Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Peabody Memphis


    The Peabody Memphis
 in Memphis
    The Peabody Memphis
 in Memphis

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
4079 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • A classy and unique hotel.

    by Scenic36115659995 on 2019-05-26 01:07 pm

    This was a classy and unique hotel. A great place to stay for the experience and the wide variety of services and events there. Great to experience one time, otherwise a bit pricey for a second visit.

  • Memphis Trip

    by Departure21849784120 on 2019-05-25 05:51 am

    Mattresses that do not have any support left need to be replaced. Front desk moved us to another room that mattress was excellent. The ducks were worth the stay to see in person. Very impressive hotel and close to downtown attractions highlighted.

  • Classic

    by SherylL_8780 on 2019-05-23 02:19 pm

    This is an older hotel, but very classy and elegant. We checked in on a Thursday and it happened to be the weekend of the International BBQ Competition so the place was hopping! We stayed until Tuesday morning and by then everything had quieted down.

    Everything in the room worked properly: nice shower, internet, television, and sufficient amount of plugs. They supply you with robes to use while at the hotel and there probably is a fee if you wish you purchase one of the robes. There is no microwave or refrigerator in the rooms.

    At 11:00 every morning the Peabody ducks come down from their room in the penthouse suite. At 5:00 every afternoon the Peabody ducks march back into the elevator and go back to their suite. This is a very big production and the red carpet is laid out and roped off for them. The ducks hang out during the day in the lobby fountain and don't seem to be interested in being anywhere else!! It seemed like every time this was going on we were on our way in or out of the hotel, so the lobby gets very crowded with observers. We just had to sneak out the closest door so it wasn't a problem.

    In the basement level is a pool and hot tub. The pool is actually warm enough to walk in without shocking your body. However, the hot tub is about the same temperature, so it wasn't as hot as I would have liked it to be.

    If you are staying at the Peabody, the location is excellent for getting to Beale Street, Main Street, or the River Front. There are several doors, so it took us a while to get our bearings as to which way we needed to go.

    Plan on spending a lot of money if you want to stay at the Peabody hotel. It is a treat, and not a cheap one, but I thought it was totally worth it.

  • Elegant hotel, sorry state of service

    by AnacoTraveler on 2019-05-23 05:46 am

    We attended a wedding about 10 years ago, hosted at the Peabody. Only some service lapses marred an otherwise wonderful stay. So when we returned to the area we were looking forward to another stay. The physical beauty of the hotel, especially the public areas, remains iconic. The valets and bell staff provided good services.The marching ducks are still a hit with the crowds and by the way the assistant duck master, Kenon, was a great representative of the hotel. Lansky's and the Duck shop remain, but the other shops we seem to recall have disappeared. Our rooms were small king bed rooms with tiny bathrooms. They had a safe but no refrigerator, microwave nor in room coffee. Complementary coffee was available in the lobby store only from 6-10. Complementary services ( like internet, etc) don't really exist here like other hotels as you are charged a hotel service fee each day. The room had attractive historic decor, furnishings and artwork. It had a very good bed and good linens. The bath had very good towels and toiletries, but featured an excessively bright light surrounding the mirror that could not be dimmed and was shocking whenever you turned it on. Water pressure varied during every shower. A large flatscreen TV with lots of channels and a very good HVAC are provided. The location in the downtown area and physical beauty of the Peabody are its pluses. But they cannot make up for the service lapses we experienced. We had made a single reservation for two rooms more than 6 months ahead of time. When we arrived late in the afternoon on a Saturday ( after an all day drive) we were informed by the desk that since "everyone else had check in" we would not get adjoining rooms- in fact the only rooms available were 4 floors apart. Further one of the rooms ( more than 6 hours after check out time) was not ready " because the hotel was so busy". That required us to return to the desk for keys 20 minutes later when the room was ready. Apologies were thin. After two calls from bell services to determine if we wanted our luggage brought up we were finally settled in our rooms- more than an hour after we arrived. Probably the worst check in experience we can remember in decades of traveling, especially at a premier property. Alas this level of service proved to be the norm during our stay. As noted the large lobby is beautiful and the lobby lounge should be a wonderful place to enjoy a beverage. The routine however is to wait 10-15 minutes to order, 10-15 minutes to get a drink and 10-15 minutes to pay the bill- the area is chronically understaffed ( as we remember from 10 years ago). The same situation exists in the otherwise attractive Corner Bar- understaffed, long waits. Going to the bar in the lobby, when you cannot get waited on, did not improve matters much as the bar staff seems to prefer talking with each other and drink preparation was slow and attitudes sullen. Breakfast followed suit- wait to be seated, wait to order, and receive a check. The pricey buffet is no better ( in some ways worse) than many complementary buffets at lesser properties. At least check out was quick as the bill was slipped under the door the night before check out. Our memories of 10 years ago caused us to wonder if major events like weddings are the focus of the property ( there was at least one major wedding there at the time) and that individual travelers are less so. All in all it feels like the Peabody is resting on its laurels and past reputation. At best the normal rate is a less than an average value and the full up weekend rate of more than $450 is poor value given the quality of the overall experience. What a shame.

  • Room 1130

    by Safari12975870042 on 2019-05-23 04:13 am

    Never let them "upgrade" you to this room; you will not sleep! I was directly across from the elevator and directly below the Lounge which meant that I heard noise all night. They offered me $75 for my inconvenience on a bill that was over $600; what a scam.


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.