Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Publick House Historic Inn


    Publick House Historic Inn
 in Sturbridge
    Publick House Historic Inn
 in Sturbridge

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
518 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • lovely place overall

    by Kelly264 on 2019-03-20 07:48 am

    We stayed one night in a second floor king bed in one of the Country Lodge buildings. The room was HUGE! A nice king bed, a couch, a long desk, a small balcony. We could have had a dance competition in this room. Another benefit, other than hearing a few people walk by out front we never heard a neighbor, though we know they were there. The bathroom was decent. Towels soft, clean, toiletries nice. The shower was roomy enough, a shallow tub style, but the shower head was so high power it actually hurt a bit! Usually it's the opposite and your wishing you had more power, not this time, a little less would have been nice. Couldn't find a way to adjust either.
    We were hear for a wedding. The finger food passed around were wonderful, coconut shrimp, bacon wrapped short ribs, bacon wrapped scallops. Drinks were reasonably priced and well made. The pumpkin soup was awesome. A few people said it was a bit sweet, but I loved it. I had chicken with stuffing and mashed potatoes, I know feeding an entire wedding has it's challenges, the flavor was good, but the potatoes and chicken were dry. The stuffing was under the chicken, so it was still moist. Presentation was lovely though. The staff was friendly, and there were a lot of them.We visited the bakery before we left in the morning. Thank goodness we did. We purchased several yummy things from the counter, reasonably priced and very good. Then we realized that there were pastries, coffee, and tea complimentary for those who stay on sight. So, coffee and tea and another pasty went out the door with us. The only part of the stay that was abit confusing was check in. Finding the correct building to check in at, and then the correct desk in that building was a bit confusing. There are several entrances and exits to this place, luckily our GPS brought right to the main entrance, we actaully drove by a few signs placed by the Publick House and followed GPS. Happy we did. Entered through a big black door with no markings on it and had to ask where to go. Everyone was very friendly though. Check in was quick and easy. It is a neat place, you can feel and see the history of it. We noticed a few signs posted to explain parts of the buildings too. Lovely place, lovely experience. If we are every in the area again, would definately try dinner there based on what we experienced at the wedding.

  • Just great

    by alanh45953 on 2019-02-12 01:45 pm

    Hi. If you are in the area this is a must stop. They keep it very authentic and all tthe food choices are great.. the restaurant serves breakfast lunch and dinnerr. The ppace must be 200 years old with floors that creek when walking

  • Nice decor, clean, and great self serve coffee!

    by Melanie M on 2019-01-28 04:06 pm

    We stayed in the Chamberlain House, the room/suite was very nice, and clean. It was disappointing that we were given a second floor room, when we asked for a first floor room. To be fair, the reservation was made through Expedia, and the rep said they called the hotel desk to ensure a 1st floor room. It turns out there is an elevator in building, but you have to park way in the back parking lot and walk around to the front of the building to get in, so the elevator was not helpful as we could not access it from the outside door. My traveling companion is not able to walk long distances so this was an issue. If I were to go alone this would have been fine. I was very disappointed that on Sunday you cannot order from the breakfast menu, they do have a breakfast buffet only for $17.95 per person. The price seems very high for breakfast, and I cannot eat that much breakfast! Overall it was nice.

    Owner Response
    Dear Melanie,
    All guest feedback is appreciated as we use it to continually improve. Thank you for providing such a detailed account of your stay. While we're delighted that our cozy rooms and tasty coffee were highlights of your time with us, we apologize for the miscommunication with your reservation. As you mentioned, sometimes third party sites to do not communicate the requests of the traveler, but we do our best to accommodate our guests when we can. It sounds like during your stay we weren't able to move your room and we hope that you and your traveling companion were still able to get the most of your time here. We appreciate your constructive comments regarding breakfast and will share them with our team. We would be grateful for the chance to provide you with an even better stay next time you are in town

    GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn, responded to this review

  • Thom Thom

    by B4307SGthomast on 2019-01-06 02:09 pm

    It was a totally delightful Inn centrally locacated in town
    The Inn has renovated & added some. Exra building the area is magnificent grounds are kept beautifully family friendly / great rooms
    Great staff
    Total hospitality
    The only negative
    Is they are known for the 'cinnamon sticky buns '
    I was shocked durning dinner I was informed by the server that only one per person
    If u wanted xtra they are $1.25 per

    Maybe it was a mistake ,
    I will visit again but I do have a different opinion of the restaurant
    Because of this charge

    I would have given a 5 star But May in future decide to eat @ Other Restaurant nearby
    Since many very good restaurant have open recently in the area

    Owner Response
    Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. We're thrilled you felt welcome throughout your stay in our beautifully renovated rooms. However, we apologize for any disappointment with the dining experience, and we'll pass your comments along to our staff. If you're in the area again, please come back to see us.

    GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn, responded to this review

  • Wonderful place to visit, good GF menu

    by mjn06033 on 2019-01-06 09:27 am

    My husband and I celebrated New Year's Eve at the Publick House in Sturbridge. The food and service were excellent. They were able to easily accommodate my gluten allergy (don't just look at the GF menu--talk with the waiters. They can do almost any meal GF). With two drinks, appetizers, entree and dessert, we spent just about $100. We spent the night at the Inn and were surprised to receive a free upgrade to a beautiful suite. Only recommendation I have is to request a room away from Main Street. The traffic was heavy and it was a bit noisy earlier in the evening. Breakfast buffet was okay. Nothing special.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for making Publick House Historic Inn Hotel a part of your New Year's Eve plans. We're delighted our extensive gluten-free menu options helped make your visit memorable and that you found your dining experience enjoyable. It's unfortunate you experienced some noise disruption, but we're glad this was only a minor issue. If you're in the area again, we'd be happy to have you come back to stay with us.

    GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.