.

    Pros: location, the staff was attentive and friendly. Our room was well-appointed and supplied robes, slippers and bathroom amenities. The hotel was decorated nicely for the holidays.

    Cons regarding the room: no full-length mirror (only 1 mirror in bathroom), very small closet, drafty (windows not sealed) to the point of us catching colds even though windows were closed and blinds were drawn the entire time.

    Cons regarding the executive lounge: 2 out of the 4 days shoo-ed us out right at 11 a.m. so they could use the space for a reception for a conference. On another day they ended breakfast an hour early. On 2 of the days, we were not allowed to enter the lounge until 5 pm (we usually have access to the lounge all day to get drinks and snacks). Management decided to prioritize some company's conference's needs over the Customers who pay for the Executive Lounge. This was not a good move on Management's part - I was not the only upset customer. Finally, the Executive Lounge (during breakfast on Friday) felt more like a circus/Marriott-like as it was filled with mostly families with young children. Having stayed at JW Marriotts elsewhere, we've never seen either of these things happen before.

    Note: charging $35 per day "resort fee" was a bit ridiculous, in my opinion. (This is another thing that made it feel more like a Marriott than a JW Marriott.) We didn't have time to use the gym, so what is that fee for? We found out we could apply a portion of it to charges made in the bar (charged to our room) and to laundry. The prices in the hotel bar were high, even by San Francisco standards ($16 for a shot of Frangelico).

    There is a back door in the hotel that opens onto 58th street which is useful, especially when it is raining. This is a nice hotel, however, it appears the JW Marriott brand is being diluted - it's not in the same class as the St. Regis which is a truly deserving of a 5-star rating.

    Owner Response
    Dear TravelgalCathy,

    Thank you for taking a moment to leave this thorough review of your recent stay. While we are thrilled to hear you were satisfied with our well-appointed rooms and exceptional service, we are disappointed to learn that there were aspects of your stay that could have been improved. We understand your frustrations regarding access to the Executive Lounge and have shared your feedback with management for review. With regard to our destination fee, if you have any additional questions, please reach out to our team directly. We would be more than happy to explain any fees charged to your account in depth. It is unfortunate that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations, and for that, we deeply apologize. We know we have what it takes to provide you with the 5-star experience you deserve and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon.

    Jennifer April A, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review

  • Boxing Day in NYC

    by N634JNmelissab on 2020-01-05 12:41 am

    We had a wonderful stay at the J.W. Marriott Essex House. We were greeted by Greg at the Front Desk who extended a warm welcome and took excellent care of us. The Essex Room was larger than we had expected based on other reviews. We were very pleased with the comfortable bed and walk-in shower. We would highly recommend the J.W. Marriott Essex House for it location, well appointed rooms and courteous staff members, most notably Greg. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in New York City.

    Owner Response
    Thank you so much, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

    JAA-EssexHouse, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review

  • TERRIBLE CHECK IN/ OUT EXPERIENCE

    by LarisaD73 on 2020-01-04 04:41 pm

    I will start by saying that i love Marriott brand, i always choose Marriott hotels over other hotels. We recently stayed at JW Marriott Essex House and had one of the most terrible experience ever. We drove all the way from Vermont to New York, so we can be there for New Year's Eve, it took us almost all night because of the winter storm, i called the hotel to ask if we can have an early check in and they said YES, which i really appreciated and was grateful for, but.... When we finally got there and after checking in and going to the room the front desk clerk start calling the room to say that they can't find the keys to our truck, which we gave to the valet driver, they called our room nonstop since we arrived that they could not still find the truck keys. The next day, our check out day...it took them forever to bring our truck upfront, we called the desk twice to make sure they did not forget about us, we gave back the green parking ticket which was suppose to be $95 and told them to charge it to the room. Next day when i got my hotel bill i found out that i was actually charged twice for parking, $190 ( for exceeding the 24 hour permit) and another separate charge in amount of another $190.00?????????? Very very disappointed with the stuff that never apologized for disturbing our stay or never called to notify us that they finally found our truck keys

    Owner Response
    We are terribly sorry to hear this, we will adjust the charges immediately and contact you with the revised charges.

    JAA-EssexHouse, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.