Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Hotel Viking


    The Hotel Viking
 in Newport
    The Hotel Viking
 in Newport

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
2752 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • From Start to Finish Horrible experience

    by emst0307 on 2019-11-18 02:57 am

    We recently stay at the Hotel Viking for a wedding. After traveling out of state and arriving to our room we were unable to shower prior to the rehearsal dinner because the shower did not work. After calling twice they sent someone to fix the shower and never offered us anything for the complete inconvience. We had to call to get toilet paper and then they sent someone up with ONE roll. The room itself was old and poorly insulated. It was impossible to sleep at night due to the noise level of the heat turning on and off and other various noises. The parking costs $20 a day to valet- which not only do they not inform you prior but also charge you for even when you dont have a car. The kicker is now we have a $300 charge on a seperate credit card pending that no one can explain to us. Overall this hotel is outdated, poorly managed and nothing like the pictures have you thinking. The rooms dont even have a coffee pot yet they have no issue charging a daily "resort fee" charge.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for your feedback, and please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience caused by the experience you've detailed. Rest assured that the concerns you highlighted will be thoroughly investigated and promptly remedied. Regarding the charge made to your card, we encourage you to reach out to us so we can best address your concerns and questions relating to our fees.
    If you come across our property on your future travels, we hope you give us a chance to improve your perceptions.

    GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

  • Weekend Getaway

    by Tmbrad on 2019-11-16 04:05 pm

    We enjoyed our stay. The staff was very hospitable and most importantly, the room was very clean and newly renovated. This made our stay very comfortable. I can't wait to book our next weekend away at Hotel Viking.

  • No Compassion

    by imrconnecticut on 2019-11-16 08:50 am

    Had a reservation to celebrate our anniversary and my husband's elderly mother was rushed to the hospital by ambulance and admitted. As such, we could not leave town. The manager would not allow us to postpone our reservation.
    I was surprised and disappointed in his lack of compassion. We are now out over $200 on top of everything else.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Our team strives to provide excellent service, and we apologize for falling short of fulfilling this commitment. Regarding the cancellation of reservations, our policies vary according to accommodation type, and most of our room types are non-refundable. If you have further questions, we encourage you to reach out to us so we can address them.
    We'd love to have another opportunity to turn your experience around and earn your trust back. We are sending you all our best wishes and many prayers for a speedy recovery of your mother in law.

    GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

  • Long weekend

    by John L on 2019-11-11 01:40 pm

    We had one of the luxury suites (Marble House). A lot of repairs needed. The ceiling had been fixed and spackled but not painted. They had an extension cord connecting the heater to the wall outlet and it was taped to the bottom of the wall. The wall paper seams were peeling apart. There were dirty dishes from room service in the hall the entire day.
    Both days we were there no one came to clean the room. We had to call at 4 and 5 oclock.
    It's a shame. We were married here 6 years ago before it was renovated and it was a palace.
    Now it appears to be managed like an ordinary motel.

  • Hotel Viking Touro Synagogue

    by K1948Marcsb on 2019-11-10 12:16 am

    Hotel Viking is an extremely nice hotel and place and the accommodations were great.
    Nice walking tour of Touro Synagogue and the history of Newport Rhode Island.
    I would definitely return again in the future.


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.