Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

La Fonda


    La Fonda
 in Santa Fe
    La Fonda
 in Santa Fe

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
831 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Good New Mexican food.

    by Alicesirtori on 2018-08-15 07:50 pm

    Good New Mexican food reasonable prices and very nice location. Not high professional staff: waiters were quite confused and ma?tre a bit too detached. In general I would recommend but I wouldn't go back twice.

  • Great Location

    by Ken99 on 2018-08-14 11:55 am

    Step out onto the sidewalk and you are in the center of downtown SF. Perfect for wandering. Valet parking is inside building so good for those hot sunny days. Room is nice with a good shower. Breakfast in nice room with good service.

  • Perfect Location.....but

    by SusB962 on 2018-08-13 04:57 am

    I selected La Fonda on the Plaza for its' location and it was in the perfect spot for exploring Santa Fe and being able to walk to the church and reception for a wedding we were attending. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly with no exceptions and the parking for $20. per day was a tremendous help (even though my husband thought it should have been free) as parking in that area is non-existent. So, the reason for the average review is that the hotel did not live up to our expectations, based on it being almost $500. per night for a traditional room, as far as condition of the property, especially our room. Although it was clean, the room was dark, dingy, and tired looking. The rug was so badly stained that I wore slippers (my own, hotel only supplied robes) at all times and if something dropped on the floor in the garbage it went. The bathroom tile had that too worn look and there were cracks in several places that had to be avoided. My husband and I both thought that there was not enough shelving for toiletries in the bathroom and a dresser in the bedroom (2 small drawers in the closet were not nearly enough) should be standard. It is important to note that the housekeeping staff was wonderful in supplying needed towels, toiletries, etc. but they could only do so much in cleaning a room in need of a facelift. Next time we visit Santa Fe, we will stay elsewhere where the location is just as good, the prices just as high, but the rooms (we viewed) are worth the high prices.

    Owner Response
    Dear SusB962,
    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying with us recently.
    Although you had some kind words for the service our staff provided to you, it is apparent you were disappointed in your room accommodations. While noting that the room was clean overall, your comment about the condition of the area rug is concerning. We are constantly updating and upgrading our accommodations, in fact new 55" TVs, bed throws and area rugs are on order at this time. The majority of this renovation work is done in the fall and winter when our occupancy drops a bit. I've reported your observation regarding the rug to our housekeeping manager for follow up.
    As a 100 year old hotel, we do have a large variety of room types and sizes, the room you were in this time was one of our original rooms. I hope you give us another chance, I assure you this experience was not typical.
    All my best,

    Rik Blyth
    General Manager

    RDBlyth, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review

  • La Fonda on the Plaza was La Great !!

    by DannyWasserman on 2018-08-13 02:44 am

    First of all, our first time to Santa Fe, NM, we wanted it to be spectacular and the La Fonda was super dooper. Its located in the center of the plaza and the attendants greet you right away in the parking lot and the fee was negligible so well worth it. The desk clerks were very friendly and the bell hops were spot on . The rooms were very adequate, the beds so soft and the coffee and drink bar in the room was over the top. The price was a little steep, but as they say: You get what you pay for !!. We would go back for sure.

  • Nice location, mediocre otherwize

    by ken944 on 2018-08-09 08:21 pm

    We were attracted to this property on our first ever visir to Santa Fe because of its l
    ocation on the Plaza. It has some nice historic touches but it is a tourist draw because of where it is and many of the people passing thru were not staying at the hotel. We booked through Trip Advisor and our room was very cramped. The shower was not good. Perhaps the most disappointing was the general dour attitude of the staff in the dining facilities. They just seemed to be not happy with their jobs.

    Owner Response
    Dear ken944,
    I appreciate that you took some time to write this review. We are fortunate to have very positive reviews from a majority of our guests, but we clearly did not meet your expectations during your stay with us, for that I am truly sorry.
    I have shared your comments with my team and we will try to determine if this extremely busy time of the year is taking a toll on some of our staff members. Thank you again.

    Best Regards,

    Rik Blyth
    General Manager

    RDBlyth, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.