Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Fairfax at Embassy Row


    The Fairfax at Embassy Row
 in Washington
    The Fairfax at Embassy Row
 in Washington

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
2212 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • To have breakfast or not to have breakfast?

    by Eleanor S on 2019-10-08 07:23 am

    In the previous visit, the hotel was being refurbished, breakfast was in a cavernous room, not too appetizing, almost no service. We had hoped for an improvement. /
    The lobby look very nice, rooms have not changed at all, bathrooms still old, but the worst thing about the hotel is the breakfast room.
    We did not get breakfast included in the rate so we were willing to pay. But $25 for abominable breakfast, yes scrambled eggs, bu no toast, all served on paper plates!
    Some people in our group had paid for breakfast, yet they were charged again! as well as debiting their card for $1200 for a prepaid room, for extras ?????
    The manager was very polite, apologized and explained that the charges come from a central point and he will see that they are corrected and credited to the credit card.

    Owner Response
    Eleanor, it is disheartening to hear that our breakfast selection was not what you had expected. We sincerely apologize for any disappointment that was caused, and we appreciate your feedback on where we can improve going forward. While we are glad that you received courteous and helpful service from our staff in resolving this issue, we also regret any inconvenience due to billing errors. It is our hope that you will allow us the chance to restore your full confidence with a flawless stay in future. Thank you.

    HotelMgmt1, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, responded to this review

  • Nice hotel , well situated

    by Rogerj228 on 2019-10-04 07:14 am

    This is a nice hotel very convenient located to near the national mall (about a 20 min relaxed walk) Only thing we found was the Main bar was not always open during the day and the market restaurant seemed more about prepackaged salads and sandwiches , however there is a supermarket and lovely restaurant for breakfast and dinner 5 min walk away , rooms are clean and have a refrigerator along with coffee making facilities , in room safe ,Iron and ironing board along with all important hairdryer . Would stay here again if in D.C.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for your kind review. It's terrific to learn we ticked many favorable boxes, such as convenient location and numerous amenities. We're delighted your stay at The Fairax at Embassy Row enhanced your DC visit and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.

    HotelMgmt1, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, responded to this review

  • nice hotel for bussiness

    by Glen K on 2019-10-03 03:37 am

    First off I'll have to say I had a booking in the hotel across the road as it was more modern and had a rooftop pool and bar, until the travel agent and booking went bust a few days before we arrived.

    So having already being familiar with the area and choosing it, it made sense to pick a similar standard hotel close by, plus there is not a lot available midweek for a few days together in DC at the last minute.

    For me the hotel itself is older than the style I would go for, but in saying that the reception/bar area is nice and fresh. They have a pool table to which is good.

    There are a few staff that are in the foyer when you walk in and not sure what they do as they didn't offer to take my bags or help carry them up the steps. Check-in was all good there was mention of "complementary" coffee in the morning, but not much else.

    Which leads me to the facility fee, I know this is not the only hotel, but to a guest its a bug bearer that can easily be removed by including it in the price and stop calling things the fee covers "complementary" since I am paying for it. The other hotel we had booked did not have it on our booking (I checked) for staying guests.What was included in the fee was never mentioned or in the hotel info book in the room, only found out from here. From that list, WiFi is available free nearly everywhere so should not be a charge, wine is available 3-5pm, but anyone on holiday will be out sight seeing, the complimentary coffee that you pay for is only available 6-9am as we were told by the waitress when we went to get it at 9:15 as we were heading out. Never seen a paper and did not use fitness or business center. Did like the 2 bottles of water, but a lot of hotels have this free of charge.

    Putting that aside the room we had was clean, large and comfortable bed. Bathroom was also good. Once you step in the lift the hotel has an older feel than the reception area, but is all ok.

    Location wise the area is great and very comfortable to walk around in.

    Metro is a block away and easy to navigate.

    Around the metro entrance there is a lovely area with restaurants and bars.

    For me I think this hotel is more for the older person or business client, but was good apart from the facility fee :-).

    Owner Response
    Glen, as happy as we are that there were many favorable aspects to your stay, particularly our ideal location, we'd be far happier if we had fully impressed you. We're sorry you were not able to take full advantage of the perks connected with our guest amenity fee. We hope you'll consider another stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row and please check our website for information about our special offers so you may get the most value out of your visit.

    HotelMgmt1, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, responded to this review

  • Re-visit

    by Richard T on 2019-09-29 03:42 am

    I like this hotel because of its location. The rooms are clean and the amenities good. They have added a buffet breakfast which is quite wholesome. The staff are very friendly and helpful. If booked in advance the rates are excellent.

    Owner Response
    It's wonderful to learn that your stay was a positive experience. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and well-kept accommodations. On behalf of all of us at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, we look forward to welcoming you back.

    HotelMgmt1, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, responded to this review

  • Beautiful exterior but tired staff and hotel

    by EmmaKMcLeod on 2019-09-26 07:29 am

    Our room was clean but very tired, eg holes in wall and cable ties around many cables. Once upon a time, I imagine these rooms would have been beautiful. King bed was uncomfortable and had springs that made noises when I rolled over and the walls are paper thin, allowing us to be party to our neighbour's every conversation and cough. Customer service, as explained in other reviews, actually non-existent.

    Owner Response
    Emma, we're dismayed that your stay wasn't the exceptional time we strive to give our guests. We'll review our high standards for service with our staff and we are continuously working to improve our property. We hope you'll give us another chance to provide an improved stay and better impress you.

    HotelMgmt1, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.