Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Palmer House®, A Hilton Hotel


    Palmer House®, A Hilton Hotel
 in Chicago
    Palmer House®, A Hilton Hotel
 in Chicago

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
11077 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Great price for central location and old world charm

    by utsavmehra on 2020-05-18 03:57 am

    The old world charm of Palmer drive, its central location and Hiltons tested customer service made this stay a perfect win! The building is showing some age in the rooms side, but the lively lobby and the great restaurant and breakfast (free for diamond members) is an amazing deal in Chicago city. Absolute value for money!

  • Great location

    by tropicalvibes365 on 2020-04-18 07:24 pm

    Great location, beautiful hotel. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. The room was large and clean. Check in and out was a breeze. The location of the hotel is excellent, close to shops, restaurants, park.

  • Beautiful historic hotel.

    by Ian T on 2020-04-12 12:18 am

    We stayed at Palmer House close to Christmas . It was a wonderful experience. The very magnificent lobby was further enhanced by a huge, beautifully decorated Christmas tree. The atmosphere in the lobby was celebratory with families and couples enjoying drinks and refreshments. They accept dogs, so our little schnauzer was welcome as part of the family. We had dinner in their restaurant, Lockwoods, which was not cheap, but convenient. The room was not spectacular, but comfortable and the halls had portraits of all the entertainers who had preformed there over the years. The hotel is within walking distance of many sights and the park. While the stay was not cheap, it was a lovely experience and very memorable

  • As usual, unique space and terrific staff

    by winterterm on 2020-03-23 09:48 am

    We stayed for two nights over St. Patrick's Day weekend. The city was very quiet, and the hotel was also. The staffer at registration booked us into a perfectly fine but pretty ordinary room. The chance came up to ask about a transfer to one of the more unique rooms -- there are many in this hotel -- and like that, it was done. Lobby bar was peaceful for a really pleasant winding down after long walks around the city and at the lake. I did not get the names of the people on staff who so professionally helped us switch rooms -- but if management happens to read this, they were working late morning on Saturday, March 16 -- and they made the difference between a four-star and a five-star review.

  • Average except the lobby

    by ShelleyOC88 on 2020-03-20 01:37 pm

    So don't get me wrong the lobby and the interior of the ground floor is beautiful and definitely has the wow factor. But you don't have to stay there to see or experience it!

    We stayed here as part of my husbands 50th birthday and it was a big disappointment. Check in was a drag and a bit of a mess. When we eventually got up to our room, which was a trek to walk around and find on the floor, it was huge. Bed was huge, seating area, tv, walk in closet - but the bathroom was rather small compared. The shower was quiet pathetic and there was no side space to put anything in the bathroom. There was no coffee or tea making kits in the room either - which was shocking. I had very uncomfortable nights sleeps too, although bed was huge very lumpy. Also got woken up at 7.30am one morning as there was builders doing up another room. No notice given to us or 'excuse our dust'. No warning. Just a very rude awakening by drills and other noice.

    When we ventured out of our room, there were never any staff around to help us. For example, we waiting around and tried to find someone on or near the concierge desk for a map for 15mins. I ended up leaning over and trying to find one myself!

    Although location was perfect for the main attractions of Chicago, all walking distance, I would not stay here again. For the price we paid and the experience we got. Very disappointed!

    Owner Response
    Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Palmer House! We truly apologize that you did not receive the typical Palmer House experience during your visit. We specialize in outstanding customer service and we are saddened to hear that we missed the mark.

    We never want any guest to feel as if our first mission is not to provide a high level of service throughout their stay. Rest assured, your comments will be a crucial factor for our team as we continuously search for ways to improve our service.
    The information you provided will be used by our leadership and team members to continue to improve our services.

    We hope you will reconsider and give us an opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

    Sincerely,

    Hynita
    Executive Assistant

    Dream16777302166, Executive Assistant at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.