Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Hotel Congress


    The Hotel Congress
 in Tucson
    The Hotel Congress
 in Tucson

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
330 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Downtown Tucson is eclectic and vibrant.

    by Brad M on 2018-09-01 08:22 pm

    On one hand: This hotel with lots of local history (John Dillinger was once captured here) is in the heart of a lively entertainment district. There are restaurants and music venues about. The menu is sophisticated, yet low key, with lots of fresh locally-sourced ingredients. Service and presentation was excellent. Staff is young and enthusiastic. I had the cast iron baked eggs for breakfast and the Cubano for lunch. Both were outstanding. That evening I had drinks in the lounge area and the bartender was friendly and attentive and there was a great mix of people.

    On the other hand: If you are looking for a place to get a peaceful night's sleep don't stay here. The hotel website and staff are upfront about that. There will be music going until the wee hours of the morning. If you want a hotel room where you can lie in bed and watch tv, this is not your place. They don't have tv's. Room amenities are adequate.

    Bottom line: Enjoy a slice of old Tucson and check this place out. We can always get more sleep.

    Owner Response
    I completely agree Brad....We can sleep later. I am so glad to read about your delightful experience with us. Our rooms are noisy and yes we try to be as transparent about that as possible with all of our guests as it is part of the Hotel Congress Experience. I look forward to your future stay with us.

    JocelynHC, Manager at The Historic Hotel Congress, responded to this review

  • Classic and well-restored 100 year old hotel

    by RoccoKaplan on 2018-08-15 10:48 am

    Room furnished with authentic furniture from the period of construction. The whole building reeks of nostalgia and old-style. Beware of the late night party scene. My room opened on the courtyard and the DJ played horrific hip-hop (IMO) music until 2 am. Could not block it, even with ear plugs. Fine location in burgeoning DT Tucson.

    Owner Response
    Hi RoccoKaplan,

    Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our historic charm. We try our best to inform our guests that our rooms are noisy especially on the weekends before and during check in. I am sorry to hear the eat plugs did not work. Please request an interior room (Cactus Garden room) on your next visit to have a more pleasant experience. I look forward to your next visit.

    JocelynHC, Manager at The Historic Hotel Congress, responded to this review

  • Pleased repeat visitors to the Hotel Congress.

    by EarthTravelersFour on 2018-07-28 05:33 pm

    Whenever we visit Tucson and stay the night our first go to hotel is the Hotel Congress. It is a bustling place, not for the faint of heart because it is hopping and loud until the wee hours of a weekend night. The hotel clerks will tell you upfront, as well as when you are making the reservation that it is noisy because of its location as well as what they have going on there. Earplugs are provided.
    The rooms are all nicely decorated in the classic style of their time, vintage. They are clean and comfortable. Some of the rooms are larger than others. WiFi leaves much to be desired.
    Staff is very friendly and helpful.
    Of course we will come back for a visit!

    Owner Response
    Thank you so much for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed the Hotel Congress Experience yet again. We definitely try to be as transparent as possible about our vintage noisy rooms. I recommend taking our Hotel Tour and a delicious meal at the Cup Cafe at your next visit. I look forward to your future stay with us.

    JocelynHC, Manager at The Historic Hotel Congress, responded to this review

  • Relationship Restored

    by Glenda F on 2018-07-19 10:29 am

    Thank you Manager Jocelyn for restoring my relationship with Hotel Congress. Truly the best place to sleep when you are in Tucson. I will always be sure, however, to ask for a room with a tub and call ahead to make sure the hot water is functioning. The pipes are old, so maybe a bath just works better than a stand in. I will never forget how upset I was at the lack of hot water on my previous stay. However, I was offered the opportunity to forgive with a complimentary night, and I grabbed a double room, which was the same price as a single and had a bathtub rather than the standard stand in shower. Love the lack of television, the decor, the haunting, and the liveliness downstairs. Also, still the best food and drink in downtown Tucson, regardless of whether they have hot water.

    Owner Response
    Hi Glenda,

    I am so happy to hear your 2nd stay with us was a much more positive experience. We recently had an updated solar water heating system installed to the entire hotel which has drastically improved our hot water issue. And yes,we are happy to accommodate any special request regarding your stay with us. Thank you very much for your feedback and I look forward to your next stay.

    JocelynHC, Manager at The Historic Hotel Congress, responded to this review

  • Very Nice Place Overall but rooms are too small

    by Dan11562 on 2018-07-18 01:32 pm

    I understand this is a historic place but the rooms are very small and the shower rather uncomfortable. No TV in the room and WiFi is not that fast, so bring a book to read if you need something to do before going to bed.
    Beds are squeaky. The common areas look really nice, with a couple of bars and a wonderful outside seating area at a patio. But the place gets very noisy at night. Location is excellent with many bars and restaurants nearby. No coffee in room, only bottled water at $4. I guess that this is what you get for $90 a night

    Owner Response
    Thank you for your review. We try to be as transparent as possible with our guests in letting them know our rooms are 1930's style with small vintage rooms with no TV's upon reserving and at check in. We do have a TV lounge for our guests to enjoy on the second floor community area. We also offer complimentary coffee to our guests every morning 5-7am at the lobby upon request. I hope you enjoyed your experience overall. I invite you to try our Cup Cafe restaurant for a delicious brunch and also check out a show at our Club Congress at your next visit.

    JocelynHC, Manager at The Historic Hotel Congress, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.