Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

JW Marriott Essex House New York


    JW Marriott Essex House New York
 in New York
    JW Marriott Essex House New York
 in New York

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
2206 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Lily

    by WalkingtonLM on 2019-08-17 03:00 pm

    We just had the amazing stay at JW Marriot Essex House for five nights. We were well looked after by the staffs. A big thank you to the manager on duty Terence and all lounge staffs, friendly and efficient. The hotel is also located in a superb area with easy access to anywhere. We will definitely come back as a family!

  • Amazing Stay

    by jonpisky on 2019-08-15 04:56 am

    Recently stayed here while traveling for a concert, the service at this location is amazing! The lobby, as soon as you walk in, is beautiful and there are many employees that are waiting to greet you. The room was nice, however with the family connector, there is not really a "common area", just two rooms that have a shared entry way. This was not a problem for us though.

    Very convenient location, right next to Columbus Circle and right across from Central Park which was nice for a morning walk.

    Will return and would recommend this hotel!

    Owner Response
    Dear jonpisky,

    Thank you for your review. We are touched to hear you enjoyed your time at our hotel while in town for a concert. It was our pleasure to welcome you to New York City for such a magnificent experience, and we hope to have you back very soon.

    Jennifer April A, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review

  • Nickel and Dime JW

    by bryantnyc on 2019-08-14 07:53 am

    If you stay at this JW property, be prepared to be nickel and dimed for everything. After the ridiculous $35 daily resort fee, you will still find yourself paying for extraneous things with a sub-par room. If they give you "executive lounge" access for your Marriott status, don't be thrilled. It's nothing more than a sub-standard hotel breakfast that would almost match a Residence Inn. They don't even have an espresso machine to make espresso, lattes, or cappuccinos. And if you ask for one, they have to charge you. Only American, dirty water coffee is available. What sort of "executive-ness" is this? Additionally, in the evening, their appetizer offerings are barely edible and they have an "Honor Bar" where you are required to PAY for your drinks. I just came back from staying at a REGULAR Marriott where I was given access to their M-Club Lounge, and all drinks, wine, beer, liquor were complimentary. And now here at the JW in NYC they make you pay for them...I believe it was $12 for a glass of wine. I was appalled.

    Additionally, when I checked in, the lady told me that my "request" for a high-floor room was honored by putting me on the 15th floor. Honey, the building goes up to 40-something floors and this isn't even half way up the building. Furthermore, I was in a tiny room that faced the back - to 58th street. No upgrade or mention of anything as I am a platinum elite member of Marriott Bonvoy.

    OH! And if you need to print something in the business center, YOU WILL HAVE TO PAY FOR THAT AS WELL. They charge you per sheet if you need to print something other than a boarding pass. I'm sorry, I thought this was the JW Marriott, not a Motel 6.......You pay more than $500 a night, and they charge you for a glass of wine in the lounge AND if you have to print something at the business center. What a rip off.

    This JW Marriott is a fraud, and I won't be staying there ever again. You shouldn't either.

    PS - dont use the hotel Valet parking service because it is something ridiculous like $80 per day. You can park yourself a block away on 59th Street for half the price.

    Owner Response
    Dear bryantnyc,

    Thank you for taking a moment to leave us this thorough review. We are very sorry to hear you were unhappy with your overall experience at our hotel.

    Because we are always open to guest feedback regarding our services and offerings, we will be sure to share your review with the rest of our team for consideration.

    We assure you--you are a valued guest of ours and, should you return to our hotel in the future, we hope to provide you with a seamless stay on a future New York City getaway.

    Jennifer April A, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review

  • Typical

    by RichardGilliland83 on 2019-08-12 07:06 am

    The reason I booked the JW is because it was close to the hotel my family was at and I redeemed points for the stay. Normally I wouldn't pick a JW because I don't believe that the price justifies the value that is given.

    Rooms 2 Stars: We were not upgraded for my Elite status, the room was quite small and a little dated. But they were very clean. There was no coffee maker, and for the price this hotel demands, the irons need serious upgrades. Bathroom was tiny.

    I am a westin person, the JW scent in the soaps is hardly bearable, they need to update it really bad. .

    Staff 5 Stars: Staff is well trained and attentive

    Location 5 Stars: Location couldn't be any better, which is why the price is so high.

    Owner Response
    Dear RichardGilliland83,

    Thank you for taking a moment of your time to leave us this thorough review. While we are delighted to hear you were satisfied with our central location and exceptional service, we are disappointed to learn there were aspects of your stay that could have been improved.

    We value your feedback and will be sure to share your review with the rest of our team for consideration. Should you return, we will work diligently to ensure your next stay is excellent from beginning to end.

    Jennifer April A, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review

  • Excellent hotel but expensive

    by Bostonian2020 on 2019-08-08 07:01 pm

    This hotel was in a great location right across Central Park and near the carriage rides.
    Great hotel to come with kids since the hotel is so close to Central Parlk.

    However, It is very expensive. Spent over $1000/night for a small suite and parking is additional $85/day.

    The views are excellent. Front office staff are OK and could be more pleasant.

    Owner Response
    Dear Bostonian2020,

    Thank you for taking a moment to leave us a review. While we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed both our excellent views and central location, we are sorry to hear you did not receive the exquisite service our hotel is known for.

    We will be sure to share your review with our team to ensure improvements are made in the future. Should you return, we will do everything in our power to provide you with the impeccable service and 5-star experience you deserve.

    Jennifer April A, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.