Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Dunhill Hotel


    The Dunhill Hotel
 in Charlotte
    The Dunhill Hotel
 in Charlotte

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
511 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Looking forward to returning!

    by NYCWorld on 2019-07-13 03:38 am

    I've had two lovely stays at the Dunhill, and the staff really make it a wonderful experience. They are outstanding -- extraordinarily pleasant and helpful, welcoming without being intrusive. The hotel itself is charming and comfortable, and the atmosphere makes for a peaceful visit. Highly recommended!

    Owner Response
    Dear NYCWorld,

    Thank you for choosing the Dunhill Hotel and taking the opportunity to review your most recent experience. We are excited to read that your stays were enjoyable. We look forward to having you back soon when your travels bring you to Charlotte!

    Carmen B, Front Office Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

  • More of a 3-star hotel than a 4.

    by tennboy1981 on 2019-07-13 03:19 am

    This place has a great location downtown, and the rooms are quaint and clean. Hotel staff is polite and professional. That being said, having a clean hotel and professional staff is great, but this place is lacking in other fields.

    The rooms are small, but this is an old building built back in the 1920s. The AC is definitely an issue at this hotel as you can see with other guests. It just can't keep up. This is something they should be working on getting fixed.

    There is no pool or hot tub, no gym. no nothing. very disappointing but something we should have looked into before booking. I just never been to a hotel that doesn't at least have a gym. I heard that you can get free passes to a nearby fitness center though. Something I decided not to do.

    Continental breakfast consisted of stale pastries and concentrated juices. The attendant hovered over me when I got a couple pastries like I was stealing them from her. They seem to police these pastries like they're going to bankrupt the hotel. Clearly they want you to buy breakfast at their restaurant/room service menu for an upcharge.

    Overall the place was OK. I definitely don't think this is a 4-star hotel. I would say its more of a mid-3.

    Owner Response
    Dear Tennboy1981,

    Thank you for choosing the Dunhill Hotel and taking the opportunity to review your most recent experience. We are happy to read that the location and staff met your expectations and we are extremely apologetic for any issues you encountered during your stay with us.

    Again we appreciate your feedback.

    Carmen B, Front Office Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

  • Great location,quaint hotel, however there's a couple of issues!

    by MaryE995 on 2019-06-07 11:26 am

    The Dunhill is a lovely hotel, very well located in the Uptown Area. Our room was very nice and quiet. However, the air conditioner was broken and we were not forewarned, windows don't open!! Ugh!! We called the front desk 3 times and were never attended to.
    My biggest complaint is that we specifically stayed here because it included a continental breakfast, which was not true. Beware, "breakfast" consists of coffee, a couple of pieces of fruit and stale, grocery store muffins that were terrible. They should be embarrassed by how meager their breakfast is.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for choosing the Dunhill Hotel and taking the opportunity to complete a review regarding your recent experience. We sincerely apologize for any issues you encountered during your stay but rest assured our a/c is up and running now. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Charlotte.

    Thank you again for your feedback!

    Carmen B, Front Office Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

  • Great staff but management dropped the ball

    by NolanF51 on 2019-05-29 02:44 pm

    When Checking in Joel at the front desk was very nice and helpful, He was able to ensure we were taken care of and the check-in process went very smooth and in no time we were off to our room. The room was nice with a heavy, older feel which fit well with the building. It was clean and well maintained. The bathroom was huge and we had a corner room allowing for 2 windows.

    I noticed the room was a little warm for my liking at 70 degrees and the thermostat was set at 60. I reset the unit and hoped it would kick-in as it was an extremely hot weekend in Charlotte, 95*F which is a record high for that day. The next day was still hot and the room was getting warmer, I pulled apart the unit to figure out what was going on. The unit is a 2 pipe fan coil unit. I conveniently had my thermal imaging camera with me and used to check the pipes. The incoming water was 65 degrees and my discharge was 68. This is warmer than it should have been. I assumed the property was aware of this and went out for the night. That night the room was hot and we woke up to the room being 85*F as checked with my thermal imager. I pulled my unit apart again and the loop was now 85*F with the discharge air being the same. We left as soon as possible. Upon check-out the front desk acknowledged the issue and that they were trying to keep the old unit running as they were replacing it later in the week

    I am a Regional Director of Engineering for a hotel chain and have a lot of experience in these issues. A property this size should have about 300 tons of cooling capacity on their chillers. This would most likely be split between 2 chillers. They would then have one cooling tower. There are other systems they could have but under this assumption they would have known there was issues and should have been more proactive. There are also ways to lower the building loop without the proper equipment.

    I should have been contacted prior to arrival or at some point during my stay to let me know my room would have not been cool. Being proactive in these situation is key and they took the approach of wait and see. I see this as a sever lack in management and put your guests in an unsafe environment. No compensation was offered at check-out aside from an apology. I paid a lot of money to stay in a sauna

    Overall I liked the hotel and understand the situation, but feel it was handled poorly. It would have been better to sleep in the park that night than the sweltering room

    Owner Response
    Dear NolanF51,

    Thank you for choosing the Dunhill Hotel and taking the opportunity to review your most recent experience. We sincerely apologize for any issues you encountered with the cooling of your room. Unfortunately we have been experiences issues with our chiller and did attempt to contact all incoming guests but since you booked through a third party, the hotel does not have access to your contact information. Nonetheless, you should have been informed at check-in and I apologize that this did not occur.

    Please note that we are diligently working to resolve the issue and hope that we are able to accommodate you again in the future. Please feel free to reach out to me directly and we will gladly compensate you during a future night. Thank you again for your feedback.

    Carmen B, Front Office Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

  • Quaint old hotel

    by Larry S on 2019-05-16 06:14 am

    Beautiful antique furniture. I have a 4 poster queen bed, big screen tv and the bathroom had been remodeled. It was very comfortable and quiet. Has that old world charm yet up to date amenities. I would definitely stay here againl

    Owner Response
    Dear Larry S,

    Thank you for choosing the Dunhill Hotel and taking the opportunity to review your recent experience. We are happy to read that your stay with us was enjoyable. We appreciate the positive feedback and hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to Charlotte.

    Carmen B, Front Office Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.