Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Mast Farm Inn


    Mast Farm Inn
 in Banner Elk

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
524 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Farmhouse Style Inn with thoughtful extra touches

    by hmalan2018 on 2018-09-13 08:05 am

    The Mast Farm Inn is set in the most beautiful valley. We stayed in Joe Mast at the front of the house and adored the ball and claw bath. The bed was extremely comfy. The staff are all super but we mostly dealt with Jessie who was really friendly and helpful. We appreciated the delivery of tea and coffee in a basket outside our door in the morning - a lovely touch. Breakfast was an event, starting by being given fun, personalised menus and the food was totally different on both days. For both dinners, we ended up eating at "Over Yonder", which is literally over yonder and serves delicious home cooked food. We went to the drinks and snacks on the middle day and enjoyed sitting in the courtyard chatting to fellow guests. I treated us to two of the delightful Mast Farm Inn country mugs and think of this wonderful Inn everyday when I make our evening coffee in it. Next time we are in the area we will be back!!

  • Peace and serenity with all the amenities

    by grammyb2018 on 2018-09-03 12:34 am

    I have loved the Valle Crucis area for many years, and decided to visit for a "significant birthday." I selected the Mast Farm Inn because of the location and reviews, and it was the perfect choice. I was in the "Miss Allie" room in the main house, and found it quiet and spacious. The amenities were over the top! When I called to reserve the room, I mentioned my upcoming birthday, and upon my arrival, I found a lovely plate of cupcakes and a welcoming birthday note! For a coffee lover, the coffee basket that was quietly slipped beside my door each morning was a huge addition. One day I took it on the porch and sipped coffee while rocking in the chairs and gazing at the mountains. Temperatures each day (in August) were in the mid-70's and a cool breeze was blowing. I'm still holding on to the peaceful days and the charm of this comfortable, friendly location. I hope to return!

  • Beautiful historical place in North Carolina

    by Pux81 on 2018-08-28 01:57 am

    I have been to the Mast Farm Inn for only one night (unfortunately) while driving through the Blue Ridge Parkway with some friends. We had booked the Blacksmith lodge, which was very nice and comfortable, just near a small pond.
    Mast Farm Inn personnel assisted us by advising for a reservation of a nice restaurant for dinner, just 5 minutes from the Inn.
    The welcoming at the check-in was superbe, with some delicious appetizers offered.
    Absolutely worth the cost and I'll surely be back.

  • Saddened and Disheartened

    by logans923 on 2018-08-23 09:49 am

    Last year I booked a vacation weekend for my 50th birthday celebration at my favorite place - Mast Farm Inn. I have fond memories of working at Mast General Store when I attended Appalachian State in the mid 1980s and have frequently stayed at the inn over the years with family. I booked a last minute room because my 96 year old grandfather was ill and I wanted to wait and see how he was faring before heading to the mountains. As fate would have it, he passed away October 27th and I called the inn to let them know I wouldn't be able to keep my reservation and explained the details of my grandfathers' passing. They said "sorry" but wouldn't refund my nearly $1,300. I just wanted to write this because as a business owner for more than 20 years, I would never treat my clientele in this manner. I wish you well Mast Farm Inn and plan to stay at Gideon Ridge or Eagles Nest in the future.

    Owner Response
    Dear logans923,

    We regret the passing of your grandfather, as even when expected, it is devastating. We expressed that sincere sentiment then, as we do here now.

    On the other hand, your review is a fabrication or a misrepresentation of truths and facts, and we cannot let that stand.

    You did come for your three day stay, staying for two days instead of the three reserved due to your grandfather's passing. Your total bill with tax was $1,281.96 for 3 nights. Your loss was $427.32 for the night you did not stay but were billed.

    You reserved your lodging one month before your intended stay and not at the last minute. Your stay was for the weekend of the year when the leaves of fall at are peak, and therefore a time when we are assured of being at full occupancy with a long waiting list.

    When you initially called to cancel a few days ahead of your stay, you were reminded of the cancellation policy with which you were fully familiar. We send out numerous follow-up emails from the time of reservation to the time of intended stay. All our follow up emails include the cancelation policy as a very visible footer and recommending very inexpensive travel interruption insurance from American Express, and which include a link to purchase said insurance online.

    Therefore, when you called to cancel, we advised you we would sell the room to someone on the waiting list and reimburse you, stating the caveat that if for some reason we could not, we would apply the policy. We were very confident we could re-book the room, but later that day you advised us you changed your mind and wanted to come.

    You expressed no objection at the time or in the one year since, and on the contrary expressed that you believed it very reasonable due to the circumstances.

    As the vast majority of the reviews here will attest, we actually do care, have a very loyal body or repeat clients, which only caring can assure, and do not much appreciate reviews which insinuate our behavior is anything but ethical at all times. While we always do everything to accommodate, we insist on mutual respect and integrity.

    Henri Deschamps
    Owner & CEO

    henrid33, Owner at The Mast Farm Inn, responded to this review

  • Outstanding Inn

    by goswick on 2018-08-19 10:08 am

    My wife and I wanted to get away for a couple of days in the NC mountains and picked the Mast farm Inn as our destination. Everything and everyone was just perfect for us. The entire inn is beautifully decorated as well as our room, Cousin Sarah. The breakfast was just superb and plenty of it too. Always have homemade cookies on hand for a little midday treat and the 4:30 pm snacks are over the top. The staff was the best...very friendly and attentive to our needs.

    Yes, we will definitely return to the Mast Farm Inn.


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.