Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Boar's Head Resort


    Boar's Head Resort
 in Charlottesville

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1226 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Beautiful Escape

    by Stacy E on 2018-10-12 01:19 am

    The property is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are spacious and the staff is friendly and accomodating. The property is also closely located to many Charlottesville attractions. I would definitely recommend this place for a vacation, business trip, or personal getaway.

    Owner Response
    Dear Stacy E,

    We are delighted that you found Boar's Head to be your beautiful escape as it is conveniently located close to many local attractions, shopping, and restaurants. Our Boar's Head team takes pride in the exemplary service for which we are known. We appreciate your recommendation and hope you will return for a future visit with us in Charlottesville.

    Warm regards,
    Russ

    russcronberg_gm, General Manager at Boar's Head Resort, responded to this review

  • Date night

    by Mousee_me on 2018-10-11 01:00 pm

    So we have been here maybe 20 yrs ago. When we stayed back then I was younger and haven't still in a beautiful place before. We went to dinner then came back and they had done a turn down service. So when we came this time didn't know what to think. So I called that day because it was Sunday and we wanted to go out for a dinner. The lady was awesome she help me with a couple places, then she called me back ten minutes later to tell me about a place with music. Going extra mile. Got there check in was easy. Room was beautiful but later that night walls are very thin. A/c made a lot of on off. I'm I lite sleeper. I hope the new rooms will be quieter.

  • Weekend getaway

    by Susan C on 2018-10-11 07:19 am

    Enjoyed the room. Loved the walks around the inn. I hiked to round top and loved the trails. Look forward to expanded trails after renovation complete. Loved the porch with lake view. Breakfast was excellent.

    Owner Response
    Dear Susan C,

    We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our resort. We strive to provide unmatched customer service and a wide array of activities. It is our goal to make your stay as relaxing as possible. I'm so happy the weather cooperated and you were able to take advantage of our Heritage Trails. We hope that you will return soon for your next weekend getaway!

    Regards,
    Russ

    russcronberg_gm, General Manager at Boar's Head Resort, responded to this review

  • Not worth the money and drive. Definitively not a place for kids.

    by Petra L on 2018-10-10 01:55 pm

    There is noone to help you elp figure out and organize kids activities. Lots of older local people playing tennis and a huge daycare center. Pool was dirty and slide was not working. Old and u kept property. Train is superloud at night and ACs from the 90s are too loud throughout the night...

    Owner Response
    Dear Petra L,

    We appreciate the time you spent reviewing your recent visit to Boar's Head and apologize that your visit did not fulfill all of your expectations. We strive for excellence in all areas of our guest's visit, and I will share your concerns with the appropriate departments of the resort. We would love the opportunity to serve you again.

    Regards,
    Russ

    russcronberg_gm, General Manager at Boar's Head Resort, responded to this review

  • Stay away during remodel

    by DCitigatrix on 2018-10-09 05:00 am

    We had find memories of the Boar's Head froma visit about 15 years ago, The night we spend this past weekend to celebrate a birthday was not even close. We were placed in the Ednam building in a first floor room that smelled so badly of mold/mildew that we asked to be moved. We went for a walk on the Heritage trail - not a trail, but a mowed path that now overlooks construction of what appears to be a completely unnecessary golf course (there are others in eye shot) and, in any event, was washed out by recent rain about half way through. My spa appointment, made 10 days ahead, was canceled the morning of because the aesthetician had a sick child - completely understandable - but on a holiday weekend, was there no backup plan? The staff was extremely nice and I assume that they will eventually get it together when construction ends, but for now, I would stay away. Way over-priced for what ended up being just a room to sleep in with no amenities to enjoy.

    Owner Response
    Dear DCitigatrix

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your recent stay with us at Boar's Head Resort. We appreciate you joining us last weekend and hope that you were able to enjoy your stay regardless of the renovations.

    As you mentioned, we are currently undertaking a full renovation in Our Main Inn, Lobby and Old Mill Room restaurant. We expect this to be completed mid- to late-December. The lobby will be completely re-imagined and updated to be more current while keeping the ever so important historic charm. The Old Mill Room, our fine dining restaurant, is also receiving a nice face-lift to again be modern with fine dining option but comfortable to all of our guests. All of these updates and changes will be for naught, however, if we do not improve our guest experience. To that, our site is consistently updated with renovation information, if you would like to stay informed for any future visit.

    Our housekeeping team has been alerted to review the room in which you stayed for the bad odor mentioned. Please accept my apologies for this as it is not representative of our typical guest experience.

    It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity after we reopen to impress you. If you are in the area, please come see us again so we may better serve you.

    My very best,
    Russ

    russcronberg_gm, General Manager at Boar's Head Resort, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.