Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Gettysburg Hotel, Est.1797


    Gettysburg Hotel, Est.1797
 in Gettysburg

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1471 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Great Location, Good Food, Terrible Housekeeping

    by JillClardy on 2019-09-17 04:49 pm

    We stayed here with a Road Scholar group tour of 21, and apparently they always book here. The location, right on the corner of Lincoln Square, couldn't be better for wandering around town as well as access to the Park. Use of the parking garage directly behind the hotel is at no-charge. Given the location on the very busy square, it was surprisingly quiet at night. My first impression when I opened the door to our room was shabbiness. The bedskirts were askew and hanging on the floor, representing tripping hazards, and the beds were sloppily made. The sheer curtain at the window was grimy, had spider webs and a torn hem. The windows don't appear to have been cleaned in years... The toilet and bathroom counter top were stained, and the fiberglass shower surround is what you would expect in a low-budget motel.

    We used various conference rooms for our meals, which were usually quite nice. All of our breakfasts and lunches were buffet style, with an ever-changing menu; 3 of the 5 dinners were buffet, and the other 2 plated (we had pre-ordered our entrees prior to arrival). The serving staff was pleasant and efficient. The only "miss" on the menus throughout the week was dry, over-cooked steaks in the chafing dish one night. The bar is under-staffed with only one barkeeper. Several large groups were staying at the hotel, and she really struggled to keep up with all the orders.

    The hotel entrance is dirty - carpets stained and apparently not vacuumed very often. Housekeeping in our room was nearly non-existent. Ran out of TP on day one and had to go down to the desk to request more. Ran out again later in the week, so I requisitioned a roll myself from a service cart I found in the hall... Ran out of coffee. Wastebaskets weren't emptied; on the final day only 1 towel had been delivered to our room, so my husband had to dry off with hand towels. On the last day, by 5:00 our room hadn't been serviced at all, and when I advised the desk clerk, he said "oh you still want that done?" (that was the night we got only 1 towel...) Toilet and sink were not scrubbed at all during the week. They just pulled up the duvet, and delivered new towels, and that's it! Really, if they're going to sell a room in which housekeeping is NOT delivered, there should be a considerable rate reduction.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay. These details are important to us and will be used to address the shortcomings you mention with the constructive criticism you provided. I apologize for the lack of housekeeping attentiveness and service you encountered. This is a top priority for us as we are onboarding and training new staff preparing for a renovation that will present a crisp new product enhanced by engaged committed team to provide the service you had expected from our historic jewel on the Gettysburg square. I am sorry we failed to provide the visit we strive to achieve. We hope you will be able to return soon and note our improvements. Please call on me when we can arrange a return visit and we will make amends in hope of earning back your trust and repeat loyalty.

    John Berndt
    General Manager

    WHGGuestService, General Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review

  • NOT Clean!

    by 774christal on 2019-09-15 07:03 am

    I struggled to decide if I should post this review, bc we have stayed here before and had good experiences. However, I decided to post it bc our trip was ruined by negligent housekeeping staff and/or poor management.

    We visited with our 4 children and got the 2 bedroom suite. It was DISGUSTING!!! The carpets were horrid! There was moldy grout in and around the tub, the tub itself was stained a grayish color, one bedroom has something brown splattered on the wall next to the bed and on the lamp shade, there was also a small piece of plastic on the floor that I notice right when we arrived, which leads me to think the carpets weren't even vacuumed. The sheets were white, but I did spot a couple small stains on them ( not the end of the world, they are white and will get stained). It was SUCH a disappointment.

    Additionally, there is a huge stain on the carpet in the hallway next to the lobby. As a business owner, I don't know why this would be left unaddressed. Everyone who enters the building walks down this hallway to get to their room and see's it.

    I am hoping management will see this review and address the housekeeping and maintenance issues. This is a beautiful historic building in a great location, that people would want to stay in. But if rooms are not kept clean, they are going to get many more unhappy guests.

    Lastly, I would like to add that the women at the front desk were very friendly, both at check in, and when I came down to inform them that we wouldn't be staying our second night due to the cleanliness of the room being unacceptable. She DID not charge us for canceling our second night, which we appreciated.

    The new starbucks down stairs is nice, the hotel restaurant has decent food and the hotel bar is welcoming.

    The only issue is CLEANLINESS and Maintenance.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Gettysburg. I apologize for the poor housekeeping issues which caused disappointment in your visit with us. We will address these issues immediately. Poor cleanliness is disturbing and unacceptable. We will clean and repair everything immediately to best prepare for our renovation replacing all floor and wall coverings as well as the bathroom tub. Please call on me when we arrange a return visit with the hopes of showing you marked improvement. I hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the stay you have occasion to again visit Gettysburg. Thank you for your kind comments of our Starbucks and front office service, our staff will be appreciative of your recognition.

    Best Regards,
    John Berndt
    General Manager

    WHGGuestService, General Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review

  • Get rid of the jacuzzi tubs

    by Bruce T on 2019-09-15 06:09 am

    My only complaint is that the tubs are difficult to get in and out of if you're just taking a shower. I was scared that I might slip. The bottom of the tub was very slippery. The tile work around the tub was in need of some new grout as well. Pretty disgusting.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I apologize for the poor housekeeping issues which caused disappointment in your stay. We will address these issues immediately. We will clean and repair everything immediately and best prepare for our renovation replacing all floor and wall coverings as well as replacing all the bathroom tubs including the Jacuzzi tubs. Our suites will be enhanced with upgraded residential touches, which I hope you will return to experience. I hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the stay you had expected when you return to Gettysburg.

    Best Regards,
    John Berndt
    General Manager

    WHGGuestService, General Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review

  • Great location

    by Bradleysct on 2019-09-13 05:09 am

    I had a great stay and the hotel was clean and conveniently located close to the battlefield with plenty of restaurants with in walking distance. The hotel also have an in house restaurant that serves great food. In fact other than transport to the airport there is no need for the rental car. They have bikes for loan you can use to travel around town. In fact I biked the whole battlefield. I have stayed here before and I would stay here again.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for your supportive comments on our service team, great food, facilities location, and amenities. Our entire team of dedicated Gettysburg professionals prides ourselves on service excellence and guest satisfaction. I will share your comments with our team; they will be appreciative of your kind recognition and intention to return. Please call on me when we can be of assistance in booking your return trip.

    Thank you,
    John Berndt
    General Manager

    WHGGuestService, General Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review

  • Poor service

    by Redhead2468 on 2019-09-09 09:35 pm

    Very poor housekeeping. Went to breakfast came back to room, beds were not made & no clean towels. Related this information to manager & he said he would take care of it, so we left at noon to go sightseeing & came back at 9:00 pm & still nothing was done to our room. At that point I had to demand it be taken care of. This was definitely unacceptable. Also, elevator was out of service our second.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for sharing your housekeeping challenges this past weekend. I apologize for the lack of attention and follow up on our part as this is unacceptable. This is not an example of the service we pride ourselves on consistently providing our guests. We are addressing these issues in staffing to prevent future occurrences. I hope you will give us another opportunity to provide the visit you had expected. Please call on me when you have an opportunity to return. Thank you for your kind understanding.

    Best regards,
    John Berndt
    General Manager

    WHGGuestService, General Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.