Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa


    Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
 in Honolulu
    Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
 in Honolulu

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
6041 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Moana Surfrider - First Lady of Waikiki

    by Brisbanegirl22 on 2019-05-24 00:37 am

    We treated ourselves to a 3 night stay at the Moana Surfrider, which was a wonderful welcome to Waikiki.
    The Moana is the oldest hotel on Honolulu's famous beachfront resort strip of Waikiki beach, and takes her reputation as "First Lady" seriously.
    Service and attention to detail throughout our visit was impeccable. We were greeted on arrival with beautiful orchid leis and offered a hospitality room to refresh for 30 minutes as we'd had an overnight flight from Australia and we arrived before our room was ready.
    By the time we'd done this and enjoyed a cocktail in the beach bar, our room was ready.
    We chose an ocean facing room in the Tower, a newer section of the hotel but with the added benefit of larger rooms with balconies (lanais).
    We were on a lower floor but very happy with the view.
    Rooms include robes, slippers and everything you expect from a 5-star hotel.
    Tip: if not already a member, join the Bonvoy Club for 10% off dining and other benefits. Covers Westin, Sheraton, Marriott & other brands.
    If you have time, head up the stairs in the main entrance lobby to discover some of the hotels unique history on the upstairs landing, plus a delightful spot to read and relax on the front veranda.

  • Beautiful

    by lemonlime78 on 2019-05-22 01:03 pm

    This hotel is very beautiful. The bar area behind it, with the giant tree in the middle, is also very pretty. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and upgraded me to an ocean view room without request. The room was clean and very large and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

    Owner Response
    Aloha lemonlime78,

    Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. I am delighted to hear you had enjoyed the beauty of the Moana from inside and out. From the timeless beauty of Moana's Victorian architecture to the Banyan Courtyard with our beloved banyan tree. I am also delighted to hear you had found our associates to be very friendly and helpful. It is our passion to provide warm Hawaiian hospitality and care for our guests. I hope the memories created during your stay will be fondly remembered until your next stay. We cannot wait to welcome back one day soon.

    Me Ke Aloha Pumehana (with warm aloha),
    Karen W.
    Guest Experience Team

    MarriottWaikiki4, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach, responded to this review

  • big disappointment

    by travelyoda1 on 2019-05-22 07:32 am

    We planned a visit to the Moana to celebrate our 45 anniversary after spending our honeymoon there. Booked it a year in advance. They asked if we were spending a special occasion and shared our visit.They said we'd like to offer a special welcome gift for the occasion. Arrived and they never heard of such a thing, no notes. The view room requested was very marginal. Side of a building. Our kids asked if we enjoyed the gift certificate they arranged to have presented on our arrival. Never happened, couldn't find it. They had to call the person they arranged it with and remind them. Still not presented, slipped under our door the last night. We asked about whether we could use it on charges we had already accumulated since it was late. They had to check with the manager to get an ok! The staff couldn't be slower unless they were underwater. We followed up and asked what ever happened to the "welcome". They insinuated we might have made that up. Really? The poolside hamburger for $26 and the watered down drinks were also disappointing. The service in our platinum ownership line was the slowest one at the counter. this has become a wedding destination hotel. 6 in one day. That's their focus, not guests. Never even gave us a stay survey. Wrote to the gm and said the memory we hoped to make was a poor one. No response. We stayed at two other Westins on our trip. Others great but this one failed us. Spend your good money somewhere else, this place is tired and lost its edge.

    Owner Response
    Aloha travelyoda1,

    Mahalo for returning to stay with us at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa to celebrate your 45th wedding anniversary. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences and disappointments you shared regarding your stay. It is our goal to provide outstanding service and I am truly sorry to hear that we did not accomplish this with you, especially during this special stay. Please know that your feedback has been received, and will be address appropriately. We take our guest feedback seriously, and we will be ensuring that our service levels increase so that our team can provide the care and aloha that is expected when staying at the Moana. I truly hope that we will be given another opportunity to host you in the future, we would surely welcome the opportunity to regain your trust and provide you with the Moana stay you had experienced during your honeymoon.

    Me Ke Aloha Pumehana (with warm aloha),
    Karen W.
    Guest Experience Team

    MarriottWaikiki4, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach, responded to this review

  • Thanks to Josh for great service

    by Simon G on 2019-05-21 08:19 am

    Had a little issue with the air conditioning in our room and talked to Josh A. at the front counter. He arranged for our luggage to be moved to another room while we were exploring and we came back to a great room without any hassle. He really was great and accommodating and turned a sour situation into a great customer experience.

    Thank you, Josh!

    Owner Response
    Aloha Simon G,

    Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. Your comment truly reflect the meaning of the Moana's motto, "First Lady, First Class." Our mission to personalize guest experiences in a timeless setting is fulfilled through the connections our associates make with our guests. Thank you for recognizing Josh who went above and beyond to make your stay unforgettable. Our associates are the heart of the First Lady of Waikiki and are proud to continue the traditions of Hawaiian hospitality and sharing the aloha spirit. Your kind words will be shared with Josh and our team to recognize his example of exceptional service. I am excited for you to return to the Moana to create even more treasured Moana Memories.

    Me Ke Aloha Pumehana (with warm aloha),
    Karen W.
    Guest Experience Team

    MarriottWaikiki4, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach, responded to this review

  • No notification of strike, HORRIBLE service dealing with the hotel bill afterward

    by jenniferalana on 2019-05-20 08:58 pm

    This is a beautiful, historic property. They are right on the beach. They have a lovely pool. We stayed during October, and although there had been an ongoing strike, we were NOT advised ahead of our stay about it. We arrived travel-weary, with tired children, and did not have options to check in elsewhere, and so felt compelled to stay after the staff re-assured us that all of our needs would be met while at the hotel. The food amenities were certainly limited, and no one came to clean our room (which can be tough when you sprinkling sand out of your clothes each day and night). But the WORST part of our trip was dealing with paying for the hotel afterward. The manager charged the WRONG card for our stay (in spite of previous clear communication), they tried to deny the charge-back, and THEN after they finally charged the correct card, then contacted us 2 months later with a bill, CLAIMING that we still owed the the cost of the stay. We spend HOURS AND HOURS dealing with their incompetence, especially since they NEVER responded to our emails, or answered the phone during normal business hours to help us resolve this matter. Our bank finally completed the charge-back because of the poor communication from the hotel management. They ALSO promised us on arrival that the "resort" fee would be redacted from our stay cost, WHICH WAS A LIE. If you would like to reflect back on your stay in Honolulu happily, DO NOT do yourself the disservice of dealing with this POORLY managed property (courtesy of Sheraton and Westin). We've previously had a great stay at the Hyatt across the street.

    Owner Response
    Aloha jenniferalana,

    Thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. We truly regret to hear that your stay with us was a disappointing experience due to the labor disruption. We completely understand your frustrations due to the limited services, not being informed about the situation prior to your stay with us as well as the billing issues. We truly apologize that there wasn't more that our management team was able to do to turn your stay around. We would like to follow up regarding your billing and resort charge. Please give us an email at HNLWIGuestExperienceTeam@marriott.com. We look forward to connecting with you. I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and to provide you with the Moana "First Lady, First Class" experience you had expected.

    Me Ke Aloha Pumehana (with warm aloha),
    Karen W.
    Guest Experience Team

    MarriottWaikiki4, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.