Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Mimslyn Inn


    The Mimslyn Inn
 in Luray

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1100 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Stunning Location, disappointing food all around

    by 972sheilag on 2019-05-08 09:10 am

    This property is stunning, beautiful location and exceptional entryway, open space and rooms. Unfortunately the dinner and breakfast were disappointing at best.

    We had dinner at the Speakeasy, one of us ordered a steak medium rare, it came well done with mashed potatoes that had been piped into a pool of butter. Most unappetizing looking so he requested a side order of french fries which never came, nor did an apology. The other had a veggie burger which was dry and tasteless. We finished dinner around 9 pm and had been told that the bar was open until 10pm so we decided to have a nightcap. The bar is in the same space so we moved to sit there waited 15 minutes or more but there was no sign sign of a bartender or any other staff in the room even though there were still people finishing dinner and one other patron at the bar. Eventually we left. Reception offered to call down and try to find someone but at that point we just headed for our room.

    Breakfast was even more of a disappointment. The Inn explained that due to kitchen renovations the only option for breakfast there was a complimentary buffet. Very nice that it was complimentary but the cheap plastic cutlery and styrofoam coffee cups really took all the good out of that. For the room price all the trimmings were very shabby.

    Owner Response
    Thank you or taking time to let us know how about your recent visit. I will review your review with the staff tonight before we open in the speakeasy restaurant. The breakfast is 100 % my fault. I had a major line that supplies the dish washer and other important sanitization equipment break or just worn out, we did work 24 hours straight trying top fix the problem we just were not able to do so. I was unable to use anything but disposables and still offer any type of Breakfast. We are concerned about safety of our guest and wanted to make sure we were able to offer something suitable. I had place a not in your check in package and tried to be available during breakfast to answer any question. If I could have use silverware we surely would.
    I hope you hive us a another try. I am happy to report the maintenance issues have been repaired and back to serving a full breakfast.

    Jimsims, Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

  • Oyster feast

    by plb42 on 2019-04-24 08:33 pm

    Great time and service ! Chowder outstanding too ! Music good as usual but couldn't take request "I'm goin down to the river".But waited for other as "along the watchtower" etc. otherwise indoors during bad weather great move! See you all again!!!

    Owner Response
    Greetings,

    My favorite event. We served 55 bushels of oysters. Thanks for the nice review I will work on the band .
    Hope to see you this year.

    Jimsims, General Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

  • A strange manor

    by Davida W on 2019-04-07 11:46 am

    The small hotel has grand proportions - high on a hill, colonial white columns, a grand staircase. So it was probably once the place to see and be seen. But today, a suburban neighborhood has sprung up around it, making it a bit of an oddity. If you need a place to break your journey, it is nice enough, but don't expect a mountain setting or anything remotely like it.

    The rooms are average and lack a coffee service. The TV is stored in an armoire, and unless the bed is positioned exactly in front of it, it is impossible to see past the armoire doors, even with the set pulled out. There is a small pool ok for cooling down. The fitness center in the basement is decent; I did not get to try the spa which seemed promising.

    One of the 3 meals I had there was outstanding: the chef outdid himself at dinner with a fabulous mushroom risotto. But the blackened tuna at lunch was dried out, and there was not much effort put into breakfast - a buffet with pre-made scrambled eggs and pancakes sitting around in warmers.

    Our group was here for a conference and the old fashioned rooms (while lovely for their original purpose) were not really set up to accommodate audio-visual equipment. If you don't mind risking your neck stepping over extension cords while trying to give a presentation, then I guess you will be ok.

    Overall, I think the owners are trying to make the most of what they have, but have not yet found a good use for this space.

    Owner Response
    Greetings,

    I am sorry your experience was not up to your expectations. I doubled checked the rooms and some of the TV extension shelves needed a tug to extend past the doors. I will have those fixed immediately. The Mimslyn actually offers two pools, one next to the hotel that is saltwater and one in the garden or cottage area that is fresh water. Neither of the pools were open during your visit as its a bit chilly in the mountains in early April. I do have the saltwater pool scheduled to be opened soon with the fresh water pool opening in early May. The hot tub is opened year around. We do have board rooms with built in LCD systems , Flat screen monitors and wireless sound systems for the speaker and microphones for the audience to use.

    Due to some last minute changes to the room set up our staff was not able to position the screens and projectors near the outlets. The original set up directions were much different than the last minute directions. I certainly would not want any of our guest to "risk their necks".

    The coffer makers are not part of the room set up but we do offer our guests complimentary coffee 24/ 7.

    We are located in the town of Luray Va, less than 10 minutes from the Shenandoah Nation Park and just a stones throw from Luray Caverns. The views from our front porch of the George Washington National forest and the Blue Ride Mountains are excellent.

    Thank you for your sharing your comments. I hope that you are able to return.

    Jimsims, General Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

  • The Mimslyn Inn, Luray, VA

    by eatin_goodVirginia on 2019-04-05 04:09 pm

    The Mimslyn Inn is a fantastic destination! The rooms are clean and the beds and pillows are very comfortable! Dining in the restaurants Circa '31 or the Speakeasy is fabulous with meals made by a chef who loves his job! All of the staff are very professional and personable with each guest. The dinner shows are very good and a very good price for the package deal with dinner/show and overnight accommodations. The SPA is OUT OF THIS WORLD! Having a massage by excellent masseuses is a MUST to do while visiting The Mimslyn. You will feel young and refreshed! Perfect in EVERY WAY! The Mimislyn is preserved beauty of an old Inn that makes the human soul rejoice! So worth it to treat yourself special for a stay at The Mimslyn Inn in Luray, Virginia.

  • Lovely elegance and friendly atmosphere

    by Virginiatravleler on 2019-03-09 02:36 am

    The main hotel is absolutely gorgeous and looks like the perfect setting for a wedding or ball. Takes you back to the age of elegance.
    We stayed in one of the cottages which was well appointed and comfortable. I wish my first apartment had been as nice!
    The Inn is in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley and a stones throw from Luray Caverns (a must see). The Skyline Drive is close by as well. Would definitely recommend a trip to the area and to stay at the Mimslyn Inn to anyone.

    Owner Response
    Greetings,

    Thank you so much for the nice review. The cottages have been a big hit with families and were built with a tiny home in mind. They have everything we could think of to enhance your stay. I hope you visit us again soon.

    Jimsims, General Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.