Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

La Valencia Hotel


    La Valencia Hotel
 in La Jolla/San Diego
    La Valencia Hotel
 in La Jolla/San Diego

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1354 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Funky pink palace

    by Ritz1165 on 2019-04-12 04:49 am

    If you like character in a hotel (vs the vanilla 4 seasons chain), this is your place.
    When checking in I asked if it might be possible to have a room with a view. KYRA at the front desk said she would do her best. And she did! We had a lovely, yes, relatively small, room. But it was light and cheerful.

    The bathroom was clean and the amenities more than welcome. The in-room bar snacks and booze were unique, although expensive.

    This lovely ocean side hotel tries very hard. It is not perfect and there are areas of wear and tear. One area of concern is the pool. It needs a deep clean. Or maybe even a new paint job. But overall I felt as though I was in the South of France.

    NB The bartender by the pool/pool boy/man was very helpful, but I do resent the 20% gratuity that is automatically included in the bar tab.

    Owner Response
    Dear Recent Guest,
    Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay! I'm so glad that Kyra was able to find a great room for you. We sincerely appreciate your thoughtful feedback, and we do have a rigorous maintenance schedule for our historic property, so I can assure you these items will be addressed.
    We hope to welcome you back to our "Pink Lady" soon!
    Kind Regards,
    Melissa King, Marketing Manager

    MelissaK3098, Marketing Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review

  • Not a good experience overall.

    by Mimi S on 2019-04-07 12:49 am

    Located in a great place but if you book a deal through Trip Advisor or American Express platinum, expect the worst room and the worst service. Just one example, housekeeping spilled an entire bottle of oil on my make up bag. Accidents happen to us all so I just asked that the send the bag to the laundry to try to clean it. It came back full of oil and they charged me for the laundry service. Amex guarantees an early check in if possible -- we got there at noon and then waited for our room until 4:15 -- there was no, let's see if we can have the room cleaned since you are with two kids and tired after traveling from the East Coast. There were no amenities. The room was very small, the bathroom was very small and when people are walking above you at a normal rate, it sounds like elephants. I love traveling and my kids and I are really not high maintenance folks -- but if you are going to bill yourself as such a high level hotel, then at least try to give the most basic level of service or lower your rates. The location will tempt you -- but really don't waste your time or money on this hotel -- even for a good deal.

    Owner Response
    Dear Mimi,
    I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We strive to make every guest encounter a positive and memorable one. We regret that we missed the mark on your most recent stay with us.
    I understand that you were dissatisfied with many aspects of your stay, from the check-in process to the size of the room. I want you to know that we are using this feedback to improve our guest experience in the future.

    Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback.

    Thank you,
    Melissa King, Marketing Manager

    MelissaK3098, Marketing Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review

  • All around Beautiful and worth the money!

    by tammychicago on 2019-03-23 10:06 am

    My husband and I had an all around wonderful experience at this hotel. The hotel itself and the grounds are beautiful, and the staff was exceptional. They helped us pick out the best room for us. We stayed in the villas which is where I would stay again because they have large balconies with table and chairs. Some balconies look out over the ocean like ours did. We were in Villa #11. The main hotel is more vintage but completely updated and beautiful. We really wanted a balcony though and I don't think those rooms had them.

    Our room had a king bed, a gas fire place and a very comfy bed. The bathroom shower was fantastic--steam shower with great water pressure and two oversized shower heads. It also had a jetted tub and double sinks. Plenty of space for two to get ready at the same time.

    The food we had at the hotel restaurants was also great and the bar has a nice happy hour. The hotel is located right in the middle of the beautiful town right at the cove. Several restaurants and shops right outside the door. Valet parking is included in the resort fee if you have a car. You can walk along the scenic coast for miles. We can't wait to come again and stay at this hotel!

    Owner Response
    Dear Recent Guest,
    Thank you so much for your 5 out of 5 recommendation! I'm so glad we were able to help you find the perfect room for your getaway. Our villas are the perfect escape! I'm so glad that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, from happy hour in our lobby lounge to the comfort of your bed and our iconic location right in the heart of La Jolla. I hope we will be welcoming you back for another great stay soon!
    Kind Regards,
    Melissa King, Marketing Manager

    MelissaK3098, Marketing Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review

  • A must when you visit La Jolla

    by Edgardo M on 2019-03-19 12:19 am

    Great place to stay or just to have cup of coffee or a couple of martinis! Great views, people watching and a unique atmosphere. Also great for a Sunday brunch. Great food, service and quality. I alway return to those place that have generated valuable memories.

    Owner Response
    Dear Edgardo,
    Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a 5 out of 5 rating! I'm so glad you've enjoyed staying at La Valencia and enjoying some of her best attributes - fantastic views, great food, and tasty drinks! We can't wait to welcome you back again soon.
    Kind Regards,
    Melissa King, Marketing Manager

    MelissaK3098, Marketing Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review

  • Spectacular

    by John D on 2019-03-18 04:28 pm

    So we have had this west coast trip planned for a few months and it needed to end in San Diego. I booked here and started getting a bit nervous after a few questionable reviews. Old. Tired. Etc....

    Don't believe it. If your destination is La Jolla, look no further. You only have a few options. Want a pool with a bar and lunch? Only spot. Want views? Ditto. Sure, there are some smaller, quaint places. But LV checks all the boxes. Beautiful room, comfy bed, stellar service. Met several couples at the bar at night that were staying at the Pantei Inn, a beautiful place, but needed to feel a little alive. So here they were.

    Summary..... It's all about location, service, and quality. LvH checks all 3. And special props to Rob and Blake at the pool....you are treated like family from the minute you walk in.

    Owner Response
    Dear John,
    We so appreciate your kind words about your recent visit to La Valencia! I'm so glad you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed the iconic location right in the heart of La Jolla. You're absolutely right, La Valencia definitely has the location, service, and quality a guest is looking for in La Jolla. Thank you so much for the kind words about Rob and Blake as well, some of the best in the business! We hope to welcome you back soon!
    Kind Regards,
    Melissa King, Marketing Manager

    MelissaK3098, Marketing Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.