Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Omni Parker House, Boston


    Omni Parker House, Boston
 in Boston
    Omni Parker House, Boston
 in Boston

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
9280 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Great Location/Tired Property

    by PaulP117 on 2019-07-18 07:35 am

    First the positives:

    The Omni Parker House has a great location right on the Freedom Trail. You can walk to most of the tourist sights and it is within 2 blocks of three different T stops that will get you anywhere in town. The lobby is beautiful. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. We had drinks at both bars; the Last Hurrah and Parker's and we enjoyed both. I love Historic properties and expect some compromises in order to stay at one.

    The expected:

    Older properties typically have small rooms and small bathrooms. Our bathroom was small but the room was surprisingly spacious.

    The disappointments:

    Once you leave the lobby area, this hotel is in serious need of upgrading. There is a difference between quaint and dumpy, and the Parker House is at the tipping point. The halls and our room were in serious need of painting. Our sink had serious chips in it. This is not a budget property, they need to spruce up the guest floors at this price point.

    Last, and I understand this is the case with downtown properties sometimes, our room had a view of a blank concrete wall across the alley. We had a "deluxe" room that was an upgrade. I wonder what the standard view is?

    Omni has a gem in this property, and due to the location they probably keep it full most of the time. But there is an expectation as to what you get in an Omni branded property, and in this case I do not think the Parker House lives up to the brand promise.

  • Great location, wonderful bed, small room/bathroom

    by 356laurens on 2019-07-17 02:46 am

    Great location- close to a lot of food and attractions.
    wonderful bed- so comfy. Slept great.
    small room/bathroom- very small bathroom- definitely can't fit more than one person.
    Lobby was large and grand, rooms were small and dated, but overall a good stay.

  • Will be My Last Stay Here

    by JMinCO83 on 2019-07-16 04:22 pm

    I've stayed here before and had a delightful experience and even got a complimentary small Boston cream pie as a welcome. When I brought my children to Boston, I thought they'd enjoy staying here as well because of the location and history and customer service. Boy, was I wrong. We had a red eye flight that put us In Boston at 5am. I called the hotel ahead of time to see if we could check In early due to this. The lady who answered the phone said she would note this on our reservation and that if there was availability, it shouldn't be a problem.

    Fast forward to the day we arrived. We get to the hotel and no note had been made on our reservation. The lady at the front desk said there was no room available yet but that they had some early check outs. She said housekeeping would arrive at 8am and our room would be first priority. She took down my phone number to call when the room was ready. We left the hotel to walk around and go get some breakfast (at their hotel).

    We returned around 8:45am. My kids (who are 14 and 9) were wiped out. They sat down in some chairs in the lobby and ended up falling asleep. Around 9am, I inquired again about a room and this time, was told housekeeping didn't arrive till 9am. They confirmed my phone number again and I sat back down in the lobby. About 45 min later, a man who worked for the Omni Parker house approached me and asked if I knew these girls (my children). I said yes, they are my daughters and that we were waiting on a room. He spoke into his radio saying "they're waiting for a room." And then turned around to me and said "I'm sorry, we can't have anyone sleeping in the lobby," waited for me to wake my daughter's up and then he walked away.

    By this time, we just decided to take a trolley tour. We sat on that for about 1.5 hours before I called the hotel around noon to see if it was ready before we headed back. The lady who answered the phone said "oh yeah it's ready." I then explained my frustration over nobody calling when it was ready and about my experience in general. She only said "sorry about that."

    Now, before management gets on here and says "you should've let us know," let me tell you that I let no fewer than 3 people there at the hotel know my frustration. Not one of them offered to do anything. For the amount of money this place cost, this was unacceptable and I likely won't be back.

    Owner Response
    Please accept our apologies for not being able to get you into a room more quickly and failing to contact you when one was available. Your frustration is understandable and we should have doubled our efforts on your behalf. Traveling overnight, especially with children, is not a fun experience and we regret not assisting you to make things more comfortable at the time. We greatly appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve in the future.

    OmniPH55, Guest Relations Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review

  • If itâs good enough for JFK to propose to Jackie itâs good enough for me!

    by AKL_11 on 2019-07-16 06:41 am

    This is a beautiful, traditional and tasteful historic hotel set in the perfect downtown location right on the freedom trail and extremely close to the sights, bars, restaurants, shops and the harbour.
    The lobby is grand but welcoming and you feel like you have stepped back in time in to the 1940's. The rooms are clean and spacious and all the staff were very friendly and helpful.
    Ignore all the negative reviews. If you want modern go stay at the Marriott!
    We had a great stay for our first time in Boston and would definitely stay again.

  • Great location, old rooms, poor service

    by DallasTravelFan on 2019-07-14 04:17 pm

    My adult daughter & I love history. We planned a week-long trip to Boston to soak up all the history. Unfortunately, the hotel was a huge disappointment. There were a number of things that were not up to my or Omni Hotel standards:
    *When we arrived to check in, I was told that there were no upgrades available. The front desk associate put us in an accessible room, which I believe was her way of giving us a larger space. Unfortunately, there was hair & a bug in the shower. In addition, since we were on the 2nd floor, we could not see the sky as we were smack up against another building. We requested to move to another room the following morning.
    *There was a family with kids & a dog in the room next to us & they were, of course, loud. After a call to the front desk, the security staff did come up and ask them to lower their voices. (This can happen, I am just including it to show how the entire trip was disappointing.
    *We ate dinner in the bar/restaurant one evening & both the service & the food was subpar. Neither of the servers seemed interested in doing their jobs. The server forgot my daughter's beverage. We had to ask again once the food was served. I ordered the cheese plate and the grapes were tiny and looked like they were well past their prime. I would expect that serving fruit that looked appetizing with a dish that relies so much on presentation would be a no brainer. Lastly, my daughter ordered her cheeseburger well done & it came medium rare to rare. All in all, a very disappointing meal experience.
    *One evening it was raining heavily. We had rented a car for the day through the concierge and needed to have the rental company pick up the car the following morning. When we arrived at the hotel, the valet and bell staff were huddled under the awning and made no effort to assist us out of the car. One employee even had a closed umbrella that he was standing there with. He also made no effort to assist us. To make matters worse, when we got to the room, soaking wet I might add, I called to speak with the Front Desk Manager and it was very obvious that he could've cared less about our plight. His disdain was very apparent. I expected better of the hotel management team.
    *We were told by the concierge that we would be able to watch the Boston Pops & fireworks live on tv. We had been sightseeing all day, had ordered pizza & settled in. Unfortunately, he gave us incorrect information. No local channels carried the live show. July 4 fail!

    Owner Response
    We are dismayed to read about the series of service lapses that you experienced and we will follow up with our teams immediately. You did not have a typical Parker House experience, for sure. Clearly, our concierge was ill-informed about the July 4th fireworks broadcast which, as you likely now know, was on the Bloomberg network which we do not have on our list of channels. By the way, we don't recall the fireworks ever being broadcast on this particular network. Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations and we appreciate your time in providing this feedback.

    OmniPH55, Guest Relations Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.