Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Hotel Viking


    The Hotel Viking
 in Newport
    The Hotel Viking
 in Newport

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
2441 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • A little lacking

    by Peter H on 2018-09-17 10:04 am

    A little disappointed for the price. We experienced a few problems, nothing big but it just started to add up. Light out in room when we arrived. It was replaced quickly. Ducted work in ceiling was getting very fuzzy with dust. It was cleaned when the light bulb was replaced. Tile in bath around tub was pretty bad. Iron was very dirty. When I hit the steam button all this black stuff came out. Fortunately I wasn't holding it over my shirt. I asked to have it replaced 3 times, never happened. Each time they assured me that it was coming. It just felt like no one was paying attention.

    Owner Response
    Peter H,

    We do apologize that our team did not respond the way we would like to with your request to have your iron replace. We never like to miss a request by a guest and certainly not when it is asked for numerous times. We will follow up to insure the proper procedures are in place so that we do not have this happen again. Thank you for sharing your visit with us.

    Tim B, Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

  • clothing left behind

    by susan g on 2018-09-17 09:21 am

    We stayed at the Hotel Viking last Saturday and checked out the following day. The hotel was everything as advertised but in addition...I left 4 articles of clothing :( Called them when I realized and they couldn't have been more helpful plus (and a big plus) they did have my clothes and were very accommodating, offering to mail them to me. We all know that when you leave behind anything, it tends to disappear, not at Hotel Viking. Thank you!!

    Owner Response
    Susan g,

    We are glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit and that our team was able to return you belongings promptly. We thank you for visiting and hope to see you again soon!

    Tim B, Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

  • Great experience BUT

    by nicolagodfrey747 on 2018-09-16 04:36 pm

    Positives - great location for walking into downtown, room we had was a little small but very well appointed, bed very comfy, shower great, reception very accommodating.
    Negatives - AC in room was so loud you just could not sleep with it, so had to turn it off, windows do not open so no options available to cool the room overnight, asked to change rooms but told the only other alternative the AC is as loud, I recorded 51 decibels, valet parking was really good service but very expensive at 40$ a night, we were told by other guests areas to park in Kaye Street for free, lobby in the evening for us was very loud with both background music playing and people talking, probably the marble floors did not help in deadening the sound, turning the music down would.
    At around 800$ including parking a night we thought a touch expensive especially with the AC issues which clearly need to be resolved by the management.

    Owner Response
    Nicolagodfrey747,

    We are always glad to hear that a guest really enjoyed their visit. We will have our engineering department look into the issues with the noise you mentioned so we can get those issues rectified immediately. We hope to see you again in the future.

    Tim B, Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

  • Best Family Hotel in Newport!

    by stephaniek837 on 2018-09-16 02:06 pm

    What a lovely hotel! The grounds were beautiful, the staff welcoming and helpful, a devine restaurant, plus the unique rooms to accommodate our family. We enjoyed the complementary ice cream social one night and fire pit with s'mores another. The kids raved about the huge indoor poor and the rooftop lounge with live music.

    This place has it all! In the evening we ventured into the courtyard for lawn games like cornhole and connect 4. All while being in close walking distance to shopping, dining & more. We will definitely be back!

    Owner Response
    Stephanie837,

    We are so happy to see our hotel was the perfect getaway for your family. We pride ourselves on not only providing great accommodations but a guest experience that you will remember for years. We hope to see you again soon!

    Tim B, Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

  • Labor Day at The Hotel Viking

    by CourtneyS2454 on 2018-09-16 01:15 pm

    The cons of this hotel are:
    1.Very noisy hallways. If someone is walking in the hall and talking, it sounds like they are in your room it is that loud.
    2. They said they only had buffet for breakfast because they couldn't keep up with the orders in the kitchen. However, very few tables were occupied. The buffet was absolutely HORRIBLE!
    3. Room was cleaned until 5pm one day, the next day we had to ask them to clean it early.
    4. Internet service was awful all 3 days. Not sure if they were having an issue or not, we used our hotspots on our phones to have access.
    PROS:
    1. Great location
    2. Rooms were very nice
    Overall, will not stay here again.

    Owner Response
    CourtneyS2454,

    We thank you for sharing your challenges with us and we will work quickly to get them resolved. We appreciate you choosing the hotel while visiting Newport and for sharing with us so that we can improve moving forward. Thank you for your time.

    Tim B, Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.