Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Dunhill Hotel


    The Dunhill Hotel
 in Charlotte
    The Dunhill Hotel
 in Charlotte

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
520 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • A Favorite, But Needs Renovation

    by garyaber1966 on 2019-09-24 02:08 pm

    I love this historic hotel right in the heart of Charlotte, and I've stayed here on several occasions. The location is great, and the immense character and history is wonderful. However, time is showing the wear and tear, and it would be advisable to invest in renovations to bring this important landmark up to current expected standards of a highly rated hotel. The service is wonderful, and the restaurant is great. It just needs some love.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for choosing the Dunhill Hotel and taking the opportunity to review your recent experience. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the service and the restaurant. Please note that the hotel is scheduled to undergo renovations in the next couple of months. We can't wait to welcome you back to the new and improved Dunhill.

    Thank you again for your feedback.

    Carmen B, Operations Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

  • Dunhill Hotel stay

    by Carol C on 2019-09-16 10:10 am

    The hotel room was nice. There was a fridge but not a microwave. Only 1 elevator was working. Parking in the garage attached to the hotel was not included in the price of the room it was a substantial amount for one night. The breakfast that was included did not have a good variety. The hotel staff were very helpful.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for choosing the Dunhill Hotel and taking the opportunity to complete a review regarding your recent experience. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Charlotte.

    Carmen B, Operations Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

  • Graduation booking

    by 2ndfitz on 2019-09-03 03:31 pm

    booked about 5 rooms for guests coming to daughters college graduation. The staff tried hard and some were exceptional--sorry I didn't get names. but we had a problem because keys were handed out randomly at various check in times. The next day when some checked out, the staff was forced to make some assumptions on which rooms were for two nights and which should be vacated. Received a call telling me I needed to check out or I would be changed another night (I had planned on the second night). it was a mess but we finally got it straightened out. they comped some parking.
    Rooms were nice. a little noisy street traffic but that was to be expected. Would stay their again. Reasonable rates --even less than some of the national chain budget hotels.

    Owner Response
    Dear 2mdfitz,

    Thank you for choosing the Dunhill Hotel and taking the opportunity to review your recent experience. Please again accept our apologies for the issues you encountered with the reservations. We are happy that we were able to resolve. We can't wait to have you stay with us again when your travels bring you back to Charlotte.

    Carmen B, Front Office Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

  • Nice Hotel but Beware Weekend Street Noise

    by FrenchBroadCabin on 2019-09-03 06:06 am

    We've stayed in the Dunhill before and enjoyed it. This stay we had a nice, well appointed room. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. There is a complementary breakfast (good but not great) and a nice lobby bar. But we did not have a good stay.

    The problem here and in other downtown Charlotte hotels is that weekend nights are spoiled by loud (really loud) motorcycles roaring up and down the main streets, gunning their engines and doing "wheelies". We could not get to sleep before 2:00am. The staff told us that it's an ongoing problem on weekend nights and that other downtown hotels have the same complaints. I happened to talk to a Charlotte police officer at breakfast and he said there was nothing they could do if they couldn't catch each perpetrator in the act. Frankly, he seemed disinterested although he admitted that many hotels have registered complaints about motorcycle noise on Friday and Saturday nights. Charlotte does have a noise ordinance that specifically prohibits excessive vehicular noise, but it's obviously not enforced.

    The hotel said they can't do anything about it. Really? If the downtown hotels organized and came down on the city government, do you think nothing would happen? Complaints by ordinary citizens mean nothing, but government responds to complaints from corporate America.

    If you're heading to Charlotte on a weekend, you might want to find a hotel outside the downtown area.

    Owner Response
    Dear FrenchBroadCabin,

    Thank you for choosing the Dunhill Hotel and taking the opportunity to review your recent experience. We apologize again for the issues you encountered with the outside noise. We sincerely appreciate your feedback.

    Carmen B, Front Office Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

  • concert trip with friends

    by Marjorie M on 2019-09-01 12:57 am

    Our room was lovely but stayed hot. We were on a lower floor than our friends and they cooked!! They had to request 2 box fans to stay cool. We requested king rooms and were given a queen bed. One of the elevators quit working while we were there. I love historic hotels but this one needs a little refreshing.

    Owner Response
    Dear Marjorie M,

    Thank you for choosing the Dunhill Hotel and taking the opportunity to review your recent experience. We sincerely apologize that your a/c unit was not functioning to your comfort level. Please note that the Dunhill is undergoing renovations due to start at the end of the year. We do hope that once complete, you give us an opportunity to host you again.

    Thank you for your feedback.

    Carmen B, Front Office Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.