Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

JW Marriott Essex House New York


    JW Marriott Essex House New York
 in New York
    JW Marriott Essex House New York
 in New York

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
2174 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Pure Luxury in Historic Hotel

    by MaryM10159 on 2019-06-13 09:28 am

    I can't imagine where the bad reviewers actually stayed. My daughter and I recently spent 5 nights at this hotel (May 21-26) and enjoyed every minute! We had a Manhattan Suite that included an extra half bath which made getting ready in the morning a breeze for two ladies. The city and partial central park views were lovely. A request for a microwave and mini-fridge (complimentary) was handled within minutes. The meals we had in the Executive Lounge were great. Ceasar at the front desk went above and beyond. As did the attendants who stood "guard" near the banks of elevators - and always returned my greeting. Fabulous conceirge group who told us to take water whenever needed and had a fun map of Central Park. As most of NYC has scaffolding, the extra touch of fake grass around their scaffolding made us smile! Grand hotel, grand location.

    Owner Response
    Dear MaryM10159,

    Thank you for your wonderful review. We are elated to know that your overall experience was nothing short of excellent--from the stunning views from the comfort of your hotel room to the delicious meals you enjoyed in our elegant Executive Lounge.

    We will be sure to pass on your praise to our colleagues, and we look forward to providing you with yet another heartwarming experience in the heart of New York City very soon.

    Jennifer April A, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review

  • Shockingly bad

    by Bola J on 2019-06-12 011:01 pm

    I joined trip advisor six years ago and have found it to be a useful research tool but always agreed with the reviews but on this occasion I feel passionate enough to write a review so other travellers are aware of what awaits them with this hotel. I stayed in this property with my Family for 2 nights.

    First, I simply cannot understand how and why this is considered a five star hotel, it is simply not! check in was slow, the rooms did not meet five star standards, the room dining menu was abysmal. The location and the willingness of the staff to assist was enough to mitigate the disappointment we felt as a family, what I found utterly disgraceful was the fact that our cards were charged TWICE! My husband spoke to the hotel they agreed to reverse the transactions but here we are 10 days from the day the " erroneous " transactions where posted this is still to happen. My bank advises that if the hotel has indeed reversed the transaction as promised my account would reflect it within 24 hours, we are still waiting... I am honestly disappointed and would think twice about staying in another JW Marriott property and would certainly never stay in this one nor recommend it. It's just disgraceful not good enough!

    Owner Response
    Dear Bola J,

    Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. On behalf of our entire team, we extend our sincerest apologies to the inconveniences you experienced with regard to service, food, and the unauthorized charges to your husband's card. Please know that we will alert our team at once regarding these issues, and will work diligently to fix them.

    All things considered, we do hope that you return to our hotel in the near future, as we commit to doing everything in our power to ensure your next stay is worthy of 5 stars.

    Jennifer April A, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review

  • Bad service despite good location and facilities

    by Tribeiro2002 on 2019-06-10 07:16 am

    I stayed at the JW Marriott with my family between 23rd and 28th of May. We had a great time in the city but I give a very low score to this hotel because of the level of service we experience. I constantly stay at Marriotts, and in general get good service. This hotel has been a disappointing exception. A JW should have the highest level of customer service, mainly with their best customers of the Bonvoy program. This is not what this hotel demostrated. Since the checking the experience was very mechanical, and I had a feeling the staff was not really keen to have families (I have two 9 yo daughters) and is happier with business travelers. The worse part of the experience came on Saturday evening, when I called and asked for Ice and a new remote control because ours had depleted batteries. The lady answering the phone had not patience, and was quick on saying she would send both right away. The remote control came after 20 minutes, but after 45 min, we had no ice. I called again, and this time she was very unpolite saying I had to get the ice myself. No problem with that, but she could have told me the first time I called. She indicated me where to get the ice. I went there, the machine was broken. I called again asking where else I could get ice. She was even more impatient and said she would send the ice. After a while (and with no ice) I called again and told her I didn't need the ice anymore, since it has passed over an hour since my original request. I turn on the do not disturb signal and we went to bad. 15 minutes later, someone knocks on the door, with ice.... I called again to complaint because they woke up my kids, she was even more unpolite saying that I should be happy because I had the ice. I asked to be transferred to the manager. The manager was not much better, was trying to get me out of the phone and offered me some compensation. I was not really looking for anything other than being treated well, and she volunteered to put 45,000 points on my account, I said fine. She never did, so she lied again, she just wanted me off the phone. Terrible service, I have better service consistently on Holiday Inns. Avoid this hotel, I will never use it again, and based on this experience willa void JWs on my business trips. They are not up to the level of service they say they have and if you are looking for high end hotels, go for the Intercontinental.

    Owner Response
    Dear Tribeiro2002,

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such an honest review and rating. We are saddened to hear about the poor service you received during your stay. Being a JW Marriott hotel, our goal is to provide guests with impeccable service and we are sorry to know this was not your experience.

    If you have not yet received your points, please contact our hotel directly and we will be sure to rectify the issue immediately.

    We deeply apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. Should you return in the future, we will be sure to provide you with the luxurious stay with incredible service that you deserved the first time around.


    Jennifer April A, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review

  • Very Enjoyable Experience

    by marcfarrugia on 2019-06-09 06:58 am

    We visited NYC for a wedding and enjoy JW Marriotts. The hotel itself definitely has a historical feel to it in the lobby, but offers a very updated experience in guest rooms and the JW Executive Lounge. Our room was incredibly spacious, clean, and the lounge was definitely one of the best I've experienced. The staff was friendly and overall we had an excellent experience. We also enjoyed the close proximity to good shopping, Starbucks, etc.

    Owner Response
    Dear marcfarrugia,

    Thank you for your delightful review. We are pleased to know that you were not only satisfied with the historic feel our hotel has to offer, but that you enjoyed the clean and comfortable stay you received.

    It was a pleasure housing your New York City travels, and we eagerly await your next stay.

    Jennifer April A, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review

  • Average Hotel

    by piyushs708 on 2019-06-07 08:25 pm

    May be I had expectations misplaced. I was expecting a top of the range hotel (in the range of St Regis) with appropriate recognition for my Platinum status with Marriott (though really a SPG person). Instead it was a very average to poor experience.

    The check-in experience was crowded, impersonal and slow. Yes, there was the - thank you for your loyalty- said but it was only as meaningful as good evening. There was no offer to even take luggage to the room.

    The rooms were a bit dated which I did expect as it was housed in a period property. The room otherwise was functional. There was of course no turn-down service in the evening.

    They had an executive lounge but there were no drinks in the evening. In the morning, for breakfast there was not even any mats on the table. When I asked a member of staff- how come? He promptly replied - Sir, they are hard to clean. An honest response which was an honest reflection of their approach to hospitality.

    On a positive note if you want to be near Central Park, the location of the hotel is brilliant.

    To summarise, JW Marriott is no St Regis. For this kind of hospitality, you maybe better off with Air BnB.

    Owner Response
    Dear piyushs708,

    Thank you for your honest review. Please know that it is our goal to provide guests with excellent service and we are very sorry to hear that this was not your experience.

    We have made note of all of your notes--from the lack of turndown service to your unsatisfactory check-in experience--and will be sure to share it with the rest of our team for review in hopes that our services improve for the comfort and satisfaction of future guests.

    We thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Should you reconsider returning to our hotel in the heart of Manhattan, we very much hope to provide you with the impeccable stay you deserved the first time around.

    Jennifer April A, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.