Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Graylyn Estate


    The Graylyn Estate
 in Winston-Salem
    The Graylyn Estate
 in Winston-Salem

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
896 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Gorgeous Estate

    by LL4949 on 2019-04-18 07:02 am

    This an amazing place and should be on everyone's bucket list!!! I have had the pleasure of staying at The Graylin Estate twice when taking my daughter to visit Wake Forest. The staff, grounds, and food are exemplary! If you are in the Winston Salem area I highly recommend a stay here!!!!

  • Beautiful estate, Motel 6-class rooms

    by ElderWanderer on 2019-04-15 06:51 am

    Grounds of the Gray estate are lovely and the buildings are impressive. The room prices lead one to expect four-star accommodations to match...however, that is not the case. Rooms are very spartan with few amenities, cramped bathrooms, etc. Our "suite" had one small sink and a very tired mattress. TV was crudely attached to the wall and had no premium channels. Room service menu is very sparse. Check-in was delayed and when we tried to find lunch we were told that a wedding party had booked the dining facility. So Graylyn either needs to lower prices to match the quality of its rooms or upgrade the rooms dramatically to match the prices.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for staying with us and the detail of our stay. I am certainly disappointed in the impression you were left with and although I can not restart your visit with us I do hope you will give us another opportunity to win your trust in the Graylyn Estate.

    Mark_McFetridge, Director of Rooms at Graylyn Estate, responded to this review

  • Gorgeous Grounds

    by J3568MMmonicaa on 2019-04-11 03:05 pm

    We were in town to attend a Christening. The area is just beautiful and the house has many lovely places to wander and enjoy. It is nice that they continue the tradition of free ice cream. Our first night was disappointing as we were in an older room in the Mews and it was quite uncomfortable. In the morning I asked for a new room and we were switched to the Gardener's Cottage and the room was so much better. The breakfast was bountiful and the various rooms that you get to eat in are all lovely. The staff are all very accommodating and professional. It is easy to walk across the street and wander through the Botanical Gardens.

    Owner Response
    Wonderful to have you! Delighted you found the cottage to meet your expectations. We do hope to have you back again very soon.

    Mark_McFetridge, Director of Rooms at Graylyn Estate, responded to this review

  • Charm alarm

    by kevinsZ1095JW on 2019-04-11 02:37 pm

    This is a most exceptional property. I wish I'd had more time to spend on the grounds and surrounding area but I was on a business trip. I'll return for a more romantic getaway at some point. Stunning!!!

    Owner Response
    Graylyn can be a perfect romantic getaway! We look forward to your return!

    Mark_McFetridge, Director of Rooms at Graylyn Estate, responded to this review

  • Mixed review. Some pluses, several minuses.

    by LNLNYC on 2019-04-09 06:33 am

    The Graylyn delivers olds world charm in spades. Largely terrific, friendly staff. The complimentary breakfast is an added bonus. Grounds lovely.
    Room 203 is very dated in its decor. The bathroom has not been renovated in 30+ yrs I imagine. For a fit, 6'3" man, there's hardly space for shoulders at the sink. Tub small etc. Room 203 is across from a fire exit which is used often and the slamming do the door is so loud it's startling. Very little if no sound proofing btw rooms. I got to know my neighbors too well. Pillow "menu" was a much appreciated touch.
    Bar needs an actual bar so people can interact especially while traveling alone. Bartender was great. Menu limited. Food very good. Staff at breakfast very attentive and lovely.
    This is an old school, charming grand dame who requires some updating and conveniences for the modern traveler.


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.