Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Mimslyn Inn


    The Mimslyn Inn
 in Luray

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1119 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Confirm the #1 rating

    by Jim H on 2019-10-14 09:52 am

    Beautifully restored old Inn atop a hill in Luray. Great restaurant in the Inn. Service was excellent and we will stay there again during a return to the Shenandoah Valley. They say my review must be 200 characters long.....so stupid.

  • save your money and stay across the street for a better room

    by helensr55 on 2019-10-06 06:19 pm

    This hotel is in dire need of renovation. The public areas are nice and accommodating but this is the worst hotel room we've ever had at any price. First, when entering, there was a suffocating smell of deodorizer. The message light was on the room phone and when I checked it I got the front desk. I asked about what smell the overwhelming deodorizer was meant to mask. I was told we could change rooms but we had already hung up our clothes and had a tight time schedule for the evening. The bathroom was deplorable and insufficiently appointed. It's easiest to list the problems of which first was the sink not like any other I've ever used before. First, the difference between the open and closed drain was negligible. Second, I have never used a sink before where the water ran out over the rim of the sink by simply trying to wash my face. This may be the result of a small glass shelf placed above the sink that had to be avoided when the head was bent over the sink. The fact that the glass shelf actually fell out of its holders without shattering was miraculous. Curiously, the towel rack was in the shower stall and the secondary rack placed about 12" below the ceiling on the wall perpendicular to the sink. I am 5'6" and had to reach as high as I could to get a towel. Had I been aware of the terrible condition of this bathroom I would have showered before I arrived. Instead, I only had a limited amount of time to prepare for a special evening our son and his wife had planned for us. I took a picture of my blow dryer and curlers crammed into this small space. Nothing about this experience was enjoyable. In fact, I couldn't wait to get dressed and get out of there. The front porch and dining area are lovely but, for instance, the hand railing descending down the left side of the steps was insecure. I don't know how the Mimslyn Inn stays in business; but, save your money and stay across the street at the Quality Inn or Budget Motel. You'll have a much nicer room.

    Owner Response
    Greetings,

    Thank you for taking time to share your experience. I am sorry your stay to not live up to our normal satisfied guest.


    Safe Travels in the future.

    Jimsims, General Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

  • Recommend despite a few quirky things

    by Chris P on 2019-10-06 05:56 am

    Great location for Shenandoah and the caverns etc. We had a suite at the front of the hotel that was very spacious. It could do with a little TLC (fresh paint and bathroom grout) and the the shower was very weak.

    The TV arrangement was a little strange. It is in a cupboard on the side wall. It pulls out and can be rotated towards the bed or the sofa. BUT the cable box remains in the cupboard. So you have to lean out of the RH side of bed to change channels etc.

    The main restaurant doesn't open every night but the Speakeasy in the basement serves great food and drinks and had live music on 2 of the 3 nights we used it.

    The WiFi required my iPhone to reconnect every time I used it and quite often also needing to re register.

    When being served butter at breakfast or dinner it is in lovely little swirls. Looks nice but more needed!

    And someone must like Frank Sinatra because he could be heard in the reception area and main restaurant (used for breakfast) throughout our entire four night stay

    Owner Response
    Greetings,

    Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review. I will make sure we increase the butter service. I always share all the reviews with our staff so that we may improve our service and the product we deliver.

    Safe Travels

    Jimsims, General Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

  • Excellent stay!

    by bicyclingguest on 2019-10-01 09:56 am

    We stayed at the Mislym Inn for four nights. When we arrived, they upgraded our room to a suite which was fantastic! Very clean, spacious, comfortable king bed and a separate living area. Great location.....Very close to Shenandoah national park for hiking. There is a dining room that was only serving dinner on weekends and a restaurant/bar downstairs with a full menu. Breakfast was not served everyday, but a variety of choices downtown. All-in-all a very pleasant week! Thank you Mislym! ! !

    Owner Response
    Greetings,

    Thank you for such a nice review. I will share your review with our staff and give them a pat on the back.
    Safe travels.

    Jimsims, General Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

  • You really feel like family here

    by gunterw208 on 2019-09-28 04:42 am

    The wife and I came here for a celebration getaway, and let me tell you it was a great decision. The Mimslyn Inn is the true definition of southern hospitality. I did not meet a single staff member that didn't make me feel like this was my home. Nia greeted us with the best smile and most five-star behavior I've seen in a long time from a hotel clerk. We were able to check into our room a little early, and the room was still spotless. You can tell the housekeeping does their job very well. The rooms are certainly historic in terms of size, but that's what we came for, so I wasn't disappointed at all, especially since they were kept up so well. Tim was a very kind gentleman who greeted us from the door before getting a bite to eat, just to make sure our stay was going great. A Hilton doesn't offer that kind of courtesy. The restaurant downstairs was clean, fast, and very good. My compliments to the chef! The people at the Mimslyn Inn really know how to run a business, and we'll be back before you know it.


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.