Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Palmer House®, A Hilton Hotel


    Palmer House®, A Hilton Hotel
 in Chicago
    Palmer House®, A Hilton Hotel
 in Chicago

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
10519 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • MDW stay

    by 617collinm on 2019-05-24 02:54 pm

    This was our first visit to Chicago and we choosier the hotel for the location and were very pleased

    Check in was awesome as was the room

    The hotel is a classic hotel with old world charm

    Great to see many of the vintage features

    Good value too

  • Beautiful History - Needed Updates

    by mji2003 on 2019-05-24 12:57 am

    It is worth staying here at least once, just to take in the classic hotel architecture and history. The public spaces, such as the lobby and staircases, are absolutely gorgeous. You must look up at the ceiling -- almost like the Sistine Chapel! Really stunning. That said, my room was quite small and there was an issue with the sink faucet, which the hotel staff fixed quickly, to their credit. I also would have liked a coffee maker in the room. Thankfully, Starbucks is on the ground level. It is a beautiful place, but could use some updating.

  • Fantastic stay @ Palmer House!

    by Brackpack on 2019-05-24 11:23 am

    The Staff members of the Palmer House are incredible. I've never met a more polite group of people. They made our stay in Chicago a memorable visit. Thank you!
    If you're staying in Chicago and aren't lucky enough to stay at The Palmer House, be sure to walk thru it. This is the most nostalgic. The decor has been kept to the time period and absolutely stunning.
    If you're one to require a large room, this may not be best suited but, it's well worth checking out.
    The service fantastic and food was great!

  • Not the same Palmer House

    by JJJCincinnati on 2019-05-24 05:31 am

    What a disappointment! This is definitely the same Palmer House it used to be. I arrived early; the room was ready; but they charged an additional $25 for me to check in. I had the option of waiting until noon for now charge. It was 11:00. If a room is ready I've never had a hotel charge me. Then, she asked me if I would like a coffee maker. What hotel doesn't have a coffee maker in their rooms. I said yes, and,she said there would be no charge,Seriously? When I went to make coffee in the morning it was broken. I call front desk and they said it comes from room service and they could not replace. Palmer House has no room service other than evenings. I was fairly pushy and asked if there was any way housekeeping could bring me a coffee maker. She said they could bring one in the evening. As far as the room, the shower was very worn. And when i sat in the desk chair I nearly tipped over. The seat was also slanted. I'm pretty sure it was from the 60's. Needless to say, I was extremely disappointed and will not be staying there again.

  • An old hotel that has lost its charm

    by sharonkN5985EU on 2019-05-23 08:18 am

    Our first room was 101, right next to the elevator for a floor that must house a hundred rooms. It sounded like every person who got off the elevator walked thru our room, you could hear everything. Nearly the entire lobby has been turned into a bar. There are very few cozy little nooks to sit in. Some of the charm of the lobby still exists with the beautiful ceiling, stairways, etc. The rooms are old with minimal sink area. We had to upgrade to a king bed with a bath that was so small we could not keep our toiletries in it.
    Needless to say we were disappointed.

    Owner Response
    Hello sharonkN5985EU,

    Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Palmer House! We truly apologize that you did not receive our typical service oriented experience during your visit. We specialize in outstanding customer service and we are saddened to hear that we missed the mark.

    We regret to hear of the noise issues you encountered, among other issues. We never want any guest to feel as if our first mission is not to provide a high level of service throughout their stay. and we Rest assured, your comments will be a crucial factor for our team as we continuously search for ways to improve our service.

    We understand that you have many options in the city of Chicago and we hope to have another opportunity to provide you with a memorable hotel experience.

    Sincerely,
    Alhaji Abubakar
    Hotel Night Manager

    AlhajiA8, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.